Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Malcolm Gladwell

Recommended Books

Malcolm Timothy Gladwell CM is a Canadian journalist, author, and public speaker.
42 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
First Friends book cover
First Friends
The Powerful, Unsung (And Unelected) People Who Shaped Our Presidents
Gary Ginsberg - 2021-07-06
Goodreads Rating
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! A USA TODAY "BEST BOOKS OF 2021" PICK! In the bestselling tradition of The Presidents Club and Presidential Courage, White House history as told through the stories of the best friends and closest confidants of American presidents.Here are the riveting histories of myriad presidential friendships, among them:Ab...
Malcolm Gladwell
2021-06-14T13:08:40.000Z
I loved this book! ⁦@GaryLeeGinsberg⁩ makes sense of presidents through their best friends.      source
Think Again book cover
Think Again
The Power of Knowing What You Don't Know
Adam Grant - 2021-02-02
Goodreads Rating
We need to spend as much time rethinking as we do thinking.Why do we refresh our wardrobes every year, renovate our kitchens every decade, but never update our beliefs and our views? Why do we laugh at people using computers that are ten years old, but yet still cling to opinions we formed ten years ago?For too many of us, our ways of thinking beco...
Malcolm Gladwell
2021-02-02T16:33:22.000Z
Rule number one: never miss a new Adam Grant book! I loved this one! adam      source
Strangers to Ourselves book cover
Strangers to Ourselves
Discovering the Adaptive Unconscious
Timothy D. Wilson - 2004-05-15 (first published in 2002)
Goodreads Rating
"Know thyself," a precept as old as Socrates, is still good advice. But is introspection the best path to self-knowledge? What are we trying to discover, anyway? In an eye-opening tour of the unconscious, as contemporary psychological science has redefined it, Timothy D. Wilson introduces us to a hidden mental world of judgments, feelings, and moti...
Malcolm Gladwell
2018-06-01T00:00:00.000Z
It is one of the loveliest, most insightful books about social psychology that I ever read.      source
Just Kids book cover
Just Kids
Patti Smith - 2010-11-02
Goodreads Rating
"Patti Smith has graced us with a poetic masterpiece, a rare and privileged invitation to unlatch a treasure chest never before breached." - Johnny DeppIt was the summer Coltrane died, the summer of love and riots, and the summer when a chance encounter in Brooklyn led two young people on a path of art, devotion, and initiation. Patti Smith would e...
Malcolm Gladwell
2013-11-29T00:00:00.000Z
I finished it in one sitting, then wept. It's that good.      source
The Paris Architect book cover
The Paris Architect
A Novel
Charles Belfoure - 2014-07-15 (first published in 2013)
Goodreads Rating
A thrilling debut novel of World War II Paris, from an author who's been called "an up and coming Ken Follett." (Booklist) In 1942 Paris, gifted architect Lucien Bernard accepts a commission that will bring him a great deal of money and maybe get him killed. But if he's clever enough, he'll avoid any trouble. All he has to do is design a secret hid...
Malcolm Gladwell
2013-11-23T00:00:00.000Z
It is a beautiful and elegant account of an ordinary man's unexpected and reluctant descent into heroism during the second world war. I have no idea who Belfoure is, but he needs to write another book, now!      source
Drunk Tank Pink book cover
Drunk Tank Pink
And Other Unexpected Forces That Shape How We Think, Feel, and Behave
Adam Alter - 2014-02-25 (first published in 2013)
Goodreads Rating
A revelatory look at how our environment unconsciously yet dramatically shapes the judgments and decisions we make every dayMost of us go through life believing that we are in control of the choices we makethat we think and behave almost independently from the world around us. But as Drunk Tank Pink illustrates, the truth is our environment shapes ...
Malcolm Gladwell
2013-10-03T00:00:00.000Z
The best science book I read was Adam Alter’s “Drunk Tank Pink,” which is a really provocative look at how much our behavior is contextually determined.      source
Also recommended by
Vinod KhoslaAmy Cuddy
A Thousand Pardons book cover
A Thousand Pardons
A Novel
Jonathan Dee - 2013-03-12
Goodreads Rating
For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee’s novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness?Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point...
Malcolm Gladwell
2013-07-26T00:35:33.000Z
My favorite book of the summer so far: Jonathan Dee. "A Thousand Pardons."      source
Freakonomics book cover
Freakonomics
A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything (P.S.)
Steven D. Levitt - 2009-08-25 (first published in 2005)
Goodreads Rating
Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner offer the long-awaited paperback edition of Freakonomics, the runaway bestseller, including six Freakonomics columns from the New York Times Magazine and a Q & A with the authors.Which is more dangerous, a gun or a swimming pool?What do schoolteachers and sumo wrestlers have in common?How much do parents reall...
Malcolm Gladwell
2009-01-08T00:00:00.000Z
This book invented an entire genre. Economics was never supposed to be this entertaining.      source
Also recommended by
Daymond John
Traffic book cover
Traffic
Why We Drive the Way We Do (and What It Says About Us)
Tom Vanderbilt - 2009-08-11 (first published in 2008)
Goodreads Rating
A New York Times Notable BookOne of the Best Books of the YearThe Washington Post - The Cleveland Plain-Dealer - Rocky Mountain NewsIn this brilliant, lively, and eye-opening investigation, Tom Vanderbilt examines the perceptual limits and cognitive underpinnings that make us worse drivers than we think we are. He demonstrates why plans to protect ...
Malcolm Gladwell
2009-01-08T00:00:00.000Z
One of the heirs to the Freakonomics legacy. A very clever young writer tells us all sorts of things about what driving says about us. I kept waiting for the moment when my interest in congestion and roads would run its course. It never did.      source
Also recommended by
Rory Sutherland
The Opposable Mind book cover
The Opposable Mind
How Successful Leaders Win Through Integrative Thinking
Roger L. Martin - 2007-10-28
Goodreads Rating
If you want to be as successful as Jack Welch, Larry Bossidy, or Michael Dell, read their autobiographical advice books, right? Wrong, says Roger Martin in The Opposable Mind. Though following best practice can help in some ways, it also poses a danger: By emulating what a great leader did in a particular situation, you'll likely be terribly disapp...
Malcolm Gladwell
2009-01-08T00:00:00.000Z
Explores what makes great CEOs stand out from their peers. I realize that there are thousands of business books on the subject, but, trust me, this is the first to really answer the question.      source
Together book cover
Together
Vivek H Murthy - 2020-04-21
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy by John le Carré
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold by John le Carré
Past Tense by Lee Child
The Midnight Line by Lee Child
Irresistible by Adam Alter
Night School by Lee Child
Jack Reacher by Lee Child
Make Me by Lee Child
Personal by Lee Child
Without Fail by Lee Child
Killing Floor by Lee Child
A Wanted Man by Lee Child
The Affair by Lee Child
The Enemy by Lee Child
The Little Drummer Girl by John le Carré
Worth Dying For by Lee Child
The Big Short by Michael Lewis
Checklist Manifesto by Atul Gawande
61 Hours by Lee Child
Gone Tomorrow by Lee Child
Bad Luck and Trouble by Lee Child
Nothing to Lose by Lee Child
Echo Burning by Lee Child
Running Blind by Lee Child
Tripwire by Lee Child
Die Trying by Lee Child
The Hard Way by Lee Child
One Shot by Lee Child
The Russia House by John le Carre
Persuader by Lee Child
Merchant Princes by Leon A. Harris