Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign in
Book SeriesJoe Pickett

Joe Pickett Series

Joe Pickett books in order

Joe Pickett is a Wyoming game warden.
Savage Run book cover
Open Season book cover
Winterkill book cover
22 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Open Season book cover
Book 1
Open Season
C. J. Box - 2001-05-07
Goodreads Rating
A game warden in Twelve Sleep, Wyoming investigates a local outfitter's murder, which leads him to discover an endangered species living in his own backyard. But if the existence of the species gets out, it could derail a multi-billion dollar natural gas company's plans to build an oil pipeline. Joe Pickett must navigate a dangerous web of corruption in order to uncover the truth and protect his loved ones.
Savage Run book cover
Book 2
Savage Run
C. J. Box - 2003-05-06 (first published in 2002)
Goodreads Rating
A Wyoming game warden investigates the suspicious death of an environmental activist after a massive explosion rocks Twelve Sleep County. However, the case may not be as straightforward as it seems, and Joe Pickett soon discovers a dangerous conspiracy that threatens not only his life, but also his values. This explosive novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling series is a thrilling page-turner that will leave readers on the edge of their seats.
Winterkill book cover
Book 3
C. J. Box - 2004-06-29 (first published in 2003)
Goodreads Rating
A suspenseful thriller set in the bitter winter wilderness, Winterkill follows Joe Pickett as he navigates a dangerous game of cat and mouse with a killer lurking in the dense forest. With Lamar Gardiner's arrow-riddled corpse as a chilling warning, Joe must fight to survive the storm and outsmart the killer before it's too late.
Trophy Hunt book cover
Book 4
Trophy Hunt
C. J. Box - 2005-04-05 (first published in 2004)
Goodreads Rating
A game warden in Wyoming discovers a mutilated moose, and later finds that a killer is on the loose. The clean cuts on the animals suggest that the murders are the work of a human, and local authorities seem unwilling to investigate. As the body count rises, the warden must race to catch the killer before he strikes again.
Out of Range book cover
Book 5
Out of Range
C. J. Box - 2006-05-02 (first published in 2005)
Goodreads Rating
Follow game warden Joe Pickett as he investigates the sudden death of his friend, fellow game warden Will Jensen, in the elite playground of Jackson, Wyoming. Pickett is quickly thrown into a world of greed, power, and murder, as he navigates environmental extremists and the rich and powerful. As he gets closer to the truth, Pickett realizes he may become the next victim. "Out of Range" is a gripping and suspenseful mystery novel from best-selling author C.J. Box.
In Plain Sight book cover
Book 6
In Plain Sight
C. J. Box - 2006-01-01
Goodreads Rating
This thrilling novel follows the investigation of wealthy matriarch Opal Scarlett's disappearance by Joe Pickett, who suspects her greedy sons. As Joe becomes the target of violent pranks, he uncovers a connection to his own past. A must-read from #1 bestselling author C.J. Box.
Free Fire book cover
Book 7
Free Fire
C. J. Box - 2007-05-10
Goodreads Rating
Follow game warden Joe Pickett as he investigates a brutal mass killing in a remote corner of Yellowstone National Park. With no residents or jurisdiction, the area is a free-fire zone where one can literally get away with murder. Joe is hired to uncover the motive behind the massacre and risks his life to uncover a dangerous secret buried deep in the rugged terrain. A thrilling novel from the #1 "New York Times" bestselling author C.J. Box.
Blood Trail book cover
Book 8
Blood Trail
C. J. Box - 2008-05-20
Goodreads Rating
In this gripping thriller, a man is found dead in the woods, treated like an animal he hunted, and it's up to Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett to catch the killer. But as he delves deeper, he wonders if he's chasing a lone psychopath or a wider anti-hunting agenda. From #1 New York Times best-selling author C.J. Box, Blood Trail will keep you on the edge of your seat.
Below Zero book cover
Book 9
Below Zero
C. J. Box - 2009-06-16
Goodreads Rating
A gritty and suspenseful thriller, Below Zero follows Joe Pickett as he investigates mysterious phone calls claiming to be from his murdered foster daughter. With each call leading him to environmental crime scenes, the stakes get higher as the danger grows. Don't miss this page-turning novel from bestselling author C.J. Box.
Nowhere to Run book cover
Book 10
Nowhere to Run
C. J. Box - 2010-04-06
Goodreads Rating
"Discover a thrilling novel about a temporary game warden investigating strange reports in the wilderness of Baggs, Wyoming. Tents slashed, camps looted, and elk butchered- what Joe Pickett uncovers is not just a spooky campfire story. Written by the best-selling author C.J. Box."
Cold Wind by C. J. Box
Force of Nature by C. J. Box
Breaking Point by C. J. Box
Stone Cold by C. J. Box
Endangered by C. J. Box
Off the Grid by C. J. Box
Vicious Circle by C. J. Box
The Disappeared by C. J. Box
Wolf Pack by C. J. Box
Long Range by C. J. Box
Dark Sky by C. J. Box
Shadows Reel by C. J. Box