Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Weird

The Power of Being an Outsider in an Insider World

Olga Khazan

In the tradition of Susan Cain's Quiet and Scott Stossel's My Age of Anxiety, Atlantic staff writer Olga Khazan reclaims the concept of "weird" and turns it into a badge of honor rather than a slur, showing how being different -- culturally, socially, physically, or mentally -- can actually be a person's greatest strength.Most of us have at some po...
Publish Date
2020
April 7
Goodreads rating
3.59
ISBN
9780316418485
Recommendations
3
Recommendations
Apr 29, 2020
Because of corona, lots of good books aren’t getting the attention they deserve. So, do yourself a favor & check out: HOW TO THINK LIKE A ROCKET SCIENTIST by #OzanVarol WEIRD by @olgakhazan LEARNING BY HEART by @DrTonyWagner      source
Jan 08, 2020
If you’ve ever felt like an outsider or an oddball, you’ve experienced the downsides of being weird—but there are surprising upsides as well. The Atlantic writer has an impressive track record of shining a spotlight on the mysteries of human psychology, and as a Russian immigrant raised in West Texas, she knows firsthand that the very factors that prevent you from fitting in can eventually help you stand out.      source
Transcend was selected as a @NextBigIdeaClub Finalist! Some really good books on this list, including @olgakhazan's wonderful book "Weird".      source