Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign in
Book SeriesAlex McKnight

Alex McKnight Series

Alex McKnight books in order

Ex-Detroit police detective Alex McKnight is a private investigator in (fictional) Paradise, Michigan, in the Upper Peninsula on the shores of Lake Superior.
Winter of the Wolf Moon book cover
A Cold Day In Paradise book cover
The Hunting Wind book cover
11 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
A Cold Day In Paradise book cover
Book 1
A Cold Day In Paradise
An Alex McKnight Novel (Alex McKnight Novels, 1)
Steve Hamilton - 2000-02-15 (first published in 1998)
Goodreads Rating
An award-winning crime novel that follows former Detroit cop Alex McKnight as he tries to uncover the truth behind a new murder in the small town of Paradise, Michigan. Despite the killer's trademarks matching those of a previously locked-up criminal, McKnight is determined to unravel the truth from deception in a town that's anything but paradise.
Winter of the Wolf Moon book cover
Book 2
Winter of the Wolf Moon
An Alex McKnight Mystery (An Alex McKnight Novel Book 2)
Steve Hamilton - 2000-02-14
Goodreads Rating
Winter of the Wolf Moon takes readers on a thrilling journey through the bitter Michigan winter with ex-cop and P.I. Alex McKnight. When a young Ojibwa woman seeks refuge from her abusive boyfriend, McKnight agrees to shelter her, only to wake up the next morning to find her missing. As he searches for her, McKnight uncovers a web of crime and suspects, all while battling the harsh winter storms. With vivid descriptions and heart-pumping action, this mystery is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end.
The Hunting Wind book cover
Book 3
The Hunting Wind
An Alex McKnight Mystery (Alex McKnight Novels, 3)
Steve Hamilton - 2002-04-15 (first published in 2001)
Goodreads Rating
Venture back to an old Toledo dugout as former minor league player, Alex McKnight, reunites with a former teammate looking for a woman he had a passionate affair with years ago. Through the bleak shoals of lake superior, Alex sets out to find the elusive Maria, and faces the possibility that his trusted friend may not have shared the whole story. Join Alex on a thrilling journey filled with twists and turns in The Hunting Wind.
The Mile High Club book cover
Book 4
The Mile High Club
An Alex McKnight Novel (Alex McKnight Novels, 4)
Steve Hamilton - 2001-09-01 (first published in 2000)
Goodreads Rating
Private detective Kinky finds himself embroiled in a mystery of vanishing luggage and shady characters after a flirtatious encounter on a plane. With a surprise twist ending and Kinky's trademark raunchy humor, The Mile High Club is a hilarious and offbeat page-turner.
Blood Is the Sky book cover
Book 5
Blood Is the Sky
Steve Hamilton - 2004-06-14 (first published in 2003)
Goodreads Rating
Follow Alex McKnight, a gritty ex-cop, deep into the forests of northern Ontario as he searches for the missing brother of his friend Vinnie LeBlanc. Tom LeBlanc had taken a job as a hunting guide for a group of Detroit businessmen, but they disappeared without a trace. As Alex investigates, he uncovers shocking secrets and mounting evidence that things aren't what they seem. Will he be able to solve the mystery and find the missing hunters before it's too late?
Ice Run book cover
Book 6
Ice Run
An Alex McKnight Novel (Alex McKnight Novels, 6)
Steve Hamilton - 2005-06-13 (first published in 2004)
Goodreads Rating
This suspenseful novel is set in the midst of a harsh winter in Paradise, Michigan, and follows Alex McKnight and his girlfriend Natalie Reynaud. After encountering a mysterious old man, they find themselves caught in a chilling mystery involving Natalie's family and a decades-old blood feud that could drive men to kill each other. A cryptic note and a frozen body add to the suspense in this captivating thriller.
A Stolen Season book cover
Book 7
A Stolen Season
An Alex McKnight Novel
Steve Hamilton - 2006-09-05
Goodreads Rating
A Stolen Season takes readers on a thrilling ride through the dangerous world of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. When Alex McKnight helps rescue three men from a boating accident, he thinks he’ll never see them again. But when they get tangled up with his best friend, Vinnie, Alex must do everything he can to protect those he cares about. With suspense that will keep you on the edge of your seat, author Steve Hamilton delivers his best work yet. Prepare yourself for the absolute darkest hour of Alex’s life.
Misery Bay book cover
Book 8
Misery Bay
An Alex McKnight Novel
Steve Hamilton - 2011-06-07
Goodreads Rating
A young man's suicide in Misery Bay sets off a chain of events that brings Alex McKnight face to face with a killer. A simple quest for answers turns into a race against time filled with violent revenge and bloody consequences. McKnight, who's seen the worst of humanity, will now be thrust into the darkness like never before.
Die a Stranger book cover
Book 9
Die a Stranger
An Alex McKnight Novel
Steve Hamilton - 2012-07-03
Goodreads Rating
In "Die a Stranger," Alex McKnight, a friend of a missing Ojibwa Indian tribe member, becomes embroiled in a deadly crime war threatening Michigan's Upper Peninsula. When an unexpected stranger arrives in town, Alex discovers that the stakes are higher than he ever imagined. Steve Hamilton's latest addition to his award-winning series is a bold and thrilling read.
Let It Burn by Steve Hamilton
Dead Man Running by Steve Hamilton