Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In
SeriesAgatha Raisin

Agatha Raisin Series

Agatha Raisin books in order

Meet Agatha Raisin: feisty, gloriously non-pc, and used to getting her own way. After giving up her successful PR firm, Agatha moves to the cozy Cotswold village of Carsely--but the town isn’t quite as peaceful as it might seem. In this delightful mystery series from M.C. Beaton, amateur sleuth Agatha Raisin solves many a murder and falls desperate…
32 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Book 1
The Quiche of Death
The First Agatha Raisin Mystery (Agatha Raisin Mysteries (1))
M. C. Beaton - Sep 04, 2018 (first published in 1992)
Goodreads Rating
Putting all her eggs in one basket, Agatha Raisin gives up her successful PR firm, sells her London flat, and samples a taste of early retirement in the quiet village of Carsely. Bored, lonely and used to getting her way, she enters a local baking contest: Surely a blue ribbon for the best quiche will make her the toast of the town. But her recipe ...
Book 2
M. C. Beaton - Sep 01, 2015 (first published in 1993)
Goodreads Rating
Feisty Agatha Raisin, former London PR exec, retired to quiet Cotswold village. Handsome vet Paul Bladen accidentally kills himself while attending Lord Pendlebury's horse. Agatha and attractive neighbor James Lacey investigate the curious lack of sorrow shown by his divorced wife while a killer plans another "accident"....
Book 3
M. C. Beaton - Jun 30, 2009 (first published in 1994)
Goodreads Rating
Never say die. That's the philosophy Agatha Raisin clings to when she comes home to cozy Carsely and finds a new woman ensconced in the affections of her attractive bachelor neighbor, James Lacey. The beautiful newcomer, Mary Fortune, is superior in every way, especially when it comes to gardening. And Agatha, that rose with many thorns, hasn't a g...
Book 4
Agatha Raisin and the Walkers of Dembley
M. C. Beaton - Apr 01, 1995
Goodreads Rating
Agatha Raisin joins Dembley hiking club to pursue handsome Cotswold neighbor James Lacey. Angry member Jessica targets wealthy landowner Charles Fraith, who retaliates with tea invitation, but her body is found dead on his grounds. Agatha and James investigate the crime, the group ready to kill....
Book 5
M. C. Beaton - Sep 15, 1997 (first published in 1996)
Goodreads Rating
In her fifth outing, Agatha Raisin - the sometimes pushy, sometimes endearing heroine of Beaton's Cotswold village mystery series - has her marriage to next-door neighbour James Lacey disrupted by the startling appearance of her undivorced, long-thought-dead first husband, Jimmy Raisin. Matters go quickly from bad to worse when Jimmy is found murde...
Book 6
Agatha Raisin and the Terrible Tourist
An Agatha Raisin Mystery (Agatha Raisin Mysteries Book 6)
M. C. Beaton - Apr 01, 2010 (first published in 1997)
Goodreads Rating
Cold-blooded murder heats up Agatha's summer holiday! Agatha travels to Cyprus, only to contend with her estranged fiance, an egregious group of truly terrible tourists, and a string of murders...In this sixth entertaining outing Agatha leaves the sleepy Cotswold village of Carsely to pursue love - and finds a murderer. Spurned at the altar, she fo...
Book 7
Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death
An Agatha Raisin Mystery (Agatha Raisin Mysteries Book 7)
M. C. Beaton - Jun 26, 2007 (first published in 1998)
Goodreads Rating
Agatha Raisin, the crusty, yet perversely self-conscious Londoner who has resettled in the ostensible calm of a Cotswold village stars in her seventh adventure by M.C. Beaton. In this episode, Agatha has agreed to come out of retirement to manage the publicity for the launch of water bottled from a village spring - much to the chagrin of some of he...
Book 8
Agatha Raisin and the Wizard of Evesham
An Agatha Raisin Mystery (Agatha Raisin Mysteries Book 8)
M. C. Beaton - Apr 01, 2007 (first published in 1999)
Goodreads Rating
"She was a stocky middle-aged woman with good legs, a round face and small bearlike eyes which looked suspiciously out at the world. Her hair had always been her pride, thick and brown and glossy."That description, which could also fit Dustin Hoffman in 'Tootsie', tells us almost everything we need to know about Agatha Raisin, M.C. Beaton's smartly...
Book 9
Agatha Raisin and the Witch of Wyckhadden
An Agatha Raisin Mystery (Agatha Raisin Mysteries Book 9)
M. C. Beaton - Jun 15, 2000 (first published in 1999)
Goodreads Rating
There is nothing more depressing for a middle-aged lovelorn woman with bald patches on her head than to find herself in an English seaside resort out of season. Agatha Raisin, her hair falling out after a run-in with a hairdresser-cum-murderess from a previous investigation, travels to an old-fashioned hotel in order to repair the damage away from ...
Book 10
Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam
An Agatha Raisin Mystery (Agatha Raisin Mysteries Book 10)
M. C. Beaton - May 13, 2014 (first published in 2000)
Goodreads Rating
When a fortune teller from a previous case informs Agatha Raisin that her destiny--and true love--lies in Norfolk, she promptly rents a cottage in the quaint village of Fryfam. No sooner does she arrive than strange things start happening. Random objects go missing from people's homes, and odd little lights are seen dancing in the villagers' garden...
Book 11
Agatha Raisin and the Love from Hell
An Agatha Raisin Mystery (Agatha Raisin Mysteries Book 11)
M. C. Beaton - Apr 01, 2010 (first published in 2001)
Goodreads Rating
Recently married to James Lacey, the witty and fractious Agatha Raisin quickly finds that marriage, and love, are not all they are cracked up to be. Rather than basking in marital bliss, the newlyweds are living in separate cottages and accusing each other of infidelity. After a particularly raucous fight in the local pub, James suddenly vanishes-a...
Agatha Raisin and the Day the Floods Came by M. C. Beaton
Agatha Raisin and the Case of the Curious Curate by M. C. Beaton
Agatha Raisin and the Haunted House by M. C. Beaton
The Deadly Dance by M. C. Beaton
The Perfect Paragon by M. C. Beaton
Love, Lies and Liquor by M. C. Beaton
Kissing Christmas Goodbye by M. C. Beaton
A Spoonful of Poison by M. C. Beaton
There Goes the Bride by M. C. Beaton
Busy Body by M. C. Beaton
As the Pig Turns by M. C. Beaton
Hiss and Hers by M. C. Beaton
Something Borrowed, Someone Dead by M. C. Beaton
The Blood of an Englishman by M. C. Beaton
Dishing the Dirt by M. C. Beaton
Pushing Up Daisies by M. C. Beaton
Agatha Raisin and the Witches' Tree by M. C. Beaton
Agatha Raisin and the Dead Ringer by M. C. Beaton
Beating About the Bush by M. C. Beaton
Hot to Trot by M. C. Beaton
Down the Hatch by M. C. Beaton