Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In
SeriesInspector Ian Rutledge

Inspector Ian Rutledge Series

Inspector Ian Rutledge books in order

Inspector Ian Rutledge returned from serving in World War I burdened with a heavy secret: he is suffering from shell shock. The series is set in England in 1919.
Wings of Fire book cover
A Test of Wills book cover
Search The Dark book cover
24 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
A Test of Wills book cover
Book 1
A Test of Wills
The First Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery (Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries)
Charles Todd - 2011-08-16 (first published in 1994)
Goodreads Rating
In 1919, Scotland Yard Inspector Ian Rutledge remains haunted by World War I, where he was forced to have a soldier executed for refusing to fight. When Rutledge is assigned to investigate a murder involving the military, his emotional war wounds flare. It is a case that strikes dangerously close to home--one that will test Rutledge's precarious gr...
Wings of Fire book cover
Book 2
Wings of Fire
An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery (Ian Rutledge Mysteries (2))
Charles Todd - 1999-05-15 (first published in 1998)
Goodreads Rating
Rich with atmosphere, luminous period detail, and human complexity, this second brilliant mystery from the author of A Test of Wills—a New York Times Notable Book of the Year, a Publishers Weekly Best Mystery, and Edgar Award nominee—marks the return of Inspector Ian Rutledge, “a dogged and insightful character whose psychological landscape and con...
Search The Dark book cover
Book 3
Search The Dark
An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery
Charles Todd - 2010-04-01 (first published in 1999)
Goodreads Rating
The introspective hero of Wings of Fire and A Test of Wills (Edgar Award nominee) returns in Search the Dark, a provocative new mystery by Charles Todd. Inspector Ian Rutledge, haunted by memories of World War I and the harrowing presence of Hamish, a dead soldier, is "a superb characterization of a man whose wounds have made him a stranger in his ...
Legacy Of The Dead book cover
Book 4
Legacy Of The Dead
Charles Todd - 2007-12-18 (first published in 2000)
Goodreads Rating
The weathered remains found on a Scottish mountainside may be those of Eleanor Gray, but the imperious Lady Maude Gray, Eleanor's mother, will have to be handled delicately. This is not the only ground that Inspector Ian Rutledge of Scotland Yard must tread carefully, for the case will soon lead him to Scotland, where many of Rutledge's ghosts rest...
Watchers Of Time book cover
Book 5
Watchers Of Time
An Inspector Ian Rutledge Novel
Charles Todd - 2007-12-18 (first published in 2001)
Goodreads Rating
In his latest novel, bestselling author Charles Todd brings his classic mystery series to a new level of intensity and intrigue. The year is 1919, and Ian Rutledge is a fragile yet courageous former soldier searching for his place in a postwar world. Now a Scotland Yard investigator, Rutledge is called upon to probe a small-town murder — and discov...
A Fearsome Doubt book cover
Book 6
A Fearsome Doubt
Charles Todd - 2002-10-01
Goodreads Rating
Bestselling author Charles Todd has earned a special place among mystery’s elite writers with his acclaimed series featuring Scotland Yard Inspector Ian Rutledge, a former soldier seeking to lay to rest the demons of his past in the aftermath of World War I. But that past bleeds into the present in a complex murder case that calls into question his...
A Cold Treachery book cover
Book 7
A Cold Treachery
Charles Todd - 2005-01-25
Goodreads Rating
Charles Todd returns to the world of Scotland Yard’s Inspector Ian Rutledge in a series that the New York Times Book Review called “harrowing psychological drama” and the Washington Post Book World hailed as “among the most intelligent and affecting being written these days.” This time the embattled Inspector has met his match hunting a brutal kill...
A Long Shadow book cover
Book 8
A Long Shadow
An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery
Charles Todd - 2009-10-06 (first published in 2006)
Goodreads Rating
"New Year's Eve, 1919. Scotland Yard's Inspector Ian Rutledge has accompanied his sister to the home of mutual friends for dinner but is called away by work. On the steps outside, he finds a brass cartridge casing that is seemingly identical to the countless others he'd seen during the war he still cannot forget. But this one has an engraving in th...
A False Mirror book cover
Book 9
A False Mirror
An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery
Charles Todd - 2009-10-13 (first published in 2007)
Goodreads Rating
Rutledge is called on to prove the innocence of a man he dislikes and distrusts. But the deadly triangle also stirs up memories of the woman he himself loved and lost when he went to France to fight.Hampton Regis, a small harbor town on the southern coast of England, is a most unlikely place for violence. Yet, one early spring morning in 1920, a ma...
A Pale Horse book cover
Book 10
A Pale Horse
A Novel of Suspense (Inspector Ian Rutledge Book 10)
Charles Todd - 2009-03-17 (first published in 2007)
Goodreads Rating
In the ruins of Yorkshire's Fountains Abbey lies the body of a man wrapped in a cloak, the face covered by a gas mask. Next to him is a book on alchemy, which belongs to the schoolmaster, a conscientious objector in the Great War. Who is this man, and is the investigation into his death being manipulated by a thirst for revenge?Meanwhile, the Briti...
A Matter Of Justice book cover
A Matter Of Justice
Charles Todd - 2008-12-24
The Red Door by Charles Todd
A Lonely Death by Charles Todd
The Confession by Charles Todd
Proof of Guilt by Charles Todd
Hunting Shadows by Charles Todd
A Fine Summer's Day by Charles Todd
No Shred of Evidence by Charles Todd
Winterdance by Gary Paulsen
The Gate Keeper by Charles Todd
The Black Ascot by Charles Todd
A Divided Loyalty by Charles Todd
A Fatal Lie by Charles Todd
A Game of Fear by Charles Todd