Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Vern Gambetta

Recommended Books

11 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Vern Gambetta
2021-06-11T15:23:19.000Z
@tomricks1 @qhardy Really enjoyed this book      source
The Eagles of Heart Mountain book cover
The Eagles of Heart Mountain
A True Story of Football, Incarceration, and Resistance in World War II America
Bradford Pearson - 2021-01-05
Goodreads Rating
The impeccably researched, deeply moving, never-before-told tale about a World War II internment camp in Wyoming and its extraordinary high school football team—for fans of The Boys in the Boat and The Storm on Our Shores. In the summer of 1942, the United States government forced 120,000 Japanese Americans from their homes in California, Oregon, W...
Vern Gambetta
2021-03-05T16:23:07.000Z
@BradfordPearson A great book. Everyone should read this.      source
The Playmaker's Decisions book cover
The Playmaker's Decisions
The Science of Clutch Plays, Mental Mistakes and Athlete Cognition
Daniel Peterson - 2020-11-14
Goodreads Rating
The Playmaker on any team makes the right decision at the right time, almost every time. Despite the constraints of time, tactics, and rules, the best players combine their vision and skills with razor-sharp decision accuracy for an unstoppable competitive advantage.As a follow-up to "The Playmaker’s Advantage", their bestselling guide for athletes...
Vern Gambetta
2021-02-02T15:44:00.000Z
The latest book by Dr Len Zaichkowsky & Daniel Peterson is a must addition for your coach’s library. The Playmakers Decisions–The Science of Clutch Plays, Mental Mistakes and Athlete Cognition. It is an excellent follow-up/companion to their first book The Playmaker’s Advantage.      source
The Playmaker's Advantage book cover
The Playmaker's Advantage
How to Raise Your Mental Game to the Next Level
Leonard Zaichkowsky - 2018-06-12
Goodreads Rating
Discover how to improve your mental game—the next frontier in sports training—no matter your age or experience and become the Playmaker or the decisive general on the court or field.Coaches search for it. Parents dream of it. Fans love it. Athletes want it.The Playmaker on any sports team possesses it: an elusive, intangible quality combining antic...
Vern Gambetta
2021-02-02T15:44:00.000Z
The latest book by Dr Len Zaichkowsky & Daniel Peterson is a must addition for your coach’s library. The Playmakers Decisions–The Science of Clutch Plays, Mental Mistakes and Athlete Cognition. It is an excellent follow-up/companion to their first book The Playmaker’s Advantage.      source
Range book cover
Range
Why Generalists Triumph in a Specialized World
David Epstein - 2021-04-27 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
The #1 New York Times bestseller that has all America talking: as seen/heard on CNN's Fareed Zakaria GPS, Morning Joe, CBS This Morning, The Bill Simmons Podcast, Rich Roll, and more."The most important business--and parenting--book of the year." --Forbes"Urgent and important. . . an essential read for bosses, parents, coaches, and anyone who cares...
Vern Gambetta
2020-12-08T22:26:01.000Z
@hmmrmedia @BillGates @DavidEpstein Great Book      source
The Socrates Express book cover
The Socrates Express
In Search of Life Lessons from Dead Philosophers
Eric Weiner - 2020-08-25
Goodreads Rating
The New York Times bestselling author of The Geography of Bliss embarks on a rollicking intellectual journey, following in the footsteps of history’s greatest thinkers and showing us how each—from Epicurus to Gandhi, Thoreau to Beauvoir—offers practical and spiritual lessons for today’s unsettled times. We turn to philosophy for the same reasons we...
Vern Gambetta
2020-09-13T15:37:48.000Z
@Eric_Weiner Really enjoyed the book, excited me to go back and do more reading in philosophy      source
Practice Perfect book cover
Practice Perfect
42 Rules for Getting Better at Getting Better
Doug Lemov - 2012-09-19
Goodreads Rating
Rules for developing talent with disciplined, deliberate, intelligent practiceWe live in a competition loving culture. We love the performance, the big win, the ticking seconds of the clock as the game comes down to the wire. We watch games and cheer, sometimes to the point of obsession, but if we really wanted to see greatness--wanted to cheer for...
Vern Gambetta
2020-05-04T22:33:25.000Z
@Doug_Lemov Great book, every coach should read this      source
Essentialism book cover
Essentialism
The Disciplined Pursuit of Less
Greg McKeown - 2020-12-29 (first published in 2011)
Goodreads Rating
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - More than one million copies sold! Essentialism isn't about getting more done in less time. It's about getting only the right things done. Featuring the new Essentialism 21-Day Challenge - "A timely, essential read for anyone who feels overcommitted, overloaded, or overworked."--Adam Grant Have you ever: - found yourself...
Vern Gambetta
2019-07-05T12:09:46.000Z
@craig100m Great book. I read it periodically to keep me on track      source
Run, run, run, book cover
Run, run, run,
Fred Wilt - 1964-01-01
Goodreads Rating
Vern Gambetta
2017-12-16T14:58:25.000Z
Know the classics! If you coach runners you must read these two books. 1) To learn History 2) To learn that everything old is new again. Thanks to Michael Joyner for reminding to go back to these two classics. Both written by Fred Wilt, a real game changer & pioneer.      source
Vern Gambetta
2017-12-16T14:58:25.000Z
Know the classics! If you coach runners you must read these two books. 1) To learn History 2) To learn that everything old is new again. Thanks to Michael Joyner for reminding to go back to these two classics. Both written by Fred Wilt, a real game changer & pioneer.      source