Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign In
SeriesWars of Light and Shadow

Wars of Light and Shadow Series

Wars of Light and Shadow books in order

Series Information:The whole series is one epic story which is broken up into separate books. There are time jumps between the different Arcs, but each builds heavily on the story in previous books. This series by Janny Wurts, is subdivided into five Arcs.Arc I - The Curse of the Mistwraith forms its own Arc.Arc II - The Ships of MeriorArc III - Al…
The Ships of Merior book cover
The Curse of the Mistwraith book cover
Warhost of Vastmark book cover
10 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
The Curse of the Mistwraith book cover
Book 1
The Curse of the Mistwraith
Janny Wurts - 2009-05-01 (first published in 1993)
Goodreads Rating
Enter the misty world of Athera, ruled by the dark Mistwraith. Meet two half-brothers, Arithon and Lysaer, with opposing powers who must unite to challenge the Mistwraith's hold. But their deepest convictions dictate a pattern of events they can't escape. As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, the stakes are higher than ever for these two brothers.
The Ships of Merior book cover
Book 2
The Ships of Merior
Janny Wurts - 2009-06-01 (first published in 1994)
Goodreads Rating
In an epic fantasy series akin to The Dark Tower and Earthsea, The Ships of Merior is a compelling continuation of the complex conflict between brothers Arithon and Lysaer. Forced onto opposite sides after defeating the malevolent fog that consumed Athera, a curse compels them to seek each other's downfall. As Lysaer builds his army, Arithon must take to the seas to evade capture and strike back. This immersive novel delves deeper into the mystical world of Athera and is a must-read for fans of intelligent fantasy.
Warhost of Vastmark book cover
Book 3
Warhost of Vastmark
Janny Wurts - 2009-07-01 (first published in 1995)
Goodreads Rating
Explore Janny Wurts’ epic tale of two half-brothers cursed to life-long enmity in the thrilling third volume. Tricked by his wily half-brother Lysaer, Lord of Light, Arithon's ship yards have been destroyed and the Master of Shadow has disappeared. Meanwhile, Arithon and the Mad Prophet Dakar travel through treacherous mountains, raising a warhost to support their cause. But when Lysaer's wife is taken captive for a vast ransom, the forces of light and shadow draw ever closer to a huge conflict. Follow the Fellowship of Seven Sorcerers and the Koriani Enchantresses as they watch, plan, and wait for the epic battle to come.
Fugitive Prince book cover
Book 4
Fugitive Prince
First Book of The Alliance of Light (The Wars of Light and Shadow, Book 4)
Janny Wurts - 2009-09-01 (first published in 1997)
Goodreads Rating
This epic fantasy novel explores the perpetual conflict between two half-brothers cursed by a Mistwraith. Lysaer, Prince of the Light, seeks to free humanity from sorcerous oppression while Arithon, Master of Shadow, desires to restore peace. When enchantresses join forces with Lysaer, new intrigues disrupt Arithon's autonomy and set the stage for explosive war. The curse of the Mistwraith echoes eternal in this captivating read.
Grand Conspiracy book cover
Book 5
Grand Conspiracy
Second Book of The Alliance of Light (The Wars of Light and Shadow, Book 5)
Janny Wurts - 2007-11-05 (first published in 1999)
Goodreads Rating
A beloved high fantasy series celebrated for its intricate plot lines and beautifully descriptive language, Grand Conspiracy is the second installment in a three-part arc that makes up part two of a five-part epic. Follow Arithon's Ffalenn, an infamous Master of Shadow, and Elaira, his embattled lover coerced into playing a role in his betrayal, as they navigate through a complex web of conspiracies and treachery. A must-read for diehard fans of high fantasy.
Peril's Gate book cover
Book 6
Peril's Gate
Janny Wurts - 2007-11-05 (first published in 2001)
Goodreads Rating
In "Peril's Gate," two half-brothers cursed by fate, Arithon the Master of Shadow and Lysaer the Lord of Light, are inching toward a deadly confrontation that could leave one of them dead - and unleash the Mistwraith's darkness on their world. Arithon is being hunted across treacherous terrain by Lysaer and the Koriani Sisterhood, while ancient forces awaken and the Fellowship of Seven fight on multiple fronts. This fourth installment in Janny Wurts's epic fantasy series promises plenty of action and drama, with a stunning new cover design to match.
Traitor's Knot book cover
Book 7
Traitor's Knot
Fourth Book of The Alliance of Light
Janny Wurts - 2005-08-01 (first published in 2004)
Goodreads Rating
In this thrilling penultimate installment of the Alliance of Light, half brothers Lysaer and Arithon face lifelong enmity after defeating the Mistwraith. Arithon, now Master of Shadow, must navigate the influence of a formidable sorcerer while his enemies plot his downfall. As war between allies and enemies looms, Arithon dedicates himself to a dangerous path that avoids killing at all costs.
Stormed Fortress book cover
Book 8
Stormed Fortress
Fifth Book of The Alliance of Light (The Wars of Light and Shadow, Book 8)
Janny Wurts - 2007-11-05
Goodreads Rating
A cursed bond of enmity between half-brothers Arithon and Lysaer threatens the world of Athera. As Lysaer's troops besiege the citadel at Alestron, Arithon faces his greatest challenge alone. The true purpose of the Koriani enchantresses is unveiled in this epic tale of brotherhood, war, and destiny.
Initiate's Trial book cover
Book 9
Initiate's Trial
First book of Sword of the Canon (The Wars of Light and Shadow, Book 9)
Janny Wurts - 2011-11-21
Goodreads Rating
Get ready for an epic conflict as two half-brothers, bound by a curse of lifelong enmity, are on an unstoppable path towards direct conflict. In Sword of the Canon's fourth arc, Initiate's Trial, Arithon and Lysaer reunite, but not in a way they would have imagined. With Arithon imprisoned and his memories removed, his daughter is being raised and trained by his enemy. As the plot thickens, secrets are revealed, and loyalties tested, the world of Athera seems to be in grave peril once again.
Destiny's Conflict book cover
Book 10
Destiny's Conflict
Book Two of Sword of the Canon (The Wars of Light and Shadow, Book 10)
Janny Wurts - 2017-10-05
Goodreads Rating
In the long-awaited second book of the fourth story arc in the epic fantasy series, Wars of Light and Shadow, the characters face their most difficult challenges yet. Lysaer’s integrity is threatened, Arithon is hunted, and Elaira is embroiled in ancient perils. This penultimate volume delivers the thrilling finale of arc IV, featuring war, blood, magic, and mystery.