Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign in
Book SeriesDread Empire

Dread Empire Series

Dread Empire books in order

Before the Black Company, there was Dread Empire. Contains 3 books in the main trilogy, 2 prequels and 3 sequels. The prequels can be read in the publishing order - after the main trilogy. Night Shade Books released the books as Omnibus volumes as well - Main trilogy: A Cruel WindPrequels: A Fortress in ShadowSequels: Wrath of Kings
October's Baby book cover
A Shadow of All Night Falling book cover
All Darkness Met book cover
8 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
A Shadow of All Night Falling book cover
Book 1
A Shadow of All Night Falling
Book One of A Cruel Wind (Chronicles of the Dread Empire 1)
Glen Cook - 1983-12-01 (first published in 1979)
Goodreads Rating
A fantasy novel that takes readers to the mountains beyond the world's edge, where a Star Rider summons a war fought for the love of a woman named Nepanthe, princess to the Stormkings. This book will enchant readers with its wizards and castles, and leave them in awe of the power of love.
October's Baby book cover
Book 2
October's Baby
Book Two of A Cruel Wind (Chronicles of the Dread Empire 2)
Glen Cook - 1984-01-01 (first published in 1980)
Goodreads Rating
A dark and mysterious tale set in a world of swords and magic, where a princess bears a child to a creature with wings. As the leaves turn red and the wind grows chill, a war-child is born and the cries of the kingdom are heard far beyond the mountains. Nepanthe and Mocker wait for the impending war that wizards fear, a war that may decide the fate of their entire world.
All Darkness Met book cover
Book 3
All Darkness Met
Book Three of A Cruel Wind (Chronicles of the Dread Empire 3)
Glen Cook - 1984-02-01 (first published in 1980)
Goodreads Rating
This thrilling tale explores the aftermath of war and the true meaning of "the end." Mocker and Nepanthe discover love and friendship in the midst of death and destruction, while the war-child uncovers a long-hidden secret. With a touch of wizardry, this story shows that every end is just the start of something new.
The Fire in His Hands book cover
Book 4
The Fire in His Hands
Glen Cook - 1984-01-01
Goodreads Rating
Enter a world of chaos and darkness where a young heretic, El Murid—the Disciple, escapes death and becomes a savior for the desert people of Hammad al Nakir. Rebellion stirs as warriors seek to execute their evil leader and a sorcerer arises to fulfill a destiny of building a new empire. Join the madness and glory of their mission in this epic tale of order, righteousness, and bloodshed.
With Mercy Toward None book cover
Book 5
With Mercy Toward None
Glen Cook - 1985-02-01
Goodreads Rating
A gripping tale of vengeance and magic in the desert. El Murid, the Disciple, seeks revenge on those who killed his family and enlists the help of his god to survive. But he faces a formidable opponent in Haroun ben Yousif, the High Prince of sorcery. The ensuing battle will be bloody, and the desert will witness the carnage wrought by their magic.
Reap the East Wind book cover
Book 6
Reap the East Wind
The Last Chronicle of the Dread Empire
Glen Cook - 1987-06-01
Goodreads Rating
Prepare for epic battles and political intrigue in a land where power is everything. Follow the lives of Lady Nepanthe, King Bragi Ragnarson, Michael Trebilcock, and Princess Mist as they navigate the dangerous world of Kavelin. Meanwhile, in Shinsan, a pig-farmer's son rises to command the Eastern Army while Lord Kuo fights against plots and a suicide attack. But the real threat lies beyond the Dread Empire, where a young victim of war becomes the chosen one to lead the legions of the dead. Get ready for a thrilling journey in the first installment of the legendary Dread Empire series.
An Ill Fate Marshalling book cover
Book 7
An Ill Fate Marshalling
The Last Chronicle of the Dread Empire
Glen Cook - 1988-01-01
Goodreads Rating
A king defies his advisors and joins a coup against an enemy empire, but risks the fate of his own nation. This gripping tale explores the dangers of pride and self-destruction.
A Path to Coldness of Heart book cover
Book 8
A Path to Coldness of Heart
The Last Chronicle of the Dread Empire
Glen Cook - 2012-01-25
Goodreads Rating
This thrilling conclusion to a saga follows the imprisonment of King Bragi Ragnarson by Lord Shih-kaa and Empress Mist. Meanwhile, Bragia's queen and army attempt to free him, facing challenges including desertion and loss of key soldiers. With multiple factions vying for control of Kavelin, and a sorcerer's watchful eye waiting for his moment, the wrath of kings is imminent. Join the journey down a path to coldness of heart.