Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In
SeriesBess Crawford

Bess Crawford Series

Bess Crawford books in order

Brought up in India, where she was taught values of duty, honor and integrity by her officer father, Bess Crawford has signed up for service as a British nurse, in France. She tends diligently to the many wounded of the first world war. Her interest, however, is always piqued by a mystery, and she feels compelled to find all the answers, leading to this character’s secondary vocation as an amateur sleuth. Doing the right thing is important to Bess Crawford, and she always strives to follow the moral code bequeathed to her by her upstanding soldier Father a colonel Major in the British Army. This sense of duty and morality has drawn her into some tricky and even dangerous situations.
14 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Book 1
A Duty to the Dead
Charles Todd - Aug 17, 2010
Goodreads Rating
A Duty to the Dead introduces readers to an unforgettable new protagonist in an exceptional new series: Bess Crawford, a courageous World War I nurse and determined investigator. Once again the New York Times bestselling author brilliantly evokes post-Great War Europe, casting an indomitable heroine into a simmering cauldron of village secrets, fam...
Book 2
An Impartial Witness
A Bess Crawford Mystery (Bess Crawford Mysteries)
Charles Todd - Aug 16, 2011
Goodreads Rating
It is early summer 1917. Bess Crawford has returned to England from the trenches of France with a convoy of severely wounded men. One of her patients is a young pilot who has been burned beyond recognition, and who clings to life and the photo of his wife pinned to his tunic.While passing through a London train station, Bess notices a woman bidding...
Book 3
A Bitter Truth
A Bess Crawford Mystery (Bess Crawford Mysteries)
Charles Todd - May 01, 2012
Goodreads Rating
World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford is featured for a third time in ...
Book 4
An Unmarked Grave
A Bess Crawford Mystery (Bess Crawford Mysteries Book 4)
Charles Todd - Jun 05, 2012
Goodreads Rating
“A wonderful new mystery series that will let us see the horrors of World War I through the eyes of Bess Crawford, battlefield nurse.”—Margaret Maron“Readers who can’t get enough of Jacqueline Winspear’s novels, or Hester Latterly, who saw action in the Crimean War in a series of novels by Anne Perry, are bound to be caught up in the adventures of ...
Book 5
The Walnut Tree
A Holiday Tale
Charles Todd - Oct 15, 2013 (first published in 2012)
Goodreads Rating
"You're going to love Todd."--Stephen King, Entertainment WeeklyThe critically acclaimed creator of the Inspector Ian Rutledge and battlefield nurse Bess Crawford mystery series, Charles Todd now offers readers a bittersweet love story and romantic mystery that unfolds at Christmas during the dangerous opening days of World War I. The Walnut Tree i...
Book 5
A Question of Honor
Charles Todd - Jun 10, 2014
Goodreads Rating
In the latest mystery from New York Times bestselling author Charles Todd, World War I nurse and amateur sleuth Bess Crawford investigates an old murder that occurred during her childhood in India, and begins a search for the truth that will transform her and leave her pondering a troubling question: How can facts lie?In 1908, when a young Bess Cra...
Book 6
An Unwilling Accomplice
A Bess Crawford Mystery (Bess Crawford Mysteries Book 6)
Charles Todd - Aug 12, 2014
Goodreads Rating
World War I Battlefield nurse Bess Crawford’s career is in jeopardy when a murder is committed on her watch, in this absorbing and atmospheric historical mystery from New York Times bestselling author Charles ToddHome on leave, Bess Crawford is asked to accompany a wounded soldier confined to a wheelchair to Buckingham Palace, where he’s to be deco...
Book 7
A Pattern of Lies
A Bess Crawford Mystery (Bess Crawford Mysteries Book 7)
Charles Todd - Aug 18, 2015
Goodreads Rating
Librarian's note: An alternate cover edition can be found hereA horrific explosion at a gunpowder mill sends Bess Crawford to war-torn France to keep a deadly pattern of lies from leading to more deaths, in this compelling and atmospheric mystery from the New York Times bestselling author of A Question of Honor and An Unwilling AccompliceAn explosi...
Book 8
The Shattered Tree
A Bess Crawford Mystery (Bess Crawford Mysteries Book 8)
Charles Todd - Aug 30, 2016
Goodreads Rating
World War I battlefield nurse Bess Crawford goes to dangerous lengths to investigate a wounded soldier’s background—and uncover his true loyalties.At the foot of a tree shattered by shelling and gunfire, stretcher-bearers find an exhausted officer, shivering with cold and a loss of blood from several wounds. The soldier is brought to battlefield nu...
Book 9
A Casualty of War
A Bess Crawford Mystery (Bess Crawford Mysteries Book 9)
Charles Todd - Sep 26, 2017
Goodreads Rating
From New York Times bestselling author Charles Todd comes a haunting tale that explores the impact of World War I on all who witnessed it—officers, soldiers, doctors, and battlefield nurses like Bess Crawford.Though the Great War is nearing its end, the fighting rages on. While waiting for transport back to her post, Bess Crawford meets Captain Ala...
Book 10
Anne of Green Gables
L. M. Montgomery - May 16, 2020 (first published in 1921)
Goodreads Rating
Favorites for nearly 100 years, these classic novels follow the adventures of the spirited redhead Anne Shirley, who comes to stay at Green Gables and wins the hearts of everyone she meets.Includes Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne of Windy Poplars, Anne's House of Dreams, Anne of Ingleside, Rainbow Valley and Rilla of...
A Forgotten Place by Charles Todd
A Cruel Deception by Charles Todd
An Irish Hostage by Charles Todd