Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign in
Book SeriesSherlock Holmes

Sherlock Holmes Series

Sherlock Holmes books in order

Sherlock Holmes is a fictional consulting detective in London ~1880-1914 created by Scottish author and physician Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Holmes, master of disguise, reasoned logically to deduce clients' background from their first appearance. He used fingerprints, chemical analysis, and forensic science.
The Sign of Four book cover
A Study in Scarlet book cover
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes book cover
9 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
A Study in Scarlet book cover
Book 1
A Study in Scarlet
Arthur Conan Doyle - 2005-01-01 (first published in 1887)
Goodreads Rating
Experience the first thrilling tale of the iconic literary detective, Sherlock Holmes, in "A Study in Scarlet." Follow Dr. Watson's new life in London where he becomes roommates with the enigmatic Holmes at 221 B Baker Street. Together, they investigate a sensational murder at Lauriston Gardens, where Holmes' exceptional deductive abilities take center stage. Immerse yourself in the brilliant mind of Sherlock Holmes and his first adventure that established him as one of the great detectives in literature.
The Sign of Four book cover
Book 2
The Sign of Four
Arthur Conan Doyle - 2001-07-05 (first published in 1890)
Goodreads Rating
This mystery novel follows Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson as they aid a young woman whose father vanished ten years prior. When she begins to receive annual gifts of pearls, she receives an invitation to meet her benefactor and asks for Holmes and Watson's help. In the investigation that follows, they encounter Indian treasure, a wooden-legged criminal, a loyal dog, and even a love story. With a dense fog looming over London and a sense of melancholy lingering over Holmes, the thrilling twists and turns of the case make for an engaging read.
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes book cover
Book 3
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
Arthur Conan Doyle - 1998-10-22 (first published in 1892)
Goodreads Rating
Solve captivating crimes with the iconic duo, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson, in this collection of three thrilling mystery stories. Follow the twists and turns as the detectives search for suspects in The Adventure of the Empty House, The Adventure of the Devil's Foot, and The Adventure of the Abbey Grange. Arthur Conan Doyle brings his masterful storytelling to life in this page-turning classic.
The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes book cover
Book 4
The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes
Arthur Conan Doyle - 1993-10-28 (first published in 1893)
Goodreads Rating
Examine the cunning and intellect of the world's greatest detective in this classic collection of short stories. Follow Sherlock Holmes' adventures as he solves mysteries involving stolen horses, suspicious spouses, and tense political negotiations. But as he races to crack each cleverly crafted case, Holmes discovers he may have finally met his match in the thrilling final tale.
The Hound of the Baskervilles book cover
Book 5
The Hound of the Baskervilles
Arthur Conan Doyle - 2001-07-01 (first published in 1901)
Goodreads Rating
Enter the eerie moors of Devon where a supernatural creature haunts the Baskerville family. When Sir Charles Baskerville dies suddenly, Dr. Mortimer believes it to be the work of a vicious hound with blazing eyes and jaws. To protect Charles' heir, Sir Henry, from the same fate, Sherlock Holmes is called upon to investigate the Baskerville curse, a legacy of death and mayhem that has plagued the family for centuries. Will Holmes be able to uncover the truth before it's too late?
The Return of Sherlock Holmes book cover
Book 6
The Return of Sherlock Holmes
Arthur Conan Doyle - 1993-10-28 (first published in 1905)
Goodreads Rating
Get ready to embark on a thrilling ride filled with mystery and deduction as Sherlock Holmes returns from the dead to save London from a vicious murderer armed with an air gun. Join Dr. Watson in thirteen riveting tales of investigation, where Holmes unravels the secrets behind the Norwood Builder, the Dancing Men, and the Six Napoleons. This book is an absolute must-read for fans of classic detective fiction.
The Valley of Fear book cover
Book 7
The Valley of Fear
Arthur Conan Doyle - 2007-04-30 (first published in 1915)
Goodreads Rating
In this classic mystery novel, Sherlock Holmes and his friend investigate a murder or suicide at a country manor. Suspecting a secret society, they embark on a dangerous infiltration. From the iconic author Arthur Conan Doyle, this thrilling tale is a must-read for fans of crime fiction.
His Last Bow book cover
Book 8
His Last Bow
Arthur Conan Doyle - 2006-12-18 (first published in 1917)
Goodreads Rating
This collection of detective stories includes 'His Last Bow', where Sherlock Holmes is brought out of retirement to help the Government fight the German threat at the approach of the First World War. Other stories include earlier cases, such as 'Wisteria Lodge', 'The Bruce-Partington Plans', and 'The Disappearance of Lady Frances Carfax', as well as 'The Dying Detective', where Watson must save his friend from a mysterious tropical disease.
The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes book cover
Book 9
The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes
Arthur Conan Doyle - 2004-01-01 (first published in 1927)
Goodreads Rating
The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes is a collection of twelve thrilling mysteries that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Join the intrepid detective and his loyal companion Dr Watson as they examine puzzling cases that baffle the police and provide the excitement of the chase. From the problems of Thor Bridge to the Sussex vampire, these mysteries will test the courage of Dr. Watson and the brilliant mind of Sherlock Holmes.
Recommended by
Deke Bridges