Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Cloud Atlas

David Mitchell

A postmodern visionary who is also a master of styles of genres, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian lore of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as...
Publish Date
2004
August 17
Goodreads rating
4
ISBN
9780375507250
Recommendations
4
Recommendations
May 18, 2020
This is the kind of novel you’ll think and talk about for a long time after you finish it. The plot is a bit hard to explain, because it involves six inter-related stories that take place centuries apart (including one I particularly loved about a young American doctor on a sailing ship in the South Pacific in the mid-1800s). But if you’re in the mood for a really compelling tale about the best and worst of humanity, I think you’ll find yourself as engrossed in it as I was.      source
Feb 20, 2008
It's one of the most beautiful, entertaining, challenging books—something that takes all your attention.       source
Outstanding book. Talk about immersive. Few other epic fiction books that left me wowed: -thousand autumn’s of Jacob de Zoet by Mitchell -cloud atlas by Mitchell -a fraction of the whole by Toltz      source
Jan 28, 2020
@AlliSpeed Cloud Atlas - Fucked with my mind for a while after. Clever, potentially scary, futuristic and historical all at the same time. Ignore the film. The book IS amazing.      source