Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Vern Gambetta

author

Recommended Books

10 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
The Eagles of Heart Mountain
A True Story of Football, Incarceration, and Resistance in World War II America
Bradford Pearson - Jan 05, 2021
Goodreads Rating
The impeccably researched, deeply moving, never-before-told tale about a World War II internment camp in Wyoming and its extraordinary high school football team—for fans of The Boys in the Boat and The Storm on Our Shores. In the summer of 1942, the United States government forced 120,000 Japanese Americans from their homes in California, Oregon, W...
Vern Gambetta
Mar 05, 2021
@BradfordPearson A great book. Everyone should read this.      source
The Playmaker's Decisions
The Science of Clutch Plays, Mental Mistakes and Athlete Cognition
Daniel Peterson - Nov 14, 2020
Goodreads Rating
The Playmaker on any team makes the right decision at the right time, almost every time. Despite the constraints of time, tactics, and rules, the best players combine their vision and skills with razor-sharp decision accuracy for an unstoppable competitive advantage.As a follow-up to "The Playmaker’s Advantage", their bestselling guide for athletes...
Vern Gambetta
Feb 02, 2021
The latest book by Dr Len Zaichkowsky & Daniel Peterson is a must addition for your coach’s library. The Playmakers Decisions–The Science of Clutch Plays, Mental Mistakes and Athlete Cognition. It is an excellent follow-up/companion to their first book The Playmaker’s Advantage.      source
The Playmaker's Advantage
How to Raise Your Mental Game to the Next Level
Leonard Zaichkowsky - Jun 12, 2018
Goodreads Rating
Discover how to improve your mental game—the next frontier in sports training—no matter your age or experience and become the Playmaker or the decisive general on the court or field.Coaches search for it. Parents dream of it. Fans love it. Athletes want it.The Playmaker on any sports team possesses it: an elusive, intangible quality combining antic...
Vern Gambetta
Feb 02, 2021
The latest book by Dr Len Zaichkowsky & Daniel Peterson is a must addition for your coach’s library. The Playmakers Decisions–The Science of Clutch Plays, Mental Mistakes and Athlete Cognition. It is an excellent follow-up/companion to their first book The Playmaker’s Advantage.      source
Range
Why Generalists Triumph in a Specialized World
David Epstein - May 28, 2019
Goodreads Rating
What's the most effective path to success in any domain? It's not what you think. ...
Vern Gambetta
Dec 08, 2020
@hmmrmedia @BillGates @DavidEpstein Great Book      source
The Socrates Express
In Search of Life Lessons from Dead Philosophers
Eric Weiner - Aug 25, 2020
Goodreads Rating
The New York Times bestselling author of The Geography of Bliss embarks on a rollicking intellectual journey, following in the footsteps of history’s greatest thinkers and showing us how each—from Epicurus to Gandhi, Thoreau to Beauvoir—offers practical and spiritual lessons for today’s unsettled times. We turn to philosophy for the same reasons we...
Vern Gambetta
Sep 13, 2020
@Eric_Weiner Really enjoyed the book, excited me to go back and do more reading in philosophy      source
Practice Perfect
42 Rules for Getting Better at Getting Better
Doug Lemov - Sep 19, 2012
Goodreads Rating
Rules for developing talent with disciplined, deliberate, intelligent practiceWe live in a competition loving culture. We love the performance, the big win, the ticking seconds of the clock as the game comes down to the wire. We watch games and cheer, sometimes to the point of obsession, but if we really wanted to see greatness--wanted to cheer for...
Vern Gambetta
May 04, 2020
@Doug_Lemov Great book, every coach should read this      source
Essentialism
The Disciplined Pursuit of Less
Greg McKeown - Dec 29, 2020 (first published in 2011)
Goodreads Rating
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - More than one million copies sold! Essentialism isn't about getting more done in less time. It's about getting only the right things done. Featuring the new Essentialism 21-Day Challenge - "A timely, essential read for anyone who feels overcommitted, overloaded, or overworked."--Adam Grant Have you ever: - found yourself...
Vern Gambetta
Jul 05, 2019
@craig100m Great book. I read it periodically to keep me on track      source
Run, run, run,
Fred Wilt - Jan 01, 1964
Goodreads Rating
Vern Gambetta
Dec 16, 2017
Know the classics! If you coach runners you must read these two books. 1) To learn History 2) To learn that everything old is new again. Thanks to Michael Joyner for reminding to go back to these two classics. Both written by Fred Wilt, a real game changer & pioneer.      source
Vern Gambetta
Dec 16, 2017
Know the classics! If you coach runners you must read these two books. 1) To learn History 2) To learn that everything old is new again. Thanks to Michael Joyner for reminding to go back to these two classics. Both written by Fred Wilt, a real game changer & pioneer.      source
Coaching Better Every Season
A year-round system for athlete development and program success
Wade Gilbert - Dec 05, 2016
Goodreads Rating
Maximize the development of your athletes and team throughout the year, and just maybe win a postseason title in the process. Coaching Better Every Season: A Year-Round System for Athlete Development and Program Success presents a blueprint for such success, detailing proven coaching methods and practices in preseason, in-season, postseason, and of...
Vern Gambetta
Dec 29, 2016
If you are a coach & you want to get better at your craft you must read this book by Wade Gilbert. A terrific coaching handbook      source