Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In
AuthorsMelissa Febos

Melissa Febos Books

Melissa Febos is the author of the critically acclaimed memoir, Whip Smart (St. Martin’s Press 2010), and the essay collection, Abandon Me (Bloomsbury 2017), which was a LAMBDA Literary Award finalist, a Publishing Triangle Award finalist, an Indie Next Pick, and was widely named a best book of 2017. Her third book, Girlhood, is forthcoming from Bloomsbury in 2021. Febos is the inaugural winner of the Jeanne Córdova Nonfiction Award from LAMBDA Literary and the recipient of the 2018 Sarah Verdone Writing Award from the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council. She has been featured on NPR’s Fresh Air, CNN, and Anderson Cooper Live; has taught at conferences and colleges nationwide; and has been awarded fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, Bread Loaf Writer’s Conference, Virginia Center for Creative Arts, Vermont Studio Center, The Barbara Deming Memorial Foundation, The BAU Institute, Ucross Foundation, and Ragdale. She is the recipient of an MFA from Sarah Lawrence College and is an associate professor at the University of Iowa, where she teaches in the Nonfiction Writing Program. Her essays have appeared in Tin House, Granta, The Paris Review, The Sun, The Believer, The Sewanee Review, Kenyon Review, Prairie Schooner, Vogue, The Guardian, The New York Times, and elsewhere.
10 books on the list
Sort by
Best Books First
Layout
Girlhood
Melissa Febos - Mar 30, 2021
Goodreads Rating
A gripping set of stories about the forces that shape girls and the adults they become. A wise and brilliant guide to transforming the self and our society.In her powerful new book, critically acclaimed author Melissa Febos examines the narratives women are told about what it means to be female and what it takes to free oneself from them.When her b...
Burn It Down
Women Writing about Anger
Oct 08, 2019
Goodreads Rating
A rich, nuanced exploration of women's anger from a diverse group of writers Women are angry, and from the #MeToo movement to the record number of women running for political office, they're finally expressing it. But all rage isn't created equal. Who gets to be angry? (If there's now space for cis white women's anger, what about black women? Tran...
Abandon Me
Memoirs
Melissa Febos - Feb 28, 2017
Goodreads Rating
For readers of Maggie Nelson and Leslie Jamison, a fierce and dazzling personal narrative that explores the many ways identity and art are shaped by love and loss.In her critically acclaimed memoir, Whip Smart, Melissa Febos laid bare the intimate world of the professional dominatrix, turning an honest examination of her life into a lyrical study o...
Letter to a Stranger
Essays to the Ones Who Haunt Us
Oct 05, 2021
Goodreads Rating
Lauren Groff, Elizabeth Kolbert, Pam Houston, Pico Iyer, T. Kira Madden, Gregory Pardlo, Maggie Shipstead, and Peter Orner are among the numerous writers who grapple with this mystery: How can an ephemeral encounter leave an eternal mark?When Colleen Kinder put out a call for authors to “write a letter to a stranger who haunts you,” she opened the ...
McSweeney's #61
Sep 10, 2020
Goodreads Rating
McSweeney’s returns with a back-to-basics collection of the best literary material we can find. Featuring letters by Maria Bamford, Sally Wen Mao, and Melissa Febos; brand-new stories by Brandon Hobson and Salvador Plascencia; nine full-color comics by Jon McNaught; a housewares catalog for our dysphoric times by Gabrielle Bell; five pieces of post...
Goodbye to All That
Writers on Loving and Leaving New York
Oct 08, 2013
Goodreads Rating
From Roxane Gay to Leslie Jamison, thirty brilliant writers share their timeless stories about the everlasting magic—and occasional misery—of living in the Big Apple.In this classic collection, thirty writers share their own stories of loving and leaving New York, capturing the mesmerizing allure the city has always had for writers, poets, and wand...
Whip Smart
The True Story of a Secret Life
Melissa Febos - Jul 19, 2011 (first published in 2010)
Goodreads Rating
A dark, wild, powerful memoir about a young woman’s transformation from college student to professional dominatrix ...
Crush
26 Real-Life Tales of First Love
Andrea N. Richesin - Jun 01, 2011
Goodreads Rating
Readers will fall head over heels for this nostalgic and irreverent collection.Twenty-six bestselling authors return to the teenage bedrooms, school hallways and college dorms of their youth to share passionate essays of love lost and found and lessons learned along the way. Whether heartbreaking or hilarious, their soul-baring honesty reminds us t...
Kink
Stories
Feb 09, 2021
Goodreads Rating
'KINK' is a groundbreaking anthology of literary short fiction exploring love and desire, BDSM, and interests across the sexual spectrum, edited by lauded writers R.O. Kwon and Garth Greenwell, and featuring a roster of all-star contributors including Alexander Chee, Roxane Gay, Carmen Maria Machado, and more.'KINK' is a dynamic anthology of litera...
Body Work
The Radical Power of Personal Narrative
Melissa Febos - Mar 15, 2022
Memoir meets craft masterclass in this “daring, honest, psychologically insightful” exploration of how we think and write about intimate experiences—“a must read for anybody shoving a pen across paper or staring into a screen or a past" (Mary Karr).In this bold and exhilarating mix of memoir and master class, Melissa Febos tackles the emotional, ps...