Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign in
Book SeriesV.I. Warshawski

V.I. Warshawski Series

V.I. Warshawski books in order

Victoria Iphigenia "V. I." Warshawski is a private investigator in Chicago.
Killing Floor book cover
Indemnity Only book cover
Killing Orders book cover
20 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Indemnity Only book cover
Book 1
Indemnity Only
Sara Paretsky - 1991-06-01
Goodreads Rating
A Chicago private eye, V.I. Warshawski, takes on a missing person's case with an anonymous client. But as she delves deeper, she realizes she's been set up and the stakes are much higher than she thought. With a young woman's life in danger, V.I. is in a race against time to uncover the truth before it's too late.
Killing Floor book cover
Book 3
Killing Floor
Lee Child - 2006-04-25 (first published in 1997)
Goodreads Rating
A military policeman turned drifter finds himself in the wrong place at the wrong time when he's arrested for murder in Margrave, Georgia. With no one on his side, he's left to prove his innocence and uncover the truth behind the crime. This page-turner also features a new intro from the author.
Recommended by
Malcolm Gladwell
Killing Orders book cover
Book 3
Killing Orders
A V.I. Warshawski Novel (V.I. Warshawski Novels Book 3)
Sara Paretsky - 2011-12-13 (first published in 1985)
Goodreads Rating
An FBI investigation and a threatening phone call put V.I.'s loyalty to her family to the test in this gripping mystery. Counterfeit stock certificates at her aunt's work raise suspicion, but V.I. is determined to clear her name. As she uncovers a connection between the Church and the Mob, the stakes get even higher. Will she be able to protect her family and solve the case?
Bitter Medicine book cover
Book 4
Bitter Medicine
Sara Paretsky - 1988-01-01 (first published in 1987)
Goodreads Rating
A private investigator takes on a troubling case involving a diabetic teen who goes into premature labor. After investigating possible malpractice, she falls for a doctor at the hospital. But when murder and violence strike, she finds herself at the center of a dangerous conspiracy. Bitter Medicine is a gripping novel that explores themes of love, justice, and betrayal.
Blood Shot book cover
Book 5
Blood Shot
A V. I. Warshawski Novel (V.I. Warshawski Novels Book 5)
Sara Paretsky - 1989-05-01 (first published in 1988)
Goodreads Rating
In "Blood Shot," V.I. Warshawski reluctantly returns to her old Chicago neighborhood to help a childhood friend find her father. But as she investigates, she uncovers a new corpse and a dangerous web of big business and chemical corruption. A thrilling mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat.
Burn Marks book cover
Book 6
Burn Marks
Sara PARETSKY - 1991-01-01 (first published in 1990)
Goodreads Rating
An arsonist is on the loose, and it's up to V.I. Warshawski to uncover the truth. When her aunt Elena shows up at her doorstep after a sleazy hotel fire, V.I. is thrown into Chicago's seedy world of homelessness, backroom deals, and bedroom politics. With new schemers and old cronies trying to stop her, V.I. must solve the case before it's too late.
Guardian Angel. Sara Paretsky book cover
Book 7
Guardian Angel. Sara Paretsky
V.I. Warshawski 7
Sara Paretsky - 1993-01-02 (first published in 1992)
Goodreads Rating
Amidst the gentrification of Racine Avenue, V.I. Warshawski finds herself in the middle of a battle for elderly Hattie Frizell's home and dogs. But when Hattie is rushed to the hospital and the Picheas become her legal guardians, V.I. starts to unravel a scandal involving a politically connected bank and a Chicago industrial family. As she investigates, V.I. finds herself facing former husband and old friends alike, in the most serious case of her career yet.
Tunnel Vision book cover
Book 8
Tunnel Vision
A V. I. Warshawski Novel (V.I. Warshawski Novels Book 8)
Sara Paretsky - 1995-05-01 (first published in 1994)
Goodreads Rating
Private detective V.I. Warshawski is a hold-out tenant in her Chicago office building, fighting to save it from being razed. When she discovers a homeless woman and her children in the building's basement, they disappear before she can rescue them. Worse yet, V.I. is implicated in a murder that she believes is linked to an upper-class domestic violence case. Her search for the truth leads her through the abandoned tunnels under Chicago, where she discovers corruption at the highest levels.
Hard Time book cover
Book 9
Hard Time
A V. I. Warshawski Novel (V.I. Warshawski Novels Book 9)
Sara Paretsky - 2000-09-12 (first published in 1999)
Goodreads Rating
Private investigator V.I. Warshawski returns in this riveting novel of suspense, as she becomes entangled in a case involving a media conglomerate, prison services, and the dark secrets of the entertainment industry. Written by master storyteller Sara Paretsky, Hard Time is a must-read for fans of the female detective genre.
Total Recall by Sara Paretsky
Blacklist by Sara Paretsky
Fire Sale by Sara Paretsky
Hardball by Sara Paretsky
Body Work by Sara Paretsky
Breakdown by Sara Paretsky
Critical Mass by Sara Paretsky
Brush Back by Sara Paretsky
Fallout by Sara Paretsky
Shell Game by Sara Paretsky
Dead Land by Sara Paretsky