Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Kate McKean

Recommended Books

11 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Ancestor Trouble book cover
Ancestor Trouble
A Reckoning and a Reconciliation
Maud Newton - 2022-03-29
Goodreads Rating
An acclaimed writer goes searching for the truth about her wildly unconventional Southern family–and finds that our obsession with ancestors opens up new ways of seeing ourselves.Maud Newton’s ancestors have vexed and fascinated her since she was a girl. Her mother’s father, who came of age in Texas during the Great Depression, was said to have mar...
Kate McKean
2022-07-21T13:16:32.000Z
I knew I would love @maudnewton's book ANCESTOR TROUBLE the moment I found out she was writing it. I just finished it and I loved it even more than that. It's honest, clear, beautiful, thoughtful, and impeccably researched.      source
The Book of Living Secrets book cover
The Book of Living Secrets
Madeleine Roux - 2022-03-01
Goodreads Rating
Perfect for fans of The Hazel Wood, this genre-bending page-turner from New York Times bestselling author Madeleine Roux follows two girls who transport themselves into the world of their favorite book only to encounter the sinister alternate reality that awaits them.No matter how different best friends Adelle and Connie are, one thing they’ve alwa...
Kate McKean
2022-03-08T17:31:38.000Z
THE BOOK OF LIVING SECRETS is @Authoroux's latest YA horror and the ending STILL HAUNTS ME (in the best way.) I love this one so much! Out from @QuillTreeBooks thanks to @alyssammiele and team!      source
Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All book cover
Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All
Laura Ruby - 2019-10-01
Goodreads Rating
The unforgettable story of two young women—one living, one dead—dealing with loss, desire, and the fragility of the American dream during WWII.When Frankie’s mother died and her father left her and her siblings at an orphanage in Chicago, it was supposed to be only temporary—just long enough for him to get back on his feet and be able to provide fo...
Kate McKean
2021-04-27T14:36:36.000Z
@thatlauraruby GREAT COVER!! (And great book. I loved it!!! :) )      source
Curse of the Boyfriend Sweater book cover
Curse of the Boyfriend Sweater
Okun - 2019-03-19 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
The Curse of the Boyfriend Sweater is a memoir about life truths learned through crafting.People who craft know things. They know how to transform piles of yarn into sweaters and scarves. They know that some items, like woolen bikini tops, are better left unknit. They know that making a hat for a newborn baby isn't just about crafting something sma...
Kate McKean
2021-03-14T16:30:46.000Z
@EverywhereErica I’ve got a book for you (cc @alanna)      source
The Best of Everything book cover
The Best of Everything
Rona Jaffe - 2005-05-31
Goodreads Rating
Before Valley of the Dolls and Sex and the City--the iconic novel of ambitious career girls in New York CityWhen it was first published in 1958, Rona Jaffe's debut novel electrified readers who saw themselves reflected in its story of five young employees of a New York publishing company. There's Ivy League Caroline, who dreams of graduating from t...
Kate McKean
2021-02-16T01:07:00.000Z
@paperalphabet Add Rona Jaffe’s THE BEST OF EVERYTHING if you’re looking for novels that are like this. My fave book of all time.      source
The Equivalents book cover
The Equivalents
A Story of Art, Female Friendship, and Liberation in the 1960s
Maggie Doherty - 2020-05-19
Goodreads Rating
An important new work of narrative nonfiction: the timely, never-before-told story of five brilliant, passionate women who, in the early 1960s, converged at the newly founded Radcliffe Institute for Independent Study, stepping outside the domestic sphere and shaping the course of feminism in ways that still resonate today.In 1960, at the height of ...
Kate McKean
2021-02-16T00:47:07.000Z
Malcolm Cowley telling writers in the 1960s that short story collections don’t sell (from THE EQUIVALENTS by @magsrdoherty) is certainly a mood—that’s lasted 60 years. (This book is great. Read it ASAP.      source
Their Eyes Were Watching God book cover
Their Eyes Were Watching God
Zora Neale Hurston - 2006-05-30 (first published in 1937)
Goodreads Rating
Fair and long-legged, independent and articulate, Janie Crawford sets out to be her own person -- no mean feat for a black woman in the '30s. Janie's quest for identity takes her through three marriages and into a journey back to her roots. Fair and long-legged, independent and articulate, Janie Crawford sets out to be her own person -- no mean fea...
Kate McKean
2021-02-11T14:00:32.000Z
I listened to THEIR EYES WERE WATCHING GOD by Zora Neale Hurston and it is now one of my top 5 favorite books of all time. Stunning! I'm mad at myself for not reading it sooner. Ruby Dee's performance of the audio was transformative. Thanks @librofm!      source
Leave the World Behind book cover
Leave the World Behind
A Novel
Rumaan Alam - 2020-10-06
Goodreads Rating
A magnetic novel about two families, strangers to each other, who are forced together on a long weekend gone terribly wrongAmanda and Clay head out to a remote corner of Long Island expecting a vacation: a quiet reprieve from life in New York City, quality time with their teenage son and daughter, and a taste of the good life in the luxurious home ...
Kate McKean
2020-08-02T17:57:22.000Z
I INHALED @Rumaan’s new book LEAVE THE WORLD BEHIND. I raced to the end, heart pounding, desperate to know how it ended. It’s a beautiful, delicious, terrifying novel. I want to read it again. Preorder now.      source
Also recommended by
Rick KlauKaren Rivers
The Once and Future Witches book cover
The Once and Future Witches
Alix E. Harrow - 2020-10-13
Goodreads Rating
In the late 1800s, three sisters use witchcraft to change the course of history in a Hugo award-winning author's powerful novel of magic amid the suffragette movement. In 1893, there's no such thing as witches. There used to be, in the wild, dark days before the burnings began, but now witching is nothing but tidy charms and nursery rhymes. If the ...
Kate McKean
2020-07-14T16:04:55.000Z
Why do I have so many books that feature scissors so prominently in their marketing? Anyway, read THE ONCE AND FUTURE WITCHES!      source
New Waves book cover
New Waves
A Novel
Kevin Nguyen - 2020-03-10
Goodreads Rating
Set in the New York City tech world, a wry and edgy debut novel about a heist gone wrong, a secret online life exposed, and a young man's search for true connection....Lucas and Margo are fed up. Margo is a brilliant programmer tired of being talked over as the company's sole black employee, and while Lucas is one of many Asians at the firm, he's n...
Kate McKean
2020-03-29T02:29:39.000Z
I just finished @knguyen’s book New Waves and it was excellent. It’s the most thoughtful book that deals with technology I’ve ever read and I didn’t want it to end. If you’re On Here, you’ll like it. Go read it.      source