Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Marian Keyes

author

Recommended Books

Marian Keyes is an Irish writer of fiction noted for its readability. As well as her novels, she produces non-fiction and is best known for her work in women's literature. Much of her writing deals with family life.
29 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Long Call
Ann Cleeves - Jul 28, 2020 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
In North Devon, where two rivers converge and run into the sea, Detective Matthew Venn stands outside the church as his estranged father's funeral takes place. On the day Matthew left the strict evangelical community he grew up in, he lost his family too.Now, as he turns and walks away again, he receives a call from one of his team. A body has been...
Marian Keyes
Apr 06, 2021
I don't know the lad but I LOVED the book!      source
One Hundred and Fifty-Two Days
Giles Paley-Phillips - Mar 05, 2020
Goodreads Rating
He will be allowed to visit his mother soon. His mother who is terminally ill, his mother who he has been barred from seeing as he recovers from his own bout of pneumonia.Until then, with the help of his physiotherapist Freya, he must navigate his increasingly empty and isolated existence: his father, who finds solace in the bottom of a glass; his ...
Marian Keyes
Mar 19, 2021
I absolutely adored this book! #MarianRecommends      source
The Importance of Being Aisling
Emer McLysaght - May 30, 2019
Goodreads Rating
THE NO 1 IRISH BESTSELLER and hilarious follow-up to the smash-hit romantic comedy Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling - fans of Derry Girls will LOVE this'Should come with a health warning. Ten pages in my face hurts from grinning' Sunday Independent ___________ Job. Flat. Boyfriend. Tick. Tick. Tick.Just when Aisling (seems) to be winning at life,...
Marian Keyes
Feb 02, 2021
It's SUCH a beautiful, uplifting, funny book 😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍      source
Just Last Night
A Novel
Mhairi McFarlane - May 04, 2021
Goodreads Rating
"I cannot remember the last book I loved as much... a luminous, heart-achingly beautiful love letter to friendship. Knockout!" — Josie Silver International bestseller Mhairi McFarlane explores lifelong friendships, long-buried secrets, and unexpected love in a heartfelt, emotional new novel, perfect for fans of Evvie Drake Starts Over, The Two Live...
Marian Keyes
Jan 26, 2021
Its absolutely WONDERFUL ❤❤❤ @MhairiMcF is a genius at writing friendships, romantic love, emotions and dialogue, she deserves much more praise than she gets. I've loved all of her books but #LastNight is magnificent, I ADORED every word of it #MarianRecommends      source
Luster
A Novel
Raven Leilani - Aug 04, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Sharp, comic, disruptive, tender, Raven Leilani's debut novel, Luster, sees a young black woman fall into art and someone else's open marriageEdie is stumbling her way through her twenties—sharing a subpar apartment in Bushwick, clocking in and out of her admin job, making a series of inappropriate sexual choices. She's also, secretly, haltingly fi...
Marian Keyes
Jan 08, 2021
Great review of a great book      source
Also recommended by
Barack ObamaCaitlin Moran
A Ghost in the Throat
Doireann Ní Ghríofa - Jun 01, 2021
Goodreads Rating
A true original. In this stunningly unusual prose debut, Doireann Ni Ghriofa sculpts essay and autofiction to explore inner life and the deep connection felt between two writers centuries apart. In the 1700s, an Irish noblewoman, on discovering her husband has been murdered, drinks handfuls of his blood and composes an extraordinary poem. In the pr...
Marian Keyes
Dec 16, 2020
Current state of mind: I'm utterly OBSESSED with Doireann Ní Ghríofa! #AGhostInTheThroat is BEYOND. HOW are @TrampPress so astonishingly brilliant at finding these special, SPECIAL books?!      source
The Boldness of Betty
A 1913 Dublin Lockout Novel
Anna Carey - Nov 07, 2020
Goodreads Rating
It's summer 1913 and Betty Rafferty is fed up. Forced to leave school aged 14, Betty is considered lucky when she gets a job in a sweet shop. After all, her da and her older brother Eddie are both working hard down on the docks in all weathers. But Betty is bored at the shop, and looks with envy at her customers who attend the posh girls school on ...
Marian Keyes
Nov 17, 2020
I have a LOVELY book for you! #TheBoldnessOfBetty by @urchinette is an engaging, inspiring YA novel set during The Dublin Lockout of 1913. Honestly, I find Anna Carey's novels give me courage and recalibrate my own political compass. Even though I'm not a YA, I LOVED this! 😍      source
Quite
Claudia Winkleman - Oct 01, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Funny, moving and truthful… QuiteClaudia Winkleman’s warmth, humour, no-holds-barred attitude and smoky eye have made her the favourite broadcaster of millions and a much-loved household name. In this, her first ever book, Claudia invites us all into her world. She shares her observations on topics such as the importance of melted cheese, why black...
Marian Keyes
Oct 14, 2020
Well! @ClaudiaWinkle's book #Quite is as DELIGHTFUL as you'd expect 😍😍😍 She's so CLEVER and FUNNY and INTERESTING. No wonder we all love her so much ❤ 💕 ♥ 💖 #MarianRecommends      source
Execution
A Giordano Bruno Thriller (Giordano Bruno Mysteries)
S. J. Parris - Jun 25, 2020
Goodreads Rating
The sixth Tudor thriller featuring Giordano Bruno: heretic, philosopher and spy. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom.England, 1586.A TREASONOUS CONSPIRACYGiordano Bruno returns to England to bring shocking new intelligence to Sir Francis Walsingham. A band of Catholic Englishmen are plotting to kill Queen Elizabeth and spring Mary Queen of Scots from ...
Marian Keyes
Aug 10, 2020
Just finished and LOVED so much! If you like the books of SJ Sansom and/or Philippa Gregory, you will ADORE the Giordano Bruno series from #SJParris. Bruno's a great character, there are 5 earlier books in the series before #Execution, treat yourself and start at the beginning 😍      source
How Do We Know We're Doing It Right
& Other Essays on Modern Life
Pandora Sykes - Jul 09, 2020 (first published in 2010)
Goodreads Rating
Modern life is full of choices. But how do we know what our best life looks like? And what if we get it wrong? Incisive, wide-ranging and witty, HOW DO WE KNOW WE'RE DOING IT RIGHT? explores the questions, anxieties and agendas that consume our lives. Pandora Sykes interrogates the stories we've been sold and the ones we tell ourselves - from happi...
Marian Keyes
Jul 08, 2020
I've JUST finished reading @PINsykes book of essays and oh, it's thrillingly, DELICIOUSLY fascinating about How We Live Now. She's a MINE of information- philosophy, science, literature, stats, all pulled together in her coolly elegant prose. I could not put it down! 👏👏👏👏👏👏      source
More Than a Woman
Caitlin Moran - Sep 15, 2020
Goodreads Rating
The author of the international bestseller How to Be a Woman returns with another “hilarious neo-feminist manifesto” (NPR) in which she reflects on parenting, middle-age, marriage, existential crises—and, of course, feminism.A decade ago, Caitlin Moran burst onto the scene with her instant bestseller, How to Be a Woman, a hilarious and resonant tak...
Marian Keyes
Jul 08, 2020
Oh LADS! The forthcoming book from @caitlinmoran is LOVELY. She writes with such heartening VIM and warmth about all the important stuff #MoreThanAWoman is my FRIEND, untangling a lot of my confusion about doing feminism right. Also! She writes so movingly about her daughter ❤💔      source
Writers & Lovers by Lily King
All In by Simona Ahrnstedt
When No One Is Watching by Alyssa Cole
Untitled Sophie White 2 by Sophie White
Pretending by Holly Bourne
Separation Anxiety by Laura Zigman
Filter This by Sophie White
As You Were by Elaine Feeney
Show Them a Good Time by Nicole Flattery
Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell
It Started with a Secret by Jill Mansell
Know My Name by Chanel Miller
Seven Letters by J. P. Monninger
Strange Kind Of Brave by
Supper Club by Lara Williams
Elsewhere by Rosita Boland
A Fatal Inheritance by Rachel Rhys
Straying by Molly McCloskey