Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In
Books LikeThe Nightingale

Books like The Nightingale

Enjoyed The Nightingale? We’ve scoured the web for book blogs and looked at all of their recommendations for books that are similar to The Nightingale. Here are 17 books that you may like if you liked The Nightingale.

17 books on the list
Sort by
Number of Articles
Layout
Half of a Yellow Sun
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie - Sep 04, 2007 (first published in 2006)
Goodreads Rating
With effortless grace, celebrated author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie illuminates a seminal moment in modern African history: Biafra's impassioned struggle to establish an independent republic in southeastern Nigeria during the late 1960s. We experience this tumultuous decade alongside five unforgettable characters: Ugwu, a thirteen-year-old houseboy w...
Lilac Girls
A Novel
Martha Hall Kelly - Feb 28, 2017
Goodreads Rating
Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this debut novel reveals a story of love, redemption, and secrets that were hidden for decades. New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in...
The Shadow of the Wind
Carlos Ruiz Zafón - Jan 31, 2005 (first published in 2001)
Goodreads Rating
Barcelona, 1945: A city slowly heals from its war wounds, and Daniel, an antiquarian book dealer's son who mourns the loss of his mother, finds solace in a mysterious book entitled The Shadow of the Wind, by one Julian Carax. But when he sets out to find the author's other works, he makes a shocking discovery: someone has been systematically destro...
The Alice Network
A Novel
Kate Quinn - Jun 06, 2017
Goodreads Rating
In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947—are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption. 1947. In the chaotic afterma...
The Winemaker's Wife
Kristin Harmel - Mar 17, 2020
Goodreads Rating
The author of the engrossing international bestseller The Room on Rue Amélie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale.Champagne, 1940: Inès has just married Michel, the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau...
Gone to Soldiers
Marge Piercy - Oct 13, 2015 (first published in 1987)
Goodreads Rating
The New York Times bestselling novel of humans in conflict with inhuman events, Gone to Soldiers is “a landmark piece of literary prose…the most thorough and most captivating, most engrossing novel ever written about World War II” (Los Angeles Times).In this “sweeping epic” (The Philadelphia Inquirer) of World War II, Marge Piercy moves from the Un...
Winter Garden
Kristin Hannah - Jan 04, 2011
Goodreads Rating
From the author of the smash-hit bestseller Firefly Lane and True Colors comes a powerful, heartbreaking novel that illuminates the intricate mother-daughter bond and explores the enduring links between the present and the past.Meredith and Nina Whitson are as different as sisters can be. One stayed at home to raise her children and manage the fami...
When We Left Cuba
Chanel Cleeton - Apr 09, 2019
Goodreads Rating
In 1960s Florida, a young Cuban exile will risk her life—and heart—to take back her country in this exhilarating historical novel....
Under the Udala Trees
Chinelo Okparanta - Sep 20, 2016 (first published in 2015)
Goodreads Rating
Ijeoma comes of age as her nation does. Born before independence, she is eleven when civil war breaks out in the young republic of Nigeria. Sent away to safety, she meets another displaced child and they, star-crossed, fall in love. They are from different ethnic communities. They are also both girls. But when their love is discovered, Ijeoma learn...
Bridge of Scarlet Leaves
Kristina McMorris - Oct 24, 2011 (first published in 2012)
Goodreads Rating
In this poignant and evocative novel by New York Times bestselling author Kristina McMorris, a country is plunged into conflict and suspicion—forcing a young woman to find her place in a volatile world.Los Angeles, 1941. Violinist Maddie Kern's life seemed destined to unfold with the predictable elegance of a Bach concerto. Then she fell in love wi...
The Innocents
A Novel
Margery Sharp - Apr 12, 2016 (first published in 1972)
Goodreads Rating
Margery Sharp’s most poignant novel, set during World War II and filled with her trademark wit and warmth, tells the story of the powerful bond forged between a British spinster and the unusual little girl left in her care As the threat of war looms, Cecilia and Rab Guthrie leave their young daughter, Antoinette, with a spinster friend in East Angl...
Undiscovered Country by Kelly O'Connor McNees
Tomorrow Is Forever by Gwen Bristow
Wartime Sisters by Loigman
The Light Over London by Julia Kelly
The Only Woman in the Room by Marie Benedict
The Healer's War by Elizabeth Ann Scarborough