Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In
SeriesThe Old Kingdom

The Old Kingdom Series

The Old Kingdom books in order

Lirael book cover
Sabriel book cover
Abhorsen book cover
6 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Sabriel book cover
Book 1
Garth Nix - 2014-06-03 (first published in 1995)
Goodreads Rating
Sent to a boarding school in Ancelstierre as a young child, Sabriel has had little experience with the random power of Free Magic or the Dead who refuse to stay dead in the Old Kingdom. But during her final semester, her father, the Abhorsen, goes missing, and Sabriel knows she must enter the Old Kingdom to find him. With Sabriel, the first install...
Lirael book cover
Book 2
Daughter of the Clayr (The Abhorsen Trilogy)
Garth Nix - 2004-08-17 (first published in 2001)
Goodreads Rating
Lirael has never felt like a true daughter of the Clayr. Now, two years past the time when she should have received the Sight that is the Clayr's birthright, she feels alone, abandoned, unsure of who she is. Nevertheless, the fate of the Old Kingdom lies in her hands. With only her faithful companion, the Disreputable Dog, Lirael must undertake a d...
Abhorsen book cover
Book 3
Garth Nix - 2004-01-20 (first published in 2003)
Goodreads Rating
ORANNIS THE DESTROYER HAS BEEN FREEDAND ONLY LIRAEL, newly come into her inheritance as the Abhorsen-in-Waiting, has any chance of stopping it. She and her companions --- Sam, the Disreputable Dog, and Mogget --- have to take that chance. If Orannis's unspeakable powers are unleashed, it will mean the end of all Life. With the help of her companion...
Clariel book cover
Book 4
The Lost Abhorsen (Old Kingdom)
Garth Nix - 2016-08-02 (first published in 2014)
Goodreads Rating
Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic and is perfect for fans of Rae Carson, Kristin Cashore, Scott Westerfeld, and Cassandra Clare.Clariel is the da...
Goldenhand book cover
Book 5
Garth Nix - 2019-09-03 (first published in 2016)
Goodreads Rating
The long-awaited fifth installment in Garth Nix’s New York Times bestselling Old Kingdom series, for readers who enjoy series by Rae Carson, Kristin Cashore, Scott Westerfeld, and Cassandra Clare.Goldenhand takes place six months after the events of Abhorsen and follows the novella Nicholas Sayre and the Creature in the Case, which is featured in A...
Terciel and Elinor book cover
Book 6
Terciel and Elinor
Garth Nix - 2021-11-02
Goodreads Rating
Bestselling novelist Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom for the never-before-told love story of Sabriel’s parents, Tericel and Elinor, and the charter magic that brought them together—and threatened to tear them apart. A long-awaited prequel to a classic fantasy series.In the Old Kingdom, a land of ancient and often terrible magics, eighteen year...