Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In
SeriesInspector Wexford

Inspector Wexford Series

Inspector Wexford books in order

Reginald Wexford, a chief inspector in Sussex, England and his DI Mike Burden(series is set in the fictional town of Kingsmarkham)
24 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Book 1
From Doon with Death
The First Inspector Wexford Mystery
Ruth Rendell - Nov 21, 2012 (first published in 1964)
Goodreads Rating
When Margaret Parsons disappears, Inspector Burden tries to reassure her frantic husband that she will be back by morning. Privately, though, he is certain Margaret has run off with another man. But then the missing woman's body is found, strangled and abandoned in a nearby wood. And when Mr. Parsons lets the police into his home, a startling disco...
Book 2
A New Lease of Death
Ruth Rendell - Sep 09, 2014 (first published in 1967)
Goodreads Rating
Wexford had every reason to remember the Painter case—it was the first murder he'd ever handled on his own. There had been no doubts about the case, until now. Someone wants the case reopened, and they want Wexford proved wrong....
Book 3
Wolf to the Slaughter
An Inspector Wexford Mystery
Ruth Rendell - Nov 21, 2012 (first published in 1967)
Goodreads Rating
It was better than a hotel, this anonymous room on a secluded side street of a small country town. No register to sign, no questions asked, and for five bucks a man could have three hours of undisturbed, illicit lovemaking.Then one evening a man with a knife turned the love nest into a death chamber. The carpet was soaked with blood -- but where wa...
Book 4
The Best Man to Die
Ruth Rendell - Oct 03, 2012 (first published in 1969)
Goodreads Rating
Who could have suspected that the exciting stag party for the groom would be the prelude to the murder of his close friend Charlie Hatton? And Charlie's death was only the first in a string of puzzling murders involving small-time gangsters, cheating husbands, and loose women. Now Chief Inspector Wexford and his assistant join forces with the groom...
Book 5
Guilty Thing Surprised
Ruth Rendell - Oct 03, 2012 (first published in 1970)
Goodreads Rating
Elizabeth Nightingale found peace and tranquility on her nightly walks through the rich, dense forests surrounding Myfleet Manor. But the peace she treasured was shattered one night when she found death waiting in the woods. Chief Inspector Wexford and his colleague Inspector Burden find a most unsavory case on their hands -- and must use all their...
Book 6
No More Dying Then
Ruth Rendell - Oct 05, 2009 (first published in 1971)
Goodreads Rating
What kind of a person would kidnap two children?That is the question that haunts Wexford when a five-year-old boy and a twelve-year-old girl disappear from the village of Kingsmarkham. When a child's body turns up at an abandoned country home one search turns into a murder investigation and the other turns into a race against time.  Filled with pat...
Book 7
Murder Being Once Done
Ruth Rendell - Sep 26, 2009 (first published in 1972)
Goodreads Rating
A young girl is murdered in a cemetery.  And Wexford's doctor has prescribed no alcohol, no rich food and, above all, no police work.  When a young girl's body is found in a London cemetery and the local police, under the command of Wexford's nephew, are baffled, Wexford decides to brave his doctor's wrath and the condescension of the London police...
Book 8
Some Lie and Some Die
Ruth Rendell - Oct 05, 2009 (first published in 1973)
Goodreads Rating
A mutilated body found at a rock festival.In spite of dire predictions, the rock festival in Kingsmarkham seemed to be going off without a hitch, until the hideously disfigured body is discovered in a nearby quarry. And soon Wexford is investigating the links between a local girl gone bad and a charismatic singer who inspires an unwholesome devotio...
Book 9
Shake Hands Forever
Ruth Rendell - Dec 25, 2008 (first published in 1975)
Goodreads Rating
The bed was neatly made, and the woman on top neatly strangled.According to all accounts, Angela Hathall was deeply in love with her husband and far too paranoid to invite an unknown person into their home. So who managed to gain entry and strangle her without a struggle? That is the problem facing Inspector Wexford in Shake Hands Forever. Perhaps ...
Book 10
A Sleeping Life
Ruth Rendell - Feb 04, 2009 (first published in 1978)
Goodreads Rating
Rhoda Comfrey's death seemed unremarkable; the real mystery was her life.In A Sleeping Life, master mystery writer Ruth Rendell unveils an elaborate web of lies and deception painstakingly maintained by a troubled soul. A wallet found in Comfrey's handbag leads Inspector Wexford to Mr. Grenville West, a writer whose plots revel in the blood, thunde...
Book 11
Death Notes
Ruth Rendell - Aug 12, 1986 (first published in 1981)
Goodreads Rating
Sir Manuel Camargue, yesterday one of the most celebrated musicians of his time, today floats face down in the lake near his sprawling English country house. The consensus is accidental death -- but Inspector Wexford knows the stench of murder most foul when he smells it. Particularly in the company of two suspects -- one, the victim's fiancee, who...
Speaker of Mandarin by Ruth Rendell
Unkindness of Ravens by Ruth Rendell
The Veiled One by Ruth Rendell
Kissing the Gunner's Daughter by Ruth Rendell
Simisola by Ruth Rendell
Road Rage by Ruth Rendell
Dear Bob by Martha Bolton
The Babes In The Wood by Ruth Rendell
End in Tears by Ruth Rendell
Not in the Flesh by Ruth Rendell
The Monster in the Box by Ruth Rendell
The Vault by Ruth Rendell
No Man's Nightingale by Ruth Rendell