Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign in
Book SeriesWayward Children

Wayward Children Series

Wayward Children books in order

Seanan McGuire's Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Wayward Children series is the story of Eleanor West's School for Wayward Children, a boarding school for kids who come home from portal fantasy worlds and can't adjust to their new, ordinary lives. Praise for Every Heart a Doorway:"This is a gorgeous story: sometimes mean, sometimes angry, and always …
Down Among the Sticks and Bones book cover
Every Heart a Doorway book cover
Beneath the Sugar Sky book cover
8 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Every Heart a Doorway book cover
Book 1
Every Heart a Doorway
Seanan McGuire - 2016-04-05
Goodreads Rating
Magical children who have traveled to other worlds seek to find their way back in this dark and captivating tale. Eleanor West's Home for Wayward Children is a sanctuary for those who have disappeared into the shadows and emerged changed. When Nancy returns, she and her fellow students must confront danger and unravel a mystery to save their beloved home. Prepare to be enthralled in Every Heart a Doorway.
Down Among the Sticks and Bones book cover
Book 2
Down Among the Sticks and Bones
Seanan McGuire - 2017-06-13
Goodreads Rating
This captivating novel explores the lives of twin sisters, Jacqueline and Jillian. The story follows their upbringing as contrasting perfect children and the moment they discover a world filled with magic, mad scientists, and difficult choices. Perfect for fans of fantasy and adventure, this book immerses readers in a thrilling and unexpected journey through the unknown.
Beneath the Sugar Sky book cover
Book 3
Beneath the Sugar Sky
Seanan McGuire - 2018-01-09
Goodreads Rating
A young girl must save an entire world and restore her long-dead mother in order to ensure her own existence. Along the way, she finds friendship, love, and adventure, all while navigating a world without magic. Baking and derring-do included. Warning: May contain nuts.
In an Absent Dream book cover
Book 4
In an Absent Dream
Seanan McGuire - 2019-01-08
Goodreads Rating
Escape into a world of logic, reason, and riddles with Lundy, a young girl who wants nothing more than to follow her dreams. But when she discovers a doorway to an idyllic world, she soon learns that paradise comes at a steep price. In this prequel, follow Lundy's journey as she navigates the treacherous realm of the goblin market, where nothing is as it seems and bargains can have deadly consequences.
Come Tumbling Down book cover
Book 5
Come Tumbling Down
Seanan McGuire - 2020-01-07
Goodreads Rating
In Come Tumbling Down, the fifth book of the Wayward Children series, Seanan McGuire continues the story of Jack and the world of Wayward Children. When Jack returns to Eleanor West's School for Wayward Children, it becomes clear that something terrible has happened to her. Only her friends can help her overcome this scientist's nightmare that breaks Eleanor's "No Quests" rule once again.
Across the Green Grass Fields book cover
Book 6
Across the Green Grass Fields
Seanan McGuire - 2021-01-12
Goodreads Rating
A young girl discovers a magical portal to a land filled with centaurs, unicorns, and other equine creatures in this standalone tale from the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Wayward Children series. As Regan navigates this new world and learns what it means to be a hero, she discovers that not all quests are what they seem. Join her on a thrilling journey Across the Green Grass Fields.
Where the Drowned Girls Go book cover
Book 7
Where the Drowned Girls Go
Seanan McGuire - 2022-01-04
Goodreads Rating
A transfer to the mysterious Whitethorn Institute proves to be more dangerous than Cora anticipated. After falling through doors and back out again, she desperately seeks a new direction in life. But when she arrives at Whitethorn, she discovers that not all schools are created equal. Will she be able to survive in a place where safety isn't a guarantee?
Untitled book cover
Book 8
A Novel
Nathan Harris - 2022-08-24
Goodreads Rating
In "The Academy: Intricate," Gabriel Coleman and Sang Sorenson set out on a mission to find their families and uncover their pasts. As members of the Academy, they must complete this task in order to become full-fledged members. Along the way, they face secrets, uncover hidden histories, and must hold strong in the face of their families who have tried to erase them from their lives. Will their love for each other be enough to protect them and change their lives forever?