Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Ed Yong

Recommended Books

Edmund Soon-Weng Yong is a Malaysian-born British science journalist. He is a permanent staff member at The Atlantic, which he joined in 2015. His work has also been published by Nature, Scientific American, the BBC, Slate, The Guardian, The Times, New Scientist, Wired, The New York Times, and The New Yorker.
20 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Wild Souls book cover
Wild Souls
Freedom and Flourishing in the Non-Human World
Emma Marris - Jun 29, 2021
Goodreads Rating
From an acclaimed environmental writer, a groundbreaking and provocative new vision for our relationships with-and responsibilities toward-the planet's wild animals.Protecting wild animals and preserving the environment are two ideals so seemingly compatible as to be almost inseparable. But in fact, between animal welfare and conservation science t...
Ed Yong
Jul 16, 2021
These are both fantastic books.      source
Beloved Beasts book cover
Beloved Beasts
Fighting for Life in an Age of Extinction
Michelle Nijhuis - Mar 09, 2021
Goodreads Rating
A vibrant history of the modern conservation movement—told through the lives and ideas of the people who built it.In the late nineteenth century, as humans came to realize that our rapidly industrializing and globalizing societies were driving other animal species to extinction, a movement to protect and conserve them was born. In Beloved Beasts, a...
Ed Yong
Jul 16, 2021
These are both fantastic books.      source
Also recommended by
Deborah Blum
Our Biggest Experiment book cover
Our Biggest Experiment
An Epic History of the Climate Crisis
Alice Bell - Sep 21, 2021
Goodreads Rating
Traversing science, politics, and technology, Our Biggest Experiment shines a spotlight on the little-known scientists who sounded the alarm to reveal the history behind the defining story of our age: the climate crisis. In 1856, American scientist and women's rights activist Eunice Newton Foote first warned the world that an atmosphere heavy with ...
Ed Yong
Jun 14, 2021
Good morning! Let me recommend some books. First, @alicebell's OUR BIGGEST EXPERIMENT--an epic narrative about climate change, and how we came to understand it. It's astonishing in its scope and ambition. Out Sept 21.      source
Fathoms book cover
Fathoms
The World in the Whale
Rebecca Giggs - Jul 28, 2020
Goodreads Rating
When writer Rebecca Giggs encountered a humpback whale stranded on her local beachfront in Australia, she began to wonder how the lives of whales shed light on the condition of our seas. Fathoms: The World in the Whale blends natural history, philosophy, and science to explore: How do whales experience ecological change? Will our connection to thes...
Ed Yong
Jul 28, 2020
YES!! I’m so excited for you all to read this! Rebecca Giggs is absolutely going to cement her position in the highest echelons of nature writers. This book is magic and wonder in every page.      source
Exit West book cover
Exit West
A Novel
Mohsin Hamid - Feb 27, 2018 (first published in 2017)
Goodreads Rating
In a country teetering on the brink of civil war, two young people meet—sensual, fiercely independent Nadia and gentle, restrained Saeed. They embark on a furtive love affair and are soon cloistered in a premature intimacy by the unrest roiling their city. When it explodes, turning familiar streets into a patchwork of checkpoints and bomb blasts, t...
Ed Yong
Sep 01, 2018
This is an astonishing book. The sentences unfurl like maps; entire lives, and profound wisdom, are captured in the short spaces between commas.      source
Also recommended by
Barack ObamaSimon Schama
The Dinosaur Artist book cover
The Dinosaur Artist
Obsession, Science, and the Global Quest for Fossils
Paige Williams - Sep 10, 2019
Goodreads Rating
In this 2018 New York Times Notable Book, Paige Williams "does for fossils what Susan Orlean did for orchids" (Book Riot) in her account of one Florida man's reckless attempt to sell a dinosaur skeleton from Mongolia--a story "steeped in natural history, human nature, commerce, crime, science, and politics" (Rebecca Skloot). In 2012, a New York auc...
Ed Yong
Jun 05, 2018
The four books I recommended at the end were: - She Has Her Mother's Laugh by Carl Zimmer - The Butchering Art by Lindsey Fitzharris - Unthinkable by Helen Thomson (out June) - The Dinosaur Artist by Paige Williams (out Sept) 2/      source
Unthinkable book cover
Unthinkable
An Extraordinary Journey Through the World's Strangest Brains
Helen Thomson - Jun 04, 2019 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
An Amazon Best Nonfiction Book of the MonthIndiebound Bestseller Award-winning science writer Helen Thomson unlocks the biggest mysteries of the human brain by examining nine extraordinary casesOur brains are far stranger than we think. We take it for granted that we can remember, feel emotion, navigate, empathise and understand the world around us...
Ed Yong
Jun 05, 2018
The four books I recommended at the end were: - She Has Her Mother's Laugh by Carl Zimmer - The Butchering Art by Lindsey Fitzharris - Unthinkable by Helen Thomson (out June) - The Dinosaur Artist by Paige Williams (out Sept) 2/      source
She Has Her Mother's Laugh book cover
She Has Her Mother's Laugh
The Powers, Perversions, and Potential of Heredity
Carl Zimmer - Jun 04, 2019
Goodreads Rating
Carl Zimmer presents a history of our understanding of heredity in this sweeping, resonating overview of a force that shaped human society--a force set to shape our future even more radically.She Has Her Mother's Laugh presents a profoundly original perspective on what we pass along from generation to generation. Charles Darwin played a crucial par...
Ed Yong
Jun 05, 2018
The four books I recommended at the end were: - She Has Her Mother's Laugh by Carl Zimmer - The Butchering Art by Lindsey Fitzharris - Unthinkable by Helen Thomson (out June) - The Dinosaur Artist by Paige Williams (out Sept) 2/      source
Butchering Art book cover
Butchering Art
Lindsey Fitzharris - Oct 01, 2018
Goodreads Rating
In The Butchering Art, the historian Lindsey Fitzharris reveals the shocking world of nineteenth-century surgery on the eve of profound transformation. She conjures up early operating theaters--no place for the squeamish--and surgeons, working before anesthesia, who were lauded for their speed and brute strength. These medical pioneers knew that th...
Ed Yong
Jun 05, 2018
The four books I recommended at the end were: - She Has Her Mother's Laugh by Carl Zimmer - The Butchering Art by Lindsey Fitzharris - Unthinkable by Helen Thomson (out June) - The Dinosaur Artist by Paige Williams (out Sept) 2/      source
Also recommended by
Raychelle Burks
The Immortalists book cover
The Immortalists
Chloe Benjamin - Feb 05, 2019 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: The Washington Post, NPR, Entertainment Weekly, Real Simple, Marie Claire, New York Public Library, LibraryReads, The Skimm, Lit Hub, Lit Reactor AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"A captivating family saga."--The New York Times Book Review"This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt."--Peo...
Ed Yong
Jun 03, 2018
Three glorious books I read last month. Would highly recommend all of them. - The Ministry of Utmost Happiness, by Arundhati Roy - Sing, Unburied, Sing, by Jesmyn Ward - The Immortalists, by Chloe Benjamin      source
Sing, Unburied, Sing book cover
Sing, Unburied, Sing
A Novel
Jesmyn Ward - May 08, 2018 (first published in 2017)
Goodreads Rating
A searing and profound Southern odyssey by National Book Award–winner Jesmyn Ward.In Jesmyn Ward’s first novel since her National Book Award–winning Salvage the Bones, this singular American writer brings the archetypal road novel into rural twenty-first-century America. Drawing on Morrison and Faulkner, The Odyssey and the Old Testament, Ward give...
Ed Yong
Jun 03, 2018
Three glorious books I read last month. Would highly recommend all of them. - The Ministry of Utmost Happiness, by Arundhati Roy - Sing, Unburied, Sing, by Jesmyn Ward - The Immortalists, by Chloe Benjamin      source
Also recommended by
Barack ObamaCeleste Ng
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness by Arundhati Roy
The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry
A Burglar's Guide to the City by Geoff Manaugh
Beyond the Brain by Louise Barrett
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande
H Is for Hawk by Helen MacDonald
The Lagoon by Armand Marie Leroi
The Forest Unseen by David George Haskell
The Song of the Dodo by David Quammen