Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign in
Book SeriesKate Burkholder

Kate Burkholder Series

Kate Burkholder books in order

In the sleepy rural town of Painters Mill, Ohio, the Amish and “English” residents have lived side by side for two centuries. But sixteen years ago, a series of brutal murders shattered the peaceful farming community. Kate Burkholder, a young Amish girl, survived the terror of the Slaughterhouse Killer but came away from its brutality with the real…
Pray for Silence book cover
Sworn to Silence book cover
Breaking Silence book cover
13 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Sworn to Silence book cover
Book 1
Sworn to Silence
A Kate Burkholder Novel
Linda Castillo - 2009-06-23
Goodreads Rating
This thrilling novel explores the aftermath of a series of brutal murders that shook the peaceful community of Painters Mill, Ohio. The Amish and “English” residents have lived together for two centuries but the violence shattered their tranquillity. Kate Burkholder, a young Amish girl who survived the Slaughterhouse Killer, returns to the town as the chief of police to stop the killer before he strikes again. But to do so, she must confront a dark secret that threatens to destroy her and betray both her family and Amish past. Sworn to Silence is the first in a bestselling series by Linda Castillo.
Pray for Silence book cover
Book 2
Pray for Silence
A Kate Burkholder Novel (Kate Burkholder, 2)
Linda Castillo - 2010-06-22
Goodreads Rating
A small Amish town is rocked by the brutal murder of a family of seven, leaving the community in shock and law enforcement with no leads. Police Chief Kate Burkholder, formerly Amish herself, delves into the investigation and uncovers long-buried secrets, including a teenage diary and a shunned brother. As she becomes consumed with catching the killer, Kate must confront her own past. This violent and suspenseful thriller is perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Tami Hoag.
Breaking Silence book cover
Book 3
Breaking Silence
A Kate Burkholder Novel (Kate Burkholder, 3)
Linda Castillo - 2011-06-21
Goodreads Rating
Breaking Silence is a thrilling crime novel set in an idyllic Amish community. When the Slabaugh family are found dead in their barn, Police Chief Kate Burkholder is called to the scene. Investigation leads to the discovery of foul play and a dark secret lurking beneath the peaceful surface of the community. Full of twists and turns, this book will delight fans of crime thrillers.
Gone Missing book cover
Book 4
Gone Missing
A Kate Burkholder Novel
Linda Castillo - 2012-06-19
Goodreads Rating
Gone Missing delves into the chilling disappearance of an Amish teenager during Rumspringa, a time when Amish teens are allowed to experience life without rules. Fear spreads through the community when a young teen disappears without a trace and a dead body is found. Chief of Police Kate Burkholder must call upon everything she has to solve this murder investigation, including delving into cold cases that may go back years. Will Kate be able to solve the sinister puzzle in time to save the missing teen and the Amish community from a devastating fate?
Her Last Breath book cover
Book 5
Her Last Breath
A Kate Burkholder Novel
Linda Castillo - 2013-06-18 (first published in 2014)
Goodreads Rating
A beautiful Amish woman becomes the center of a dark mystery in a seemingly perfect community. When a tragic car accident reveals evidence of foul play, an investigation begins to uncover the secrets of Painter's Mill. As Kate delves deeper into the case, she realizes she may be on the trail of a cold-blooded killer and is forced to question everything she knows about her own Amish upbringing. Experience a chilling journey into the darkest corners of the human heart with this gripping novel.
The Dead Will Tell book cover
Book 6
The Dead Will Tell
A Kate Burkholder Novel
Linda Castillo - 2014-07-08
Goodreads Rating
Discover a small town haunted by secrets in The Dead Will Tell. Chief of Police Kate Burkholder investigates a series of murders seemingly connected to the tragic past of an abandoned farm. As the bodies pile up, Kate must unravel a difficult trail of evidence that leads to a horrifying truth. Meanwhile, her partner John Tomasetti is forced to confront his own haunted past. The Dead Will Tell by Linda Castillo is a chilling mystery that proves the past never truly dies.
After the Storm book cover
Book 7
After the Storm
A Kate Burkholder Novel (Kate Burkholder, 7)
Linda Castillo - 2015-07-14
Goodreads Rating
"Uncovering a brutal murder during a tornado in Painters Mill, Chief of Police Kate Burkholder delves into the long-hidden past of an Amish family. As she seeks to identify human remains and connect the dots from a thirty-year-old case, Kate's relationship with state agent John Tomasetti faces a personal crisis amidst intense emotional turmoil. This electrifying thriller by New York Times bestseller Linda Castillo exposes unimaginable atrocities, family secrets, and the challenges of protecting loved ones."
Among the Wicked book cover
Book 8
Among the Wicked
A Kate Burkholder Novel
Linda Castillo - 2016-07-12
Goodreads Rating
A chief of police is called upon to infiltrate a reclusive Amish settlement after the death of a young girl. Unable to penetrate the community's wall of silence, she must pose as an Amish woman to uncover the secrets that could put children in danger. With limited communication and no backup, she unearths shocking crimes and finds herself fighting for her life.
Down a Dark Road book cover
Book 9
Down a Dark Road
A Kate Burkholder Novel
Linda Castillo - 2017-07-11
Goodreads Rating
In this thrilling mystery novel, Chief of Police Kate Burkholder is faced with a personal challenge when an escaped murderer, Joseph King, takes his five children hostage at an Amish uncle's farm. Kate grew up with King and must navigate their complicated history while trying to keep the children safe. But things take a dark turn when Kate discovers an unspeakable secret and must figure out who she can trust before it's too late.
A Gathering of Secrets by Linda Castillo
Shamed by Linda Castillo
Outsider by Linda Castillo
Fallen by Linda Castillo