Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign In
SeriesThe History of Middle-Earth

The History of Middle-Earth Series

The History of Middle-Earth books in order

See also:* The Lord of the Rings* Unfinished Tales
The Last Kingdom book cover
The Book of Lost Tales, Part One book cover
The Book of Lost Tales, Part Two book cover
13 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
The Book of Lost Tales, Part One book cover
Book 1
The Book of Lost Tales, Part One
J. R. R. Tolkien - 1992-06-01 (first published in 1983)
Goodreads Rating
Explore the origins of Middle-earth and Valinor in this classic collection of lost tales, which trace the earliest accounts of Gods and Elves, Dwarves and Orcs, and the geography and cosmology of the imaginary world. Set against the backdrop of a great westward voyage, these tales offer a glimpse into the true history of Middle-earth - an essential read for any Tolkien fan.
The Last Kingdom book cover
Book 2
The Last Kingdom
Bernard Cornwell - 2006-01-01 (first published in 2004)
Goodreads Rating
Travel back to 9th and 10th century England, when Viking invaders had captured three of the four kingdoms. Follow Uhtred, a dispossessed nobleman raised by Danes, as he navigates the violent clash between paganism and Christianity, and ultimately chooses which side to fight for. This thrilling adventure, based on real accounts of the author's ancestors, sheds light on a pivotal moment in England's history.
The Book of Lost Tales, Part Two book cover
Book 2
The Book of Lost Tales, Part Two
J. R. R. Tolkien - 1992-04-22 (first published in 1984)
Goodreads Rating
History of Middle-Earth and Valinor come to life in this first major work of imagination by J.R.R. Tolkien. The Book of Lost Tales 2 includes the earliest accounts of Gods and Elves, Dwarves, Balrogs, and Orcs; of the Silmarils and the Two Trees of Valinor; of Nargothrond and Gondolin. Explore Beren and Luthien, Turin and the Dragon, and the only full narratives of the Necklace of the Dwarves and the Fall of Gondolin through intricate storytelling that sets the foundation for The Silmarillion.
The Lays of Beleriand book cover
Book 3
The Lays of Beleriand
J. R. R. Tolkien - 1985-11-20
Goodreads Rating
Delve into the creation of Middle-earth's mythology with The Lays of Beleriand, the third volume in The History of Middle-earth series. Explore the tragic tales of Túrin and Lúthien through alliterative verse in The Lay of the Children of Húrin and The Lay of Leithian. In addition, gain insight into the evolution of the Elder Days with accompanying commentaries. This edition also features notable criticism by CS Lewis on The Lay of Leithian.
The Shaping of Middle-earth book cover
Book 4
The Shaping of Middle-earth
The Quenta, the Ambarkanta, and the Annals, Together With the Earliest 'Silmarillion' and the First Map
J. R. R. Tolkien - 2021-05-11
Goodreads Rating
Discover the early myths and legends that led to J.R.R. Tolkien's epic tale of war, The Silmarillion, in The Shaping of Middle-earth. This fourth volume in The History of Middle-earth delves into the chronological and geographical structure of Middle-earth and Valinor, including the previously unknown Ambarkanta, or "Shape of the World," complete with maps and diagrams. The Annals of Valinor and The Annals of Beleriend showcase how the chronology of the First Age was formed, while the tale of Aelfwine, an Englishman who voyaged into the True West, offers insights into the ancient history of Elves and Men.
The Lost Road book cover
Book 5
The Lost Road
Volume 5
J. R. R. Tolkien - 1987-01-01 (first published in 1983)
Goodreads Rating
In this book, readers can dive into 'The Lost Road', a tale featuring three versions of the same story. Edited by Christopher Tolkien, this edition comes packed with helpful footnotes to enhance the reading experience.
The Return of the Shadow book cover
Book 6
The Return of the Shadow
The History of The Lord of the Rings, Part One (The History of Middle-Earth, Vol. 6)
J. R. R. Tolkien - 2000-09-01 (first published in 1988)
Goodreads Rating
This book delves into the creation of The Lord of the Rings, revealing the evolution of the story from its earliest notes to the emergence of its iconic characters and concepts. From the origins of the Ruling Ring to the puzzling character of Trotter (later known as Strider), this volume sheds light on the intricate permutations that led to J.R.R. Tolkien's legendary tale. Stunning illustrations of the earliest maps and manuscripts bring this rich history to life.
The Treason of Isengard book cover
Book 7
The Treason of Isengard
The History of The Lord of the Rings, Part Two (The History of Middle-Earth, Vol. 7)
J. R. R. Tolkien - 1989-11-30
Goodreads Rating
Explore the evolution of The Lord of the Rings in The Treason of Isengard, the seventh volume in Christopher Tolkien's History of Middle-earth. Delve into new territories and meet iconic characters like the Ents, Riders of Rohan, and Saruman the White. Discover the earliest drafts of the history of Gondor, Aragorn's meeting with Eowyn, and Galadriel's first entry. Follow the story's unpredictable paths, including the rescue of Frodo by Sam Gamgee, written long before it was included in the final version. This book also features a detailed account of the original Map of Middle-earth and an appendix on the Runic alphabets of the time.
The War of the Ring book cover
Book 8
The War of the Ring
The History of The Lord of the Rings, Part Three (The History of Middle-Earth, Vol. 8)
J. R. R. Tolkien - 2000-09-01 (first published in 1990)
Goodreads Rating
Discover the epic continuation of one of the most beloved fantasy series of all time in The War of the Ring. Written by Christopher Tolkien, this remarkable book takes readers on a journey through the battles and challenges faced by Frodo, Sam, and Gollum as they approach the Pass of Kirith Ungol. The story continues with the war in Gondor and a parley between Gandalf and the Dark Lord's ambassador. With stunning illustrations and fascinating insights into Tolkien's creative process, The War of the Ring is a must-read for any fan of The Lord of the Rings.
Sauron Defeated book cover
Book 9
Sauron Defeated
J. R. R. Tolkien - 1992-10-27
Goodreads Rating
Discover new dimensions of The Lord of the Rings as Christopher Tolkien unearths unpublished writings in Sauron Defeated. The first section takes readers on a journey as Sam rescues Frodo and gives a fresh perspective on the Scouring of the Shire. The book culminates in the Epilogue, where years after Bilbo and Frodo's departure, Sam answers his children's questions. In the second section, The Notion Club Papers, the mysterious discussions of an Oxford club from 1986-7 reveal legends of Atlantis and the violent erasure of the tale. The book ends with an intriguing account of the language of Men and its structure, carefully crafted by Arundel Lowdham in his dreams.
Morgoth's Ring book cover
Morgoth's Ring
J. R. R. Tolkien - 1993-12-14
The War of the Jewels by Christopher Tolkien
The Peoples of Middle-Earth by J. R. R. Tolkien