Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign in
Book SeriesHornblower Saga

Hornblower Saga Series

Hornblower Saga books in order

The novels, in chronological order.
Lieutenant Hornblower book cover
Mr. Midshipman Hornblower book cover
Hornblower and the Hotspur book cover
11 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Mr. Midshipman Hornblower book cover
Book 1
Mr. Midshipman Hornblower
C. S. Forester - 1998-06-01 (first published in 1950)
Goodreads Rating
Follow the journey of young Horatio Hornblower, a British naval officer fighting against Napoleon's tyranny in Europe. In this first volume of an 11-book series, an inexperienced midshipman takes an even chance and shows his skills and ingenuities in sailing a ship full of wetted rice, imprisonment, saving shipwrecked sailors, fighting galleys, feeding cattle, and more. With strength of character and heroism, Hornblower develops into a memorable character that will inspire readers.
Lieutenant Hornblower book cover
Book 2
Lieutenant Hornblower
C. S. Forester - 1998-11-01 (first published in 1952)
Goodreads Rating
A young lieutenant embarks on a journey to face new responsibilities in the midst of war between Napoleon and Spain. Enduring treacherous sea battles and the horrors of life on a fighting ship, he distinguishes himself in his first independent command. Along the way, he encounters a unique adventure in the form of Maria. Join him in this gripping tale of turmoil and triumph on the high seas.
Hornblower and the Hotspur book cover
Book 3
Hornblower and the Hotspur
C. S. Forester - 1998-11-01 (first published in 1962)
Goodreads Rating
Join the fearless Horatio Hornblower on his latest naval adventure as he commands the Hotspur on a reconnaissance mission that quickly turns into a series of exciting confrontations. As war breaks out in April 1803, Hornblower must use all his daring and resourcefulness to defeat Napoleon's armies amassing across the channel. But amidst the chaos, he must also grapple with personal issues, including his new bride and mother-in-law, his crew, and his own unhappy temperament. Don't miss out on this beloved installment in the Hornblower series by C. S. Forester, a master of the naval adventure genre.
Hornblower During the Crisis book cover
Book 4
Hornblower During the Crisis
C. S. Forester - 1990-04-18 (first published in 1967)
Goodreads Rating
Experience the final journey of the legendary Horatio Hornblower as he battles to foil Napoleon's mission to invade England. In possession of confidential dispatches from Bonaparte, Hornblower is rewarded with a dangerous espionage mission that leads to the epic battle of Trafalgar. Although unfinished at the time of Forester's death, included notes guide us towards the finale of the story. This book also features two additional tales of Hornblower at different stages of his life. This is a must-read for fans of C. S. Forester's iconic hero, Horatio Hornblower.
Hornblower and the Atropos book cover
Book 5
Hornblower and the Atropos
C. S. Forester - 1985-04-28 (first published in 1953)
Goodreads Rating
Follow the young Captain Horatio Hornblower as he takes command of Atropos, a small 22-gun sloop. His first mission is to lead the funeral procession of the legendary Lord Nelson. Join Hornblower and his crew as they embark on various adventures, including recovering treasure from deep waters and fearlessly challenging a larger Spanish frigate. C.S. Forester's Hornblower is a masterful blend of caution and valor, capturing the hearts and minds of both allies and adversaries.
Beat to Quarters book cover
Book 6
Beat to Quarters
Beat to Quarters (Hornblower Saga (Paperback))
C. S. Forester - 1985-09-30 (first published in 1937)
Goodreads Rating
This adventurous historical fiction novel follows Captain Horatio Hornblower as he navigates the treacherous seas of Central America in 1808. Ordered by the Admiralty to form an alliance against the Spanish colonial government and take down their powerful ship Natividad, Hornblower faces a daunting challenge. To make matters worse, he must also contend with an insane Spanish landowner and a distracting new passenger: Lady Barbara Wellesley. Get swept away in this thrilling tale of sea battles, alliances, and unexpected romance.
Ship of the Line book cover
Book 7
Ship of the Line
C. S. Forester - 1999-01-01 (first published in 1938)
Goodreads Rating
Set during the Napoleonic Wars, this thrilling adventure follows Captain Horatio Hornblower on his first command of a ship of the line. Despite being short on crew and commanding an ugly vessel, Hornblower leads his men into enemy waters and pulls off daring raids against the French. Packed with grand naval action, this beloved classic is a must-read for fans of historical fiction and sea tales.
Flying Colours book cover
Book 8
Flying Colours
C. S. Forester - 1989-04-05 (first published in 1938)
Goodreads Rating
In "Flying Colours," Captain Horatio Hornblower finds himself imprisoned in a French fortress after being forced to surrender his ship in a bloody battle. With trumped-up charges awaiting him in Paris, his life and reputation hang in the balance. As he navigates the possibility of execution and worries about his loved ones, Hornblower impatiently awaits his next move.
Commodore Hornblower book cover
Book 9
Commodore Hornblower
C. S. Forester - 1992-12-28 (first published in 1945)
Goodreads Rating
A thrilling tale set in 1812, Commodore Hornblower follows the newly appointed Hornblower as he battles the harsh Baltic weather and navigates through Russian politics and French privateers. With Europe's fate hanging in the balance, he must protect Britain's Baltic interests and halt Napoleon's empire from expanding further. Can Hornblower handle the pressure and save the day?
Lord Hornblower by C. S. Forester
Admiral Hornblower in the West Indies by C. S. Forester