Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign in
Book SeriesDexter

Dexter Series

Dexter books in order

Dexter Morgan, a blood spatter technician for Miami Dade Police Department and also a sociopath serial killer.
Dearly Devoted Dexter book cover
Darkly Dreaming Dexter book cover
Dexter in the Dark book cover
8 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Darkly Dreaming Dexter book cover
Book 1
Darkly Dreaming Dexter
Jeff Lindsay - 2006-09-19 (first published in 2004)
Goodreads Rating
Follow the dark and twisted mind of Dexter Morgan, a charmingly handsome blood splatter expert for the Miami police department who also doubles as a serial killer. But don't worry - he only targets bad people. When murders start cropping up that bear a chilling resemblance to his own style, Dexter is left to wonder if he's the culprit or if some other fiend is on the loose.
Dearly Devoted Dexter book cover
Book 2
Dearly Devoted Dexter
Jeff Lindsay - 2006-09-19 (first published in 2005)
Goodreads Rating
Follow Dexter Morgan, an ethical serial killer who only kills bad people, as he faces pressure to maintain his cover and avoid suspicion from a dangerous detective. When a particularly twisted psychopath begins cutting through Miami, Dexter's dark appetite awakens and his sister, a newly minted detective, is drawn into the case. Jeff Lindsay's witty and fresh writing style brings us one of the most original and colorful narrators in years.
Dexter in the Dark book cover
Book 3
Dexter in the Dark
Jeff Lindsay - 2007-09-18 (first published in 2006)
Goodreads Rating
A Miami crime scene investigator with a dark passenger is thrust into danger after encountering a disturbing crime scene at a university. While planning his wedding and trying to become a stepfather, he must face a sinister adversary and confront the dark tendencies of those around him. Dive deeper into the psyche of this fresh and macabre protagonist in this thrilling read.
Dexter by Design book cover
Book 4
Dexter by Design
Jeff Lindsay - 2009-02-19 (first published in 2008)
Goodreads Rating
In Dexter by Design, the beloved antihero is back and facing his deadliest case yet. After a blissful honeymoon in Paris, Dexter seems to have his homicidal tendencies under control, but old habits die hard. When a new serial killer emerges in Miami, Dexter can't resist the temptation to get back to business. This thrilling installment in the "Dexter" series will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very end.
Dexter is Delicious book cover
Book 5
Dexter is Delicious
Dexter Morgan (5)
Jeff Lindsay - 2010-09-07
Goodreads Rating
A hilarious yet macabre crime novel featuring the beloved serial killer, Dexter Morgan. He's back with major life changes, including a newborn daughter, but investigating the disappearance of a teenage girl who may have been killed by cannibals is his latest challenge. The author's dark and ironic tone, mixed with laugh-out-loud humor, has earned him a legion of fans and a permanent place in our culture.
Double Dexter book cover
Book 6
Double Dexter
Dexter Morgan (6)
Jeff Lindsay - 2011-10-18
Goodreads Rating
A blood spatter analyst for the Miami Police Department and a serial killer by night, Dexter Morgan is not your average protagonist. When he discovers that someone is shadowing him and copying his methods, Dexter takes matters into his own hands in Double Dexter. With smart suspense and dark humor, this bestselling novel by Jeff Lindsay is a raucously entertaining addition to the Dexter series.
Dexter's Final Cut book cover
Book 7
Dexter's Final Cut
Dexter Morgan (7)
Jeff Lindsay - 2013-09-17
Goodreads Rating
A Hollywood mega-star becomes obsessed with blood-spatter analyst Dexter Morgan in this thrilling installment of the Dexter series. Chase shadows Dexter's every move, but Dexter's secret life as a vigilante poses a problem if he wants to stay out of the spotlight. Will Dexter succumb to the call of fame?
Dexter Is Dead book cover
Book 8
Dexter Is Dead
A Novel
Jeff Lindsay - 2015-07-07
Goodreads Rating
"Dexter Is Dead" marks the epic conclusion of the beloved series that has become a global icon. The story follows Dexter Morgan, a blood spatter analyst and notorious serial killer, who faces the collapse of his world when arrested on false murder charges. With only his brother left to prove his innocence, Dexter faces a deadly showdown that could lead to his ultimate demise. With Jeff Lindsay's trademark wit and satire, "Dexter Is Dead" is a satisfying and suspenseful finale to this unique and twisted character.