Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign in
Book SeriesThe Horus Heresy

The Horus Heresy Series

The Horus Heresy books in order

Led by the Emperor’s superhuman progeny, the primarchs, the vast armies of Earth have conquered the galaxy in the Great Crusade. The Emperor’s elite warriors, the heroic and battle-hardened Space Marines, have smashed all aliens, tyrant despots and traitors into compliance. Gleaming citadels of marble and gold celebrate their many victories. Triump…
False Gods book cover
Horus Rising book cover
Galaxy in Flames book cover
59 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Horus Rising book cover
Book 1
Horus Rising
Dan Abnett - 2006-04-25
Goodreads Rating
Immerse yourself in a gripping sci-fi tale of power, corruption, and morality. In a vast, conquering Imperium, the Emperor hands over control to the impeccably talented Warmaster Horus. However, the question remains - will this immense power corrupt him? Follow Horus as he battles to keep humanity's grand design alive. This is the essential beginning to an epic series, featuring immersive illustrations for a completely engrossing experience.
False Gods book cover
Book 2
False Gods
Graham McNeill - 2006-07-01
Goodreads Rating
A sci-fi book following the Warmaster Horus leading the Great Crusade. But the jealousy and resentment of his brother primarchs prove to be a challenge, leading to Horus struggling with his own inner demons. Will he resist the temptations of Chaos? Enjoy stunning illustrations and an afterword that puts the story in context within the series.
Galaxy in Flames book cover
Book 3
Galaxy in Flames
Ben Counter - 2006-10-09
Goodreads Rating
Discover a thrilling sci-fi novel about betrayal, war, and brotherhood. Follow Warmaster Horus as he leads Imperial forces against rebellious Isstvan III, only to reveal his true treachery. Written by Ben Counter, this third part of The Horus Heresy trilogy sets the stage for an epic saga. Includes integrated illustrations and afterword placing the story in context within the series.
The Flight of the Eisenstein book cover
Book 4
The Flight of the Eisenstein
James Swallow - 2007-03-27
Goodreads Rating
Death Guard Captain Garro sets out on a dangerous mission to warn the Emperor of Horus's betrayal after witnessing a massacre on Isstvan III. But when his ship is damaged in enemy fire, he becomes stranded in the realm of the Dark Powers. Can Garro and his men survive the chaos and deliver their warning? This novel introduces key figures and sheds light on the murky destiny of Nathaniel Garro. With integrated illustrations and an afterword placing the story in context, The Flight of the Eisenstein is a must-read for fans of the series.
Fulgrim book cover
Book 5
Graham McNeill - 2007-07-31
Goodreads Rating
This science-fiction novel is set in the year 31,000 when humanity is at the peak of their power. The Emperor's Children primarch, Fulgrim, leads his warriors into battle against aliens, unknowingly planting the seeds of corruption that will lead to their downfall. The book tells the tragic story of Fulgrim's decline and sets the stage for the Horus Heresy.
Descent of Angels book cover
Book 6
Descent of Angels
Mitchel Scanlon - 2007-10-30
Goodreads Rating
This epic science fiction book explores the knightly orders on the planet of Caliban and their fight to protect common people from the beasts in the endless forests. As the Imperium arrives, the Order's destiny is put into question as they have to decide whether to follow their leader in the Great Crusade among the stars. This book offers a glimpse into a new world and sets up the darkness that lies at the heart of the Dark Angels. The eBook edition comes with illustrations of the characters and an afterword that puts the story in context within the series.
Legion book cover
Book 7
Secrets and Lies
Dan Abnett - 2008-03-25
Goodreads Rating
A secretive brotherhood of Space Marines, the Alpha Legion, arrives on a foreign planet to aid in a pacification campaign against mysterious enemies. But their true motives remain unclear. Can they be trusted? As a Great War looms over the Imperium of Man, loyalties are tested and the fate of humanity hangs in the balance in this thrilling science fiction novel by Dan Abnett.
Battle for the Abyss book cover
Book 8
Battle for the Abyss
Counter, Ben] [August, 2014]
Ben Counter - 2008-07-29
Goodreads Rating
The Battle for the Abyss is a thrilling sci-fi novel that explores the aftermath of Horus's betrayal. As the Astartes are forced to choose sides, a massive Wordbearers fleet heads towards Ultramar with the potential to deliver a fatal blow to the Ultramarines. Can the loyalists intercept and destroy the fleet before it's too late? Find out in this epic space opera.
Mechanicum book cover
Book 9
Graham McNeill - 2008-11-25
Goodreads Rating
This thrilling sci-fi novel follows the spread of treachery throughout the Imperium and the plot of Horus to destroy all who stand in his way. Set on the vital world of Mars, the story sees the powerful Mechanicum priesthood fight to control the invaluable weaponry production on the planet. With whispers of a terrifying ancient threat lurking beneath the surface, the Dark Mechanicum begin to rise and turn loyalist forces and mighty Titan Legions against each other. Get ready for an epic war that could decide the fate of the galaxy.
Tales of Heresy book cover
Book 10
Tales of Heresy
Tales of Heresy by Nick Kyme (Mar 31 2009)
Aa - 2009-03-31
Goodreads Rating
Explore the devastating civil war that nearly destroyed the Imperium in Tales of Heresy. This collection of short stories depicts the galaxy-wide conflict between loyal Astartes and those who rebelled against the Emperor, with death as its only victor. From Blood Games to Call of the Lion, this anthology includes gripping tales from Dan Abnett, Graham McNeill, and more. Discover the brutal and immersive world of Warhammer 40,000 in Tales of Heresy.
Fallen Angels by Mike Lee
A Thousand Sons by Graham McNeill
Nemesis by James Swallow
The First Heretic by Aaron Dembski-Bowden
Prospero Burns by Dan Abnett
Age of Darkness by Christian Dunn
The Outcast Dead by Graham McNeill
Deliverance Lost by Gav Thorpe
Know No Fear by Dan Abnett
The Primarchs by Christian - Editor Dunn
Fear to Tread by James Swallow
Shadows of Treachery by Christian Dunn
Angel Exterminatus by Graham McNeill
Betrayer by Nicole Conway
Betrayer by Aaron Dembski-Bowden;
Mark of Calth by Guy Haley
Vulkan Lives by Nick Kyme
The Unremembered Empire by Dan Abnett
Scars by Chris Wraight
Vengeful Spirit by Graham McNeill
The Damnation of Pythos by David Annandale
Legacies of Betrayal by Laurie Goulding
Deathfire by Nick Kyme
War Without End (Surviving the Dead Book 9) by James Cook
War Without End by Graham McNeill
Pharos by Guy Haley
Educated by Tara Westover
Eye of Terra by Graham McNeill
The Path of Heaven by Chris Wraight
The Silent War by Anthony Reynolds
Angels of Caliban by Gav Thorpe
Praetorian of Dorn by John French
Corax by Gav Thorpe
The Master of Mankind by Aaron Dembski-Bowden
Garro by James Swallow
Konrad Curze by Guy Haley
Shattered Legions by C. P. Rider
The Crimson King by Graham McNeill
Tallarn Ironclad by John French
Tallarn by John French
Ruinstorm by David Annandale
Old Earth by Nick Kyme
The Burden of Loyalty by Gav Thorpe
Wolfsbane by Guy Haley
Born of Flame by Nick Kyme
Slaves to Darkness by John French
Heralds of the Siege by Rob Sanders
Titandeath by Guy Haley
The Buried Dagger by James Swallow