Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In
SeriesAdam Dalgliesh

Adam Dalgliesh Series

Adam Dalgliesh books in order

Mysteries featuring an English police detective. Connected to James' Cordelia Gray series.
A Mind to Murder book cover
Cover Her Face book cover
Unnatural Causes book cover
14 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Cover Her Face book cover
Book 1
Cover Her Face
P. D. James - 2001-05-08 (first published in 1962)
Goodreads Rating
Headstrong and beautiful, the young housemaid Sally Jupp is put rudely in her place, strangled in her bed behind a bolted door. Coolly brilliant policeman Adam Dalgliesh of Scotland Yard must find her killer among a houseful of suspects, most of whom had very good reason to wish her ill. Cover Her Face is P. D. James's electric debut novel, an inge...
A Mind to Murder book cover
Book 2
A Mind to Murder
P.D. James - 2012-04-17 (first published in 1963)
Goodreads Rating
The second book to feature Scotland Yard investigator Adam Dalgliesh, A Mind To Murder is a “superbly satisfying mystery” (Chicago Daily News) from bestselling author P.D. James.On the surface, the Steen Psychiatric Clinic is one of the most reputable institutions in London. But when the administrative head is found dead with a chisel in her heart,...
Unnatural Causes book cover
Book 3
Unnatural Causes
P.D. James - 2012-04-17 (first published in 1967)
Goodreads Rating
AN ADAM DALGLIESH MYSTERYSuperintendent Adam Dalgliesh had been looking forward to a quiet holiday at his aunt's cottage on Monksmere Head, one of the furthest-flung spots on the remote Suffolk coast. With nothing to do other than enjoy long wind-swept walks, tea in front of the crackling wood fire and hot buttered toast, Dalgliesh was relishing th...
Shroud for a Nightingale book cover
Book 4
Shroud for a Nightingale
P.D. James - 2012-04-17 (first published in 1971)
Goodreads Rating
Hailed as “mystery at its best” by The New York Times, Shroud for a Nightingale is the fourth book in bestselling author P.D. James’s Adam Dalgliesh mystery series.The young women of Nightingale House are there to learn to nurse and comfort the suffering. But when one of the students plays patient in a demonstration of nursing skills, she is horrib...
The Black Tower book cover
Book 5
The Black Tower
An Adam Dalgliesh Mystery (Adam Dalgliesh Mysteries Book 5)
P.D. James - 2012-04-17 (first published in 1975)
Goodreads Rating
Commander Dalgliesh is recuperating from a life-threatening illness when he receives a call for advice from an elderly friend who works as a chaplain in a home for the disabled on the Dorset coast. Dalgliesh arrives to discover that Father Baddeley has recently and mysteriously died, as has one of the patients at Toynton Grange. Evidently the home ...
Death of an Expert Witness book cover
Book 6
Death of an Expert Witness
P.D. James - 2012-04-17 (first published in 1977)
Goodreads Rating
Dr. Lorrimer appeared to be the picture of a bloodless, coldly efficient scientist. Only when his brutally slain body is discovered and his secret past dissected does the image begin to change. Once again, Chief Inspector Adam Dalgliesh learns that there is more to human beings than meets the eye -- and more to solving a murder than the obvious clu...
A Taste for Death book cover
Book 7
A Taste for Death
P. D. James - 2010-12-08 (first published in 1986)
Goodreads Rating
When the quiet Little Vestry of St. Matthew's Church becomes the blood-soaked scene of a double murder, Scotland Yard Commander Adam Dalgliesh faces an intriguing conundrum: How did an upper-crust Minister come to lie, slit throat to slit throat, next to a neighborhood derelict of the lowest order? Challenged with the investigation of a crime that ...
Devices and Desires book cover
Book 8
Devices and Desires
P. D. James - 2011-10-05 (first published in 1989)
Goodreads Rating
When Commander Adam Dalgliesh visits Larksoken, a remote headland community on the Norfolk coast in the shadow of a nuclear power station, he expects to be engaged only in the sad business of tying up his aunt's estate. But the peace of Larksoken is illusory. A serial killer known as the Whistler is terrorising the neighbourhood and Dalgliesh is dr...
Undefined book cover
Book 9
June 2020
Khai Smith - 2020-06-26
Undefined Magazine, June 2020 Edition is dedicated to Austin Baynard....
A Certain Justice book cover
Book 10
A Certain Justice
An Adam Dalgliesh Novel
P.D. James - 2019-12-17 (first published in 1997)
Goodreads Rating
It begins, dramatically enough, with a trial for murder. The distinguished criminal lawyer Venetia Aldridge is defending Garry Ashe on charges of having brutally killed his aunt. For Aldridge the trial is mainly a test of her courtroom skills, one more opportunity to succeed--and she does. But now murder is in the air. The next victim will be Aldri...
Death in Holy Orders book cover
Death in Holy Orders
P. D. James - 2007-01-09
The Murder Room by P. D. James
The Lighthouse by P. D. James
The Private Patient by P. D. James