Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Marian Keyes

Recommended Books

Marian Keyes is an Irish writer of fiction noted for its readability. As well as her novels, she produces non-fiction and is best known for her work in women's literature. Much of her writing deals with family life.
37 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Dont Touch My Hair book cover
Dont Touch My Hair
Mar 05, 2020
Goodreads Rating
'Groundbreaking . . . a scintillating, intellectual investigation into black women and the very serious business of our hair, as it pertains to race, gender, social codes, tradition, culture, cosmology, maths, politics, philosophy and history' Bernardine EvaristoFrom women's solidarity and friendship to forgotten African scholars and the dubious pr...
Marian Keyes
Oct 21, 2021
#MarianRecommends Also, it's a short book if that helps? Also, her first book #DontTouchMyHair was a real eye-opener for me, absolutely fascinating (and shaming). One of its achievements was to examine racism through the prism of 'female beauty' #MarianRecommends that one too 😊      source
What White People Can Do Next book cover
What White People Can Do Next
From Allyship to Coalition
Emma Dabiri - Jun 22, 2021
Goodreads Rating
In the spirit of We Should All Be Feminists and How to Be an Antiracist, a poignant and sensible guide to questioning the meaning of whiteness and creating an antiracist world from the acclaimed historian and author of Twisted.Vital and empowering What White People Can Do Next teaches each of us how to be agents of change in the fight against racis...
Marian Keyes
Oct 21, 2021
I read the EXCELLENT, educational #WhatWhitePeopleCanDoNext a while ago. It's GREAT! Irish writer @EmmaDabiri knows so MUCH, writing with clarity and passion to deconstruct mythology around race and offering a way forward. I want to be a better ally. This book is very HELPFUL      source
Island Reich book cover
Island Reich
Oct 28, 2021
Goodreads Rating
The rich, atmospheric WWII thriller from the award-winning author of Moskva and Nightfall Berlin, perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow's BLACKOUT'Intricately plotted, rip-roaring World War Two adventure - proper heroes, proper villains, royal intrigue and grounded in real history' IAN RANKIN_________July, 1940. The Nazis launch their invasion of Brita...
Marian Keyes
Oct 16, 2021
GREAT book for yiz! #IslandReich by @JonCG (he also wrote equally FABALISS Moskva and Nightfall Berlin), an utterly UNPUTDOWNABLE WW2 spy novel is FULL of atmosphere, suspense and political intrigue Out in paperback 28.10.21! #MarianRecommends      source
The Dark book cover
The Dark
The unputdownable and pulse-raising Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month
Emma Haughton - Aug 19, 2021
Goodreads Rating
ONE DEAD BODYTWELVE SUSPECTSTWENTY-FOUR-HOUR DARKNESSIn the most inhospitable environment - cut off from the rest of the world - there's a killer on the loose.A&E doctor Kate North has been knocked out of her orbit by a personal tragedy. So when she's offered the chance to be an emergency replacement at the UN research station in Antarctica, she ju...
Marian Keyes
Sep 26, 2021
Mon amies, have I got a book for yiz!!!! #TheDark by @Emma_Haughton is a locked room thriller set in ANTARCTICA. I cannot TELL you how much I enjoyed it! Great characterisation, *possible* unreliable narrator, increasingly tense plot and SO MUCH ice ❄ #MarianRecommends      source
Did Ye Hear Mammy Died? book cover
Did Ye Hear Mammy Died?
A Memoir
Séamas O'Reilly - Feb 22, 2022
Goodreads Rating
A heart-warming and hilarious family memoir of growing up as one of eleven siblings raised by a single dad in Northern Ireland at the end of the Troubles. After the untimely death of his mother, five-year old Seamas and his ten (TEN!) siblings were left to the care of their loving but understandably beleaguered father. In this thoroughly delightful...
Marian Keyes
Jul 27, 2021
Here's my report on #DidYouHearMammyDied by @shockproofbeats A) I laughed until I choked B) I cried BUCKETS C) I have NEVER been so CHARMED D) I fell in GIANT LOVE with Daddy O'Reilly Seriously, this is a rare and beautiful book #MarianRecommends      source
Long Call book cover
Long Call
Ann Cleeves - Jul 28, 2020 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
In North Devon, where two rivers converge and run into the sea, Detective Matthew Venn stands outside the church as his estranged father's funeral takes place. On the day Matthew left the strict evangelical community he grew up in, he lost his family too.Now, as he turns and walks away again, he receives a call from one of his team. A body has been...
Marian Keyes
Apr 06, 2021
I don't know the lad but I LOVED the book!      source
One Hundred and Fifty-Two Days book cover
One Hundred and Fifty-Two Days
Giles Paley-Phillips - Mar 05, 2020
Goodreads Rating
He will be allowed to visit his mother soon. His mother who is terminally ill, his mother who he has been barred from seeing as he recovers from his own bout of pneumonia.Until then, with the help of his physiotherapist Freya, he must navigate his increasingly empty and isolated existence: his father, who finds solace in the bottom of a glass; his ...
Marian Keyes
Mar 19, 2021
I absolutely adored this book! #MarianRecommends      source
Also recommended by
Nick Offerman
Corpsing book cover
Corpsing
My Body & Other Horror Shows
Sophie White - Mar 04, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Marian Keyes
Mar 04, 2021
This book!!!!!!! It's AAMMMMAAAAZZZZZZZING!!!!!!!!      source
The Importance of Being Aisling book cover
The Importance of Being Aisling
Emer McLysaght - May 30, 2019
Goodreads Rating
THE NO 1 IRISH BESTSELLER and hilarious follow-up to the smash-hit romantic comedy Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling - fans of Derry Girls will LOVE this'Should come with a health warning. Ten pages in my face hurts from grinning' Sunday Independent ___________ Job. Flat. Boyfriend. Tick. Tick. Tick.Just when Aisling (seems) to be winning at life,...
Marian Keyes
Feb 02, 2021
It's SUCH a beautiful, uplifting, funny book 😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍      source
Just Last Night book cover
Just Last Night
A Novel
Mhairi McFarlane - May 04, 2021
Goodreads Rating
"I cannot remember the last book I loved as much... a luminous, heart-achingly beautiful love letter to friendship. Knockout!" — Josie Silver International bestseller Mhairi McFarlane explores lifelong friendships, long-buried secrets, and unexpected love in a heartfelt, emotional new novel, perfect for fans of Evvie Drake Starts Over, The Two Live...
Marian Keyes
Jan 26, 2021
Its absolutely WONDERFUL ❤❤❤ @MhairiMcF is a genius at writing friendships, romantic love, emotions and dialogue, she deserves much more praise than she gets. I've loved all of her books but #LastNight is magnificent, I ADORED every word of it #MarianRecommends      source
Luster book cover
Luster
A Novel
Raven Leilani - Aug 04, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Sharp, comic, disruptive, tender, Raven Leilani's debut novel, Luster, sees a young black woman fall into art and someone else's open marriageEdie is stumbling her way through her twenties—sharing a subpar apartment in Bushwick, clocking in and out of her admin job, making a series of inappropriate sexual choices. She's also, secretly, haltingly fi...
Marian Keyes
Jan 08, 2021
Great review of a great book      source
Also recommended by
Barack ObamaCaitlin Moran
A Ghost in the Throat by Doireann Ní Ghríofa
The Boldness of Betty by Anna Carey
Quite by Claudia Winkleman
Execution by S. J. Parris
How Do We Know We're Doing It Right by Pandora Sykes
More Than a Woman by Caitlin Moran
Writers & Lovers by Lily King
All In by Simona Ahrnstedt
When No One Is Watching by Alyssa Cole
Untitled Sophie White 2 by Sophie White
Pretending by Holly Bourne
Separation Anxiety by Laura Zigman
Filter This by Sophie White
As You Were by Elaine Feeney
Show Them a Good Time by Nicole Flattery
Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell
It Started with a Secret by Jill Mansell
The Weight of Love by
Know My Name by Chanel Miller
Seven Letters by J. P. Monninger
Strange Kind Of Brave by
Supper Club by Lara Williams
Elsewhere by Rosita Boland
Professor Chandra Follows His Bliss by Rajeev Balasubramanyam
A Fatal Inheritance by Rachel Rhys
Straying by Molly McCloskey