Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Marian Keyes

author

Recommended Books

Marian Keyes is an Irish writer of fiction noted for its readability. As well as her novels, she produces non-fiction and is best known for her work in women's literature. Much of her writing deals with family life.
12 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
The Importance of Being Aisling
Emer McLysaght - May 30, 2019
Goodreads Rating
THE NO 1 IRISH BESTSELLER and hilarious follow-up to the smash-hit romantic comedy Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling - fans of Derry Girls will LOVE this'Should come with a health warning. Ten pages in my face hurts from grinning' Sunday Independent ___________ Job. Flat. Boyfriend. Tick. Tick. Tick.Just when Aisling (seems) to be winning at life,...
Marian Keyes
Feb 02, 2021
It's SUCH a beautiful, uplifting, funny book 😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍      source
Just Last Night
A Novel
Mhairi McFarlane - May 04, 2021
Goodreads Rating
"I cannot remember the last book I loved as much... a luminous, heart-achingly beautiful love letter to friendship. Knockout!" — Josie Silver International bestseller Mhairi McFarlane explores lifelong friendships, long-buried secrets, and unexpected love in a heartfelt, emotional new novel, perfect for fans of Evvie Drake Starts Over, The Two Live...
Marian Keyes
Jan 26, 2021
Its absolutely WONDERFUL ❤❤❤ @MhairiMcF is a genius at writing friendships, romantic love, emotions and dialogue, she deserves much more praise than she gets. I've loved all of her books but #LastNight is magnificent, I ADORED every word of it #MarianRecommends      source
Luster
A Novel
Raven Leilani - Aug 04, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Sharp, comic, disruptive, tender, Raven Leilani's debut novel, Luster, sees a young black woman fall into art and someone else's open marriageEdie is stumbling her way through her twenties—sharing a subpar apartment in Bushwick, clocking in and out of her admin job, making a series of inappropriate sexual choices. She's also, secretly, haltingly fi...
Marian Keyes
Jan 08, 2021
Great review of a great book      source
Also recommended by
Barack ObamaCaitlin Moran
A Ghost in the Throat
Doireann Ní Ghríofa - Jun 01, 2021
Goodreads Rating
A true original. In this stunningly unusual prose debut, Doireann Ni Ghriofa sculpts essay and autofiction to explore inner life and the deep connection felt between two writers centuries apart. In the 1700s, an Irish noblewoman, on discovering her husband has been murdered, drinks handfuls of his blood and composes an extraordinary poem. In the pr...
Marian Keyes
Dec 16, 2020
Current state of mind: I'm utterly OBSESSED with Doireann Ní Ghríofa! #AGhostInTheThroat is BEYOND. HOW are @TrampPress so astonishingly brilliant at finding these special, SPECIAL books?!      source
Execution
A Giordano Bruno Thriller (Giordano Bruno Mysteries)
S. J. Parris - Jun 25, 2020
Goodreads Rating
The sixth Tudor thriller featuring Giordano Bruno: heretic, philosopher and spy. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom.England, 1586.A TREASONOUS CONSPIRACYGiordano Bruno returns to England to bring shocking new intelligence to Sir Francis Walsingham. A band of Catholic Englishmen are plotting to kill Queen Elizabeth and spring Mary Queen of Scots from ...
Marian Keyes
Aug 10, 2020
Just finished and LOVED so much! If you like the books of SJ Sansom and/or Philippa Gregory, you will ADORE the Giordano Bruno series from #SJParris. Bruno's a great character, there are 5 earlier books in the series before #Execution, treat yourself and start at the beginning 😍      source
How Do We Know We're Doing It Right
& Other Essays on Modern Life
Pandora Sykes - Jul 09, 2020 (first published in 2010)
Goodreads Rating
Modern life is full of choices. But how do we know what our best life looks like? And what if we get it wrong? Incisive, wide-ranging and witty, HOW DO WE KNOW WE'RE DOING IT RIGHT? explores the questions, anxieties and agendas that consume our lives. Pandora Sykes interrogates the stories we've been sold and the ones we tell ourselves - from happi...
Marian Keyes
Jul 08, 2020
I've JUST finished reading @PINsykes book of essays and oh, it's thrillingly, DELICIOUSLY fascinating about How We Live Now. She's a MINE of information- philosophy, science, literature, stats, all pulled together in her coolly elegant prose. I could not put it down! 👏👏👏👏👏👏      source
More Than a Woman
Caitlin Moran - Sep 15, 2020
Goodreads Rating
The author of the international bestseller How to Be a Woman returns with another “hilarious neo-feminist manifesto” (NPR) in which she reflects on parenting, middle-age, marriage, existential crises—and, of course, feminism.A decade ago, Caitlin Moran burst onto the scene with her instant bestseller, How to Be a Woman, a hilarious and resonant tak...
Marian Keyes
Jul 08, 2020
Oh LADS! The forthcoming book from @caitlinmoran is LOVELY. She writes with such heartening VIM and warmth about all the important stuff #MoreThanAWoman is my FRIEND, untangling a lot of my confusion about doing feminism right. Also! She writes so movingly about her daughter ❤💔      source
Writers & Lovers
A Novel
Lily King - Mar 03, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Following the breakout success of her critically acclaimed and award-winning novel Euphoria, Lily King returns with an unforgettable portrait of an artist as a young woman.Blindsided by her mother's sudden death, and wrecked by a recent love affair, Casey Peabody has arrived in Massachusetts in the summer of 1997 without a plan. Her mail consists o...
Marian Keyes
Jul 01, 2020
OH MY GODDD!!! This book!!! 😍😍😍😍 #LoversAndWriters by Lily King, I BEG you to read it, I love it MADLY! It's touching and clever and the main character is SO LOVEABLE! Its about writing which usually makes me 😬😬😬 but it WORKS and it's also about lovers which is 🔥❤👏👏👏      source
Also recommended by
Rachel Botsman
All In
Simona Ahrnstedt - Jan 31, 2017 (first published in 2014)
Goodreads Rating
Trust is the most precious commodity of all " "" In the cutthroat world of Sweden s financial elite, no one knows that better than corporate raider David Hammar. Ruthless. Notorious. Unstoppable. He s out to hijack the ultimate prize: Investum. After years of planning, all the players are in place; he needs just one member of the aristocratic ownin...
Marian Keyes
Jun 22, 2020
Hello! If you're in the mood for grown-up love stories, can I recommend Swedish writer @simonaahrnstedt's All In trilogy. I LOVE her books so MUCH - excellent, intricate characterisation (she's a psychologist), they're VERRA sexy and best of all, set in SWEDEN!      source
Know My Name
A Memoir
Chanel Miller - Sep 24, 2019
Goodreads Rating
The riveting, powerful memoir of the woman whose statement to Brock Turner gave voice to millions of survivors. She was known to the world as Emily Doe when she stunned millions with a letter. Brock Turner had been sentenced to just six months in county jail after he was found sexually assaulting her on Stanford's campus. Her victim impact statemen...
Marian Keyes
Nov 18, 2019
Oh! So GREAT! If you're able, PLEASE read her powerful book.      source
Also recommended by
Peter King
Seven Letters
A Novel
J. P. Monninger - Oct 08, 2019
Goodreads Rating
J. P. Monninger, author of the international bestseller The Map That Leads to You, the novel Nicholas Sparks called “romantic and unforgettable", tells a poignant love story of the ways the world divides two souls—and the way that love brings them together.Kate Moreton is in Ireland on sabbatical from her teaching position at Dartmouth College when...
Marian Keyes
Oct 25, 2019
@sinead_moriarty MASSIVE congratulations, Sinead and so well deserved. Seven Letters is a great book! I enjoyed it so much 😘😘😘😘😘😘      source
Elsewhere by Rosita Boland