Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Inspector Banks Series

Inspector Banks books in order

Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks is a policeman in Yorkshire (England).
27 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Layout
Book 1
#1
Gallows View
The First Inspector Banks Novel (Inspector Banks Novels)
Peter Robinson - Apr 26, 2016 (first published in 1987)
Goodreads Rating
Having moved his family to the market town of Eastvale, Chief Inspector Alan Banks is disturbed by a local crime wave and teams up with psychologist Jenny Fuller—-to whom he is attracted—-to find out who is targeting Eastvale women....
Book 2
#2
A Dedicated Man
Peter Robinson - Nov 19, 2013 (first published in 1988)
Goodreads Rating
An admired local historian is found dead and half-buried in a farmer’s field in the village of Gratly. A slimy land-developer, an editor, a local thriller writer, and a beautiful folk singer are all figures from the historian’s past, and all of them are suspects. Sally, a young would-be actress, knows more than she’s telling and wants to solve the ...
Book 3
#3
A Necessary End
An Inspector Banks Mystery (Inspector Banks series Book 3)
Peter Robinson - Oct 22, 2013 (first published in 1989)
Goodreads Rating
In the tradition of Ian Rankin and Elizabeth George, this masterful novel of suspense—from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson—spins a story of professional jealousy that could result in more than one murder.A peaceful demonstration in the normally quiet town of Eastvale ends with fifty arrests—and the brutal st...
Book 4
#4
The Hanging Valley
Peter Robinson - Oct 22, 2013 (first published in 1989)
Goodreads Rating
When a faceless body is found in a tranquil valley just south of the village of Swainshead, Chief Inspector Alan Banks soon finds that no one in the village is willing to talk about it, except to say, “Not again.” An unsolved murder from five years before and the unsolved disappearance of a prominent local man’s girlfriend appear to be connected. A...
Book 5
#5
Past Reason Hated
Peter Robinson - Nov 19, 2013 (first published in 1992)
Goodreads Rating
It’s the holiday season in a peaceful Yorkshire village, but there are no glad tidings for Caroline Hartley, brutally stabbed to death in her own home. Her body, naked and bloody, is found by her lover, Veronica, three days before Christmas. Detective Constable Susan Gay and Chief Inspector Alan Banks must unravel Caroline’s enigmatic past to disco...
Book 6
#6
Wednesday's Child
Peter Robinson - Sep 24, 2013 (first published in 1992)
Goodreads Rating
Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks investigates the chilling case of Brenda Scupham, a welfare mother who unwittingly hands her seven-year-old daughter, Gemma, over to child abductors claiming to be social workers....
Book 7
#7
Final Account
Peter Robinson - Oct 13, 2009 (first published in 1994)
Goodreads Rating
Final Account" is the US Title for "Dry Bones That Dream."There's more than blood and bone beneath the skin.The victim, a nondescript "numbers cruncher," died horribly just yards away from his terrified wife and daughter, murdered by men who clearly enjoyed their work. The crime scene is one that could chill the blood of even the most seasoned poli...
Book 8
#8
Innocent Graves
An Inspector Banks Novel (Inspector Banks series Book 8)
Peter Robinson - Mar 17, 2009 (first published in 1996)
Goodreads Rating
The worst that can possibly happen . . . has.A beautiful child is dead -- defiled and murdered in a lonely graveyard on a fog-shrouded evening. It is the sort of horrific crime Chief Inspector Alan Banks fled the city to escape. But the slaying of a bright and lovely teenager from a wealthy, respected family is not the end of a nightmare. Lies, dar...
Book 9
#9
Blood At The Root
An Inspector Banks Novel (Inspector Banks series Book 9)
Peter Robinson - Oct 13, 2009 (first published in 1997)
Goodreads Rating
New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson brings us a tantalizing tale of suspense in this classic Inspector Banks thriller.In the long shadows of an alley a young man is murdered by an unknown assailant. The shattering echoes of his death will be felt throughout a small provincial community on the edge—because the vi...
Book 10
#10
In A Dry Season
An Inspector Banks Novel (Inspector Banks series Book 10)
Peter Robinson - Mar 17, 2009 (first published in 1999)
Goodreads Rating
New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson delivers an unforgettable, compelling thriller of a lost village and the deadly secrets that are unearthed upon its discovery—secrets that include murder.In the blistering, dry summer, the waters of Thornfield Reservoir have been depleted, revealing the ruins of the small York...
Book 11
#11
Cold Is The Grave
A Novel of Suspense (Inspector Banks series Book 11)
Peter Robinson - Oct 13, 2009 (first published in 2000)
Goodreads Rating
Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks' life is shaken to the core when he is unexpectedly pulled into the investigation of a young girl's disappearance in this shattering suspense novel from the hand of a modern master....
Aftermath by Peter Robinson
Close To Home by Peter Robinson
Playing With Fire by Peter Robinson
Strange Affair by Peter Robinson
Piece Of My Heart by Peter Robinson
Friend Of The Devil by Peter Robinson
All the Colors of Darkness by Peter Robinson
Bad Boy by Peter Robinson
Watching the Dark by Peter Robinson
Children of the Revolution by Peter Robinson
Abattoir Blues by Peter Robinson
When the Music's Over by Peter Robinson
The Mechanical Devil by Kate Ellis
Careless Love by Peter Robinson
Many Rivers to Cross by Peter Robinson
Not Dark Yet by Peter Robinson