Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign In
SeriesAn Ember in the Ashes

An Ember in the Ashes Series

An Ember in the Ashes books in order

A Torch Against the Night book cover
An Ember in the Ashes book cover
A Reaper at the Gates book cover
4 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
An Ember in the Ashes book cover
Book 1
An Ember in the Ashes
Sabaa Tahir - 2016-02-09 (first published in 2015)
Goodreads Rating
In a world inspired by ancient Rome, Laia is a slave living in poverty with her family. When her brother is arrested for treason, she agrees to spy for rebels in exchange for help. At the military academy, she meets Elias, a soldier being trained to enforce the empire's tyranny. As their destinies become intertwined, they must make choices that will change the fate of the Empire itself.
A Torch Against the Night book cover
Book 2
A Torch Against the Night
Sabaa Tahir - 2016-08-30
Goodreads Rating
Two fugitives undertake a perilous journey through the heart of an oppressive empire, fighting every step of the way against human and otherworldly forces. Laia is willing to risk everything to save her brother, even breaking into the Empire’s most secure prison. Meanwhile, Elias faces his own difficult choice: help Laia, or take his last chance at freedom. Along the way, they must outsmart sadistic wardens and former friends as they evade death at every turn.
A Reaper at the Gates book cover
Book 3
A Reaper at the Gates
Sabaa Tahir - 2018-06-12
Goodreads Rating
War threatens the Empire from within and beyond its borders. Helene Aquilla, the Blood Shrike, is under attack and Emperor Marcus grows increasingly unstable. Laia of Serra hopes to stop the Nightbringer, but unexpected threats arise. Meanwhile, Elias Veturius has forfeited his freedom to serve as Soul Catcher. In this highly anticipated third book of the Ember Quartet, the fate of all those in the Empire hangs in the balance.
A ​Sky Beyond the Storm book cover
Book 4
A ​Sky Beyond the Storm
Sabaa Tahir - 2021-08-01 (first published in 2020)
Goodreads Rating
In the upcoming finale of a beloved fantasy series, the long-imprisoned jinn are wreaking havoc and the Nightbringer seeks vengeance. With the Commandant calling for heads and the Blood Shrike allied with Laia of Serra, they must ally to prevent the approaching apocalypse. But will their efforts awaken an ancient power that could lead to victory or an unimaginable doom? Meanwhile, the Soul Catcher must protect the human world from the supernatural, even if it means embarking on a mission that could destroy everything he knows.