Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Scott Barry Kaufman

author
psychologist

Recommended Books

Scott Barry Kaufman is an American humanistic psychologist, author, podcaster, and popular science writer. His writing and research focuses on intelligence, creativity, and human potential.
9 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Straightforward Statistics
Understanding the Tools of Research
Glenn Geher - May 01, 2014
Goodreads Rating
Straightforward Statistics: Understanding the Tools of Research is a clear and direct introduction to statistics for the social, behavioral, and life sciences. Based on the author's extensive experience teaching undergraduate statistics, this book provides a narrative presentation of the core principles that provide the foundation for modern-day st...
Scott Barry Kaufman
Nov 28, 2020
@Its_Piotr Even just an introductory statistics class would be great. In terms of books, I like @glenngeher's "Straightforward Statistics" ( and Barry Cohen's "Explaining Psychological Statistics" ( Hope that helps!     source
Explaining Psychological Statistics
Barry H. Cohen - Dec 04, 2013 (first published in 1995)
Goodreads Rating
This second edition of a successful textbook offers graduate psychology students a unique pedagogical system to learning statistical concepts....
Scott Barry Kaufman
Nov 28, 2020
@Its_Piotr Even just an introductory statistics class would be great. In terms of books, I like @glenngeher's "Straightforward Statistics" ( and Barry Cohen's "Explaining Psychological Statistics" ( Hope that helps!     source
Peak
Secrets from the New Science of Expertise
Anders Ericsson - Apr 11, 2017 (first published in 2016)
Goodreads Rating
“This book is a breakthrough, a lyrical, powerful, science-based narrative that actually shows us how to get better (much better) at the things we care about.”—Seth Godin, author of Linchpin “Anyone who wants to get better at anything should read [Peak]. Rest assured that the book is not mere theory. Ericsson’s research focuses on the real world, a...
Scott Barry Kaufman
Jun 18, 2020
If you are interested in the science of expertise and high performance, I highly recommend reading Anders' book "Peak: Secrets from the New Science of Expertise":     source
Also recommended by
Josh WaitzkinDerek Sivers
Learned Hopefulness
The Power of Positivity to Overcome Depression
Dan Tomasulo - Jun 01, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Cultivate hope with strengths-based practices grounded in positive psychologyIf you suffer from depression, sub-clinical depression, or low mood, you may have days where you feel like you’ve lost hope—hope that you’ll ever feel better, that the world will be a better place, or that you’ll someday find the happiness that always seems to elude you. Y...
Scott Barry Kaufman
Jun 05, 2020
In my last ever blog post for @sciam, I review @drdantomasulo's timely and important book "Learned Hopefulness: The Power of Positivity to Overcome Depression". I also include some exercises from his book to increase hope during these trying times:     source
The Robot's Rebellion
Finding Meaning in the Age of Darwin
Keith E. Stanovich - Oct 15, 2005 (first published in 2004)
Goodreads Rating
The idea that we might be robots is no longer the stuff of science fiction; decades of research in evolutionary biology and cognitive science have led many esteemed scientists to the conclusion that, according to the precepts of universal Darwinism, humans are merely the hosts for two replicators (genes and memes) that have no interest in us except...
Scott Barry Kaufman
May 14, 2020
@f_Martela That book by Stanovich is one of my favorite books ever!     source
Hope for the Flowers
Trina Paulus - May 01, 1973 (first published in 1972)
Goodreads Rating
This classic story is celebrating its 45th anniversary beginning in September of 2017. "Hope for the Flowers" is an inspiring allegory about the realization of one's true destiny as told through the lives of caterpillars Stripe and Yellow, who struggle to "climb to the top" before understanding that they are meant to fly....
Scott Barry Kaufman
Apr 15, 2020
omg!! When I was a kid the book "Hope for the Flowers" changed my life. About a decade ago I reached out to the author Trina Paulus (@TrinaPaulus) and thanked her. She just FaceTimed me *out of the blue* to tell me about "7 Days of Hope" ( Amazing!!     source
Also recommended by
Mike Maples, Jr.Katie Hinde
Something Deeply Hidden
Quantum Worlds and the Emergence of Spacetime
Sean Carroll - Sep 10, 2019
Goodreads Rating
As you read these words, copies of you are being created. Sean Carroll, theoretical physicist and one of this worlds most celebrated writers on science, rewrites the history of 20th century physics. Already hailed as a masterpiece, Something Deeply Hidden shows for the first time that facing up to the essential puzzle of quantum mechanics utterly t...
Scott Barry Kaufman
Apr 12, 2020
@NicoleBarbaro Indeed! And check out @seanmcarroll's fascinating book "Something Deeply Hidden":     source
Weird
The Power of Being an Outsider in an Insider World
Olga Khazan - Apr 07, 2020
Goodreads Rating
In the tradition of Susan Cain's Quiet and Scott Stossel's My Age of Anxiety, Atlantic staff writer Olga Khazan reclaims the concept of "weird" and turns it into a badge of honor rather than a slur, showing how being different -- culturally, socially, physically, or mentally -- can actually be a person's greatest strength.Most of us have at some po...
Scott Barry Kaufman
Apr 10, 2020
Transcend was selected as a @NextBigIdeaClub Finalist! Some really good books on this list, including @olgakhazan's wonderful book "Weird".     source
The Sciences of the Artificial
Herbert A. Simon - Sep 30, 1996 (first published in 1970)
Goodreads Rating
Continuing his exploration of the organization of complexity and the science of design, this new edition of Herbert Simon's classic work on artificial intelligence adds a chapter that sorts out the current themes and tools -- chaos, adaptive systems, genetic algorithms -- for analyzing complexity and complex systems. There are updates throughout th...
Scott Barry Kaufman
Feb 18, 2019
@DTWillingham Love that you included Herb Simon’s book in that list. That book was favorite of mine in college. Maybe it’s time to revisit it!     source
Also recommended by
Alan Kay