Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign in
Book SeriesThe Walking Dead

The Walking Dead Series

The Walking Dead books in order

From the mind of Robert Kirkman, the legendary comic book auteur and creator of The Walking Dead, comes a new series of all-original novels steeped in the terrifying mythos of the Eisner Award winning comic. Co-written with bestselling novelist and Stoker Award finalist Jay Bonansinga, the books thrust readers right into the middle of the greatest …
The Road to Woodbury book cover
Rise of the Governor book cover
The Fall of the Governor book cover
8 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Rise of the Governor book cover
Book 1
Rise of the Governor
Rise of the Governor (The Walking Dead Series Book 1)
Robert Kirkman - 2011-10-11
Goodreads Rating
This pulse-pounding trilogy, set in the world of The Walking Dead, delves into the backstory of the iconic villain The Governor. With fast-paced action and in-depth character development reminiscent of the TV series and comic books, this standalone trilogy is perfect for fans of zombies and post-apocalyptic storytelling. Discover the lengths some men will go to survive, and the twisted sense of justice that drives the man known as The Governor.
The Road to Woodbury book cover
Book 2
The Road to Woodbury
The Road to Woodbury (The Walking Dead Series Book 2)
Robert Kirkman - 2012-10-16
Goodreads Rating
This thrilling sequel delves deeper into the ruthless and inhuman conquest of Woodbury by the Governor. Caught in the zombie plague, Lilly Caul seeks refuge in the walled-in town of Woodbury, which seems like a perfect sanctuary at first. But Lilly begins to suspect that all is not as it seems, as the self-proclaimed leader, Philip Blake, has disturbing ideas about law and order. In a Pandora's box of mayhem and destruction, Lilly and a band of rebels challenge The Governor's reign, making the road to Woodbury a highway to hell.
The Fall of the Governor book cover
Book 3
The Fall of the Governor
The Fall of the Governor
Robert Kirkman - 2013-10-08 (first published in 2012)
Goodreads Rating
A terrifying zombie apocalypse comes to life in The Walking Dead: The Fall of the Governor – Part One. This gripping novel features beloved comic book characters as they face the ultimate battle between good and evil. Executive producer of AMC's hit TV series, Robert Kirkman, and acclaimed author Jay Bonansinga bring readers a tour de force of action and horror in this third installment of the New York Times bestselling series. Will the innocent survive as battle lines are drawn and unexpected twists seal fates? Find out in The Fall of the Governor – Part One.
The Fall of the Governor book cover
Book 4
The Fall of the Governor
The Fall of the Governor
Robert Kirkman - 2014-03-04
Goodreads Rating
This epic finale to The Walking Dead novel series brings the dark journey of uber-villain Philip Blake to a shocking and heartrending conclusion. Co-authors Robert Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga converge all the plot lines from the previous three novels into a rollercoaster finale full of unthinkable mayhem and stunning twists. Don't miss this shattering conclusion to the ambitious chronicle of human survival amid the plague of undead.
Descent book cover
Book 5
Descent (The Walking Dead Series, 5)
Jay Bonansinga - 2014-10-14
Goodreads Rating
After the Governor's death, Lily Caul takes on the task of rebuilding Woodbury into a safe haven amidst the zombie apocalypse. But a massive herd of walkers threatens their sanctuary, and joining forces with a mysterious religious sect may not be what it seems. As Lily uncovers their dark secret, she must fight to cleanse the town of its poisonous fate. This thrilling sequel to The Fall of the Governor is a must-read for fans of Robert Kirkman's The Walking Dead series.
Invasion book cover
Book 6
Invasion (The Walking Dead Series, 6)
Jay Bonansinga - 2015-10-06
Goodreads Rating
Survivors in a post-apocalyptic Georgia form two opposing camps, with Lilly Caul leading a group of senior citizens, misfits, and children in the underground tunnels. However, Lilly's secret ambition to reclaim Woodbury from the walkers is met with a diabolical weapon from the psychotic Reverend Jeremiah Garlitz, who seeks revenge on Lilly and her crew. The explosive and bloody confrontation between these human factions is fueled by an unthinkable weapon made from the undead, created by a madman.
Search and Destroy book cover
Book 7
Search and Destroy
Search and Destroy (The Walking Dead Series)
Jay Bonansinga - 2016-10-18
Goodreads Rating
Survivors gather to refurbish the railroad between Woodbury and Atlanta, hoping to rebuild democracy and progress. But while they're away, a brutal faction attacks Woodbury, murdering adults and kidnapping children. Lilly Caul and her team embark on a perilous mission to rescue the kids, facing not only the undead but also deadly human foes. A gripping post-apocalyptic journey into a terrifying new world that proves the walkers are not the only enemy.
Return to Woodbury book cover
Book 8
Return to Woodbury
Return to Woodbury (The Walking Dead Series, 8)
Jay Bonansinga - 2017-10-17
Goodreads Rating
Surviving four years of the apocalypse, Lilly Caul has staked claim in Atlanta, building a safe haven for her people. But something is missing - her former home of Woodbury. Fueled by a powerful call, Lilly risks everything to return to this symbol of hope for a return to normal life. Against all odds, she leads her group back through walker swarms, flooded rivers, and psychotic murderers, discovering a dark truth about herself along the way. Don't miss the latest novel in the New York Times bestselling Walking Dead series.