Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In
SeriesInspector Lynley

Inspector Lynley Series

Inspector Lynley books in order

Detective Inspector Thomas "Tommy" Lynley, 8th Earl of Asherton and Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers are with New Scotland Yard.Some of the Inspector Lynley mysteries have been adapted for television.
Blood In Babylon book cover
A Great Deliverance book cover
Payment in Blood book cover
23 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
A Great Deliverance book cover
Book 1
A Great Deliverance
Elizabeth George - 2007-05-01 (first published in 1988)
Goodreads Rating
To this day, the low, thin wail of an infant can be heard in Keldale's lush green valleys. Three hundred years ago, as legend goes, the frightened Yorkshire villagers smothered a crying babe in Keldale Abbey, where they'd hidden to escape the ravages of Cromwell's raiders.Now into Keldale's pastoral web of old houses and older secrets comes Scotlan...
Blood In Babylon book cover
Book 2
Blood In Babylon
Blake Banner - 2019-07-08
Goodreads Rating
Detective John Stone of the NYPD heads up the 43rd’s cold case unit, in the Bronx. In a place like the Bronx you get a lot of cold cases. So Stone has one golden rule for investigating a case: it must have some remote chance of being solved. So what made him choose the Al’ Chester case, the sixty year-old schizophrenic murdered on his birthday, twe...
Payment in Blood book cover
Book 2
Payment in Blood
Elizabeth George - 2007-09-04 (first published in 1989)
Goodreads Rating
The career of playwright Joy Sinclair comes to an abrupt end on an isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands when someone drives an eighteen-inch dirk through her neck. Called upon to investigate the case in a country where they have virtually no authority, aristocratic Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley and his partner, Detective Sergeant Barbara H...
Well-Schooled in Murder book cover
Book 3
Well-Schooled in Murder
Elizabeth George - 2007-09-04 (first published in 1989)
Goodreads Rating
When thirteen-year-old Matthew Whately goes missing from Bredgar Chambers, a prestigious public school in the heart of West Sussex, aristocratic Inspector Thomas Lynley receives a call for help from the lad’s housemaster, who also happens to be an old school chum. Thus, the inspector, his partner, Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers, and forensic sci...
A Suitable Vengeance book cover
Book 4
A Suitable Vengeance
Elizabeth George - 2007-09-04 (first published in 1991)
Goodreads Rating
Award-winning author Elizabeth George gives us an early glimpse into the lives of Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley, forensic scientist Simon Allcourt-St. James, and Lady Helen Clyde in a superlative mystery that is also a fascinating inquiry into the crimes of the heart. Lynley, the eighth earl of Asherton, has brought to Howenstow, his family hom...
For the Sake of Elena book cover
Book 5
For the Sake of Elena
Elizabeth George - 2008-04-15 (first published in 1992)
Goodreads Rating
Elena Weaver was a surprise to anyone meeting her for the first time. In her clingy dresses and dangling earrings she exuded a sexuality at odds with the innocence projected by the unicorn posters on her walls. While her embittered mother fretted about her welfare from her home in London, in Cambridge—where Elena was a student at St. Stephen's Coll...
Missing Joseph book cover
Book 6
Missing Joseph
Elizabeth George - 2008-04-15 (first published in 1993)
Goodreads Rating
Deborah and Simon St. James have taken a holiday in the winter landscape of Lancastershire, hoping to heal the growing rift in their marriage. But in the barren countryside awaits bleak news: The vicar of Wimslough, the man they had come to see, is dead—a victim of accidental poisoning. Unsatisfied with the inquest ruling and unsettled by the close...
Playing for the Ashes book cover
Book 7
Playing for the Ashes
Elizabeth George - 2008-05-06 (first published in 1994)
Goodreads Rating
"The story begins with my father, actually, and the fact that I'm the one who's answerable for his death.It was not my first crime, as you will see, but it is the one my mother couldn't forgive."In her astonishing New York Times bestseller, acclaimed author Elizabeth George reveals the even darker truth behind this startling confession. Playing for...
In the Presence of the Enemy book cover
Book 8
In the Presence of the Enemy
Elizabeth George - 2008-05-06 (first published in 1996)
Goodreads Rating
Hailed as the "king of sleaze," tabloid editor Dennis Luxford is used to ferreting out the sins and scandals of people in exposed positions. But when he opens an innocuous-looking letter addressed to him at The Source, he discovers that someone else excels at ferreting out secrets as well.Ten-year-old Charlotte Bowen has been abducted, and if Luxfo...
Deception on His Mind book cover
Book 9
Deception on His Mind
Elizabeth George - 2009-03-20 (first published in 1997)
Goodreads Rating
Balford-le-Nez is a dying seatown on the coast of Essex. But when a member of the town's small but growing Asian community, is found dead on its beach, his neck broken, sleepy Balford-le-Nez ignites. Working solo, without her long-time partner Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley, Sergeant Barbara Havers must probe not only the mind of a murderer and ...
A Traitor to Memory by Elizabeth George
A Place of Hiding by Elizabeth George
With No One as Witness by Elizabeth George
What Came Before He Shot Her by Elizabeth George
Careless in Red by Elizabeth George
This Body of Death by Elizabeth George
Believing the Lie by Elizabeth George
Just One Evil Act by Elizabeth George
A Banquet of Consequences by Elizabeth George
The Punishment She Deserves by Elizabeth George
How to Hide an Empire by Daniel Immerwahr
Something to Hide by Elizabeth George