Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign in
Book SeriesShetland Island

Shetland Island Series

Shetland Island books in order

Ann Cleeves' Shetland Island Mystery series is set in the most northerly community in the UK. The islands are closer to Norway than to Edinburgh and in their bleak beauty they have much in common with Scandinavia. Her books feature Detective Inspector Jimmy Perez, who grew up in remote Fair Isle, and the mysteries are quiet, intense, and give an in…
White Nights book cover
Raven Black book cover
Red Bones book cover
8 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Raven Black book cover
Book 1
Raven Black
Book One of the Shetland Island Mysteries (Shetland Island Mysteries (1))
Ann Cleeves - 2007-05-29 (first published in 2006)
Goodreads Rating
In this award-winning mystery novel, a teenage girl is found murdered on the Shetland Islands, and suspicion falls on a lonely outcast named Magnus Tait. Inspector Jimmy Perez delves deep into the island's past to uncover the truth in a suspenseful, atmospheric story that will keep you hooked.
White Nights book cover
Book 2
White Nights
A Thriller (Shetland Book 2)
Ann Cleeves - 2008-09-16
Goodreads Rating
Amidst the white nights of the Shetland Islands, Detective Jimmy Perez investigates the murders of a mysterious Englishman and a musician, both linked to artist Bella Sinclair's gallery opening. As day and night blur together, Perez's relationships and judgment come into question in this captivating sequel to crime fiction's Duncan Lawrie Dagger Award winner, Raven Black. The second installment of the Shetland Island Quartet is a must-read for fans of Ann Cleeves and international crime fiction.
Red Bones book cover
Book 3
Red Bones
A Thriller (Shetland Book 3)
Ann Cleeves - 2009-02-20
Goodreads Rating
Uncover the secrets of an isolated island community shrouded in mystery with Red Bones. When a young archaeologist discovers human remains, Shetland detective Jimmy Perez is brought in to investigate. As he delves into the past of the tight-knit islanders, he uncovers feuding families and long-buried secrets that could lead to more deaths. With the island enshrouded in mist, Jimmy must use all his skills to stop a new killer from striking again.
Blue Lightning book cover
Book 4
Blue Lightning
Ann Cleeves - 2010-01-01
Goodreads Rating
This gripping murder mystery takes place on Scotland's remote Fair Isle, where Detective Inspector Jimmy Perez must solve a brutal crime in the midst of a raging storm that leaves the island isolated. With suspicion and distrust toward outsiders, Jimmy must use his skills and quick thinking to catch the killer before they strike again. This fourth book in Ann Cleeves' acclaimed Shetland series is not to be missed.
Dead Water book cover
Book 5
Dead Water
A Shetland Mystery
Ann Cleeves - 2013-01-31
Goodreads Rating
A journalist's body is found on the Shetland Islands, and Detective Inspector Willow Reeves is called in to investigate. Local detective Jimmy Perez offers his expertise to help solve the case, which involves a scandal and a story that many residents wish to keep buried. Ann Cleeves delivers another triumph in her Shetland series, solidifying her place as one of Britain's top crime writers.
Thin Air book cover
Book 6
Thin Air
A Shetland Mystery
Ann Cleeves - 2014-09-01
Goodreads Rating
A group of old friends travels to a remote island in Shetland to celebrate a marriage, but when one of them disappears into thin air, detectives Jimmy Perez and Willow Reeves are called to investigate. Eleanor's interest in a local ghost legend seemed unhealthy to her friends, but the detectives suspect there may be more to her sudden death. Is there a secret behind the myth, and could it be worth killing for?
Cold Earth book cover
Book 7
Cold Earth
A Shetland Mystery (Shetland Island Mysteries Book 7)
Ann Cleeves - 2017-01-01 (first published in 2016)
Goodreads Rating
A dark winter in Shetland brings a torrent of rain that triggers a landslide, uncovering a body in the wreckage of a croft house. Detective Jimmy Perez becomes obsessed with uncovering the identity of the mysterious woman wearing a red silk dress, who he believes shares his Mediterranean ancestry. But as he investigates, he realizes that she was already dead before the landslide hit. Join Perez on his quest to uncover the truth behind the woman's death in this gripping mystery novel.
Wild Fire book cover
Book 8
Wild Fire
A Shetland Island Mystery (Shetland Island Mysteries (8))
Ann Cleeves - 2018-09-04
Goodreads Rating
Amidst the Shetland islands, a family moves seeking a fresh start, but their hopes are shattered when a young nanny's body is found hanging in the barn. The community is quick to accuse the husband of having an affair with the nanny. Detective Inspector Jimmy Perez is called in to investigate and confronts his complex relationship with his boss. As families fracture and secrets emerge, Jimmy faces the most disturbing case of his career.