Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Pendergast Series

Pendergast books in order

Aloysius X. L. Pendergast is an FBI agent. Praised as a “ruthless descendant of Holmes” (Publishers Weekly), Agent Pendergast has become one of crime fiction’s most endearing charactersBook # 2 (Reliquary) is the sequel of book # 1 (Relic)Books 5, 6 & 7 are part of the Diogenes trilogyBooks 10, 11 & 12 are part of the Helen's trilogyThe standalone …
Reliquary book cover
Relic book cover
The Cabinet of Curiosities book cover
20 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Relic book cover
Book 1
Douglas Preston - 1996-01-15 (first published in 1995)
Goodreads Rating
Just days before a massive exhibition opens at the popular New York Museum of Natural History, visitors are being savagely murdered in the museum's dark hallways and secret rooms. Autopsies indicate that the killer cannot be human...But the museum's directors plan to go ahead with a big bash to celebrate the new exhibition, in spite of the murders....
Reliquary book cover
Book 2
The Second Novel in the Pendergast Series
Douglas Preston - 2005-08-01 (first published in 1997)
Goodreads Rating
Hidden deep beneath Manhattan lies a warren of tunnels, sewers, and galleries, mostly forgotten by those who walk the streets above. There lies the ultimate secret of the Museum Beat. When two grotesquely deformed skeletons are found deep in the mud off the Manhattan shoreline, museum curator Margo Green is called in to aid the investigation. Margo...
The Cabinet of Curiosities book cover
Book 3
The Cabinet of Curiosities
Douglas Preston - 2002-06-03
Goodreads Rating
In downtown Manhattan, a gruesome discovery has just been made-an underground charnel house containing the bones of dozens of murder victims. Research reveals that a serial killer was at work in New York's notorious Five Points neighborhood in the 1880s, bent on prolonging his lifespan by any means. When a newspaper story on the old murders appears...
Still Life with Crows book cover
Book 4
Still Life with Crows
Douglas Preston - 2003-07-01
Goodreads Rating
A small Kansas town has turned into a killing ground.Is it a serial killer, a man with the need to destroy?Or is it a darker force, a curse upon the land?Amid golden cornfields, FBI Special Agent Pendergast discovers evil in the blood of America's heartland.No one is safe. A small Kansas town has turned into a killing ground.Is it a serial killer, ...
Brimstone book cover
Book 5
Douglas Preston - 2004-08-01
Goodreads Rating
A body is found in the attic of a fabulous Long Island estate.There is a claw print scorched into the wall, and the stench of sulfur chokes the air.When FBI Special Agent Pendergast investigates the gruesome crime, he discovers that thirty years ago four men conjured something unspeakable.Has the devil come to claim his due?Some things can't be und...
Dance of Death book cover
Book 6
Dance of Death
Douglas Preston - 2005-06-01
Goodreads Rating
FBI Special Agent Pendergast lives! Following the New York Times bestselling Brimstone like a one-two punch, Dance of Death pits Pendergast against his most personal foe yet -- his brother Diogenes. Praised as a "ruthless descendant of Holmes" (Publishers Weekly), Agent Pendergast has become one of crime fiction's most endearing characters. His gre...
The Book of the Dead book cover
Book 7
The Book of the Dead
Douglas Preston - 2006-05-30
Goodreads Rating
An FBI agent, rotting away in a high-security prison for a murder he did not commit...His brilliant, psychotic brother, about to perpetrate a horrific crime...A young woman with an extrodinary past, on th edge of a violent breakdown...An ancient Egyptian tomb with an enigmatic curse, about to be unveiled at a celebrity-studded New York gala...Memen...
The Wheel of Darkness book cover
Book 8
The Wheel of Darkness
Douglas Preston - 2007-08-28
Goodreads Rating
A luxury ocean liner on its maiden voyage across the North Atlantic, awash in wealth and decadence...An ancient Tibetan box, its contents unknown, sealed with a terrifying warning...An FBI agent destined to confront what he fears most--himself......
Cemetery Dance book cover
Book 9
Cemetery Dance
Douglas Preston - 2009-04-21
Goodreads Rating
Pendergast-the world's most enigmatic FBI Special Agent-returns to New York City to investigate a murderous cult.William Smithback Jr., a prominent New York Times reporter, was killed in a brutal attack in his Upper West Side apartment. His wife, Nora Kelly, an archeologist at the Museum of Natural History, was injured as well. Multiple eyewitness ...
Fever Dream book cover
Book 10
Fever Dream
Lincoln Child - 2010-04-30
Goodreads Rating
Yesterday, Special Agent Pendergast still mourned the loss of his beloved wife, Helen, who died in a tragic accident in Africa twelve years ago.Today, he discovers she was murdered.Tomorrow, he will learn her most guarded secrets, leaving him to wonder: Who was the woman I married? Why was she murdered? And, above all . . . Who murdered her?FEVER D...
Cold Vengeance book cover
Cold Vengeance
Douglas Preston - 2011-08-02
Two Graves by Douglas Preston
White Fire by Douglas Preston
Blue Labyrinth by Douglas Preston
Crimson Shore by Douglas Preston
The Obsidian Chamber by Douglas Preston
City of Endless Night by Douglas Preston
Verses for the Dead by Douglas Preston
Crooked River by Douglas Preston
Bloodless by Douglas Preston