Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Malcolm Gladwell

author
journalist

Recommended Books

Malcolm Timothy Gladwell CM is a Canadian journalist, author, and public speaker.
40 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Strangers to Ourselves
Discovering the Adaptive Unconscious
Timothy D. Wilson - May 15, 2004 (first published in 2002)
Goodreads Rating
"Know thyself," a precept as old as Socrates, is still good advice. But is introspection the best path to self-knowledge? What are we trying to discover, anyway? In an eye-opening tour of the unconscious, as contemporary psychological science has redefined it, Timothy D. Wilson introduces us to a hidden mental world of judgments, feelings, and moti...
Malcolm Gladwell
Jun 01, 2018
It is one of the loveliest, most insightful books about social psychology that I ever read.      source
Just Kids
Patti Smith - Nov 02, 2010
Goodreads Rating
"Patti Smith has graced us with a poetic masterpiece, a rare and privileged invitation to unlatch a treasure chest never before breached." - Johnny DeppIt was the summer Coltrane died, the summer of love and riots, and the summer when a chance encounter in Brooklyn led two young people on a path of art, devotion, and initiation. Patti Smith would e...
Malcolm Gladwell
Nov 29, 2013
I finished it in one sitting, then wept. It's that good.     source
The Paris Architect
A Novel
Charles Belfoure - Jul 15, 2014 (first published in 2013)
Goodreads Rating
A thrilling debut novel of World War II Paris, from an author who's been called "an up and coming Ken Follett." (Booklist) In 1942 Paris, gifted architect Lucien Bernard accepts a commission that will bring him a great deal of money and maybe get him killed. But if he's clever enough, he'll avoid any trouble. All he has to do is design a secret hi...
Malcolm Gladwell
Nov 23, 2013
It is a beautiful and elegant account of an ordinary man's unexpected and reluctant descent into heroism during the second world war. I have no idea who Belfoure is, but he needs to write another book, now!     source
Drunk Tank Pink
And Other Unexpected Forces That Shape How We Think, Feel, and Behave
Adam Alter - Feb 25, 2014 (first published in 2013)
Goodreads Rating
A revelatory look at how our environment unconsciously yet dramatically shapes the judgments and decisions we make every dayMost of us go through life believing that we are in control of the choices we makethat we think and behave almost independently from the world around us. But as Drunk Tank Pink illustrates, the truth is our environment shapes ...
Malcolm Gladwell
Oct 03, 2013
The best science book I read was Adam Alter’s “Drunk Tank Pink,” which is a really provocative look at how much our behavior is contextually determined.     source
Also recommended by
Vinod Khosla
A Thousand Pardons
A Novel
Jonathan Dee - Mar 12, 2013
Goodreads Rating
For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee’s novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness?Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point...
Malcolm Gladwell
Jul 26, 2013
My favorite book of the summer so far: Jonathan Dee. "A Thousand Pardons."     source
Freakonomics
A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything (P.S.)
Steven D. Levitt - Aug 25, 2009 (first published in 2005)
Goodreads Rating
Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner offer the long-awaited paperback edition of Freakonomics, the runaway bestseller, including six Freakonomics columns from the New York Times Magazine and a Q & A with the authors.Which is more dangerous, a gun or a swimming pool?What do schoolteachers and sumo wrestlers have in common?How much do parents reall...
Malcolm Gladwell
Jan 08, 2009
This book invented an entire genre. Economics was never supposed to be this entertaining.     source
Also recommended by
Daymond John
Traffic
Why We Drive the Way We Do (and What It Says About Us)
Tom Vanderbilt - Aug 11, 2009 (first published in 2008)
Goodreads Rating
A New York Times Notable BookOne of the Best Books of the YearThe Washington Post - The Cleveland Plain-Dealer - Rocky Mountain NewsIn this brilliant, lively, and eye-opening investigation, Tom Vanderbilt examines the perceptual limits and cognitive underpinnings that make us worse drivers than we think we are. He demonstrates why plans to protect ...
Malcolm Gladwell
Jan 08, 2009
One of the heirs to the Freakonomics legacy. A very clever young writer tells us all sorts of things about what driving says about us. I kept waiting for the moment when my interest in congestion and roads would run its course. It never did.     source
The Opposable Mind
How Successful Leaders Win Through Integrative Thinking
Roger L. Martin - Oct 28, 2007
Goodreads Rating
If you want to be as successful as Jack Welch, Larry Bossidy, or Michael Dell, read their autobiographical advice books, right? Wrong, says Roger Martin in The Opposable Mind. Though following best practice can help in some ways, it also poses a danger: By emulating what a great leader did in a particular situation, you'll likely be terribly disapp...
Malcolm Gladwell
Jan 08, 2009
Explores what makes great CEOs stand out from their peers. I realize that there are thousands of business books on the subject, but, trust me, this is the first to really answer the question.     source
Together
The Healing Power of Human Connection in a Sometimes Lonely World
Vivek H Murthy M.D. - Apr 21, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Malcolm Gladwell
The author reminds us that our national conversation about medicine has been too narrowly focused on hospitals, doctors, and drugs—and not enough on the human connections that sustain us.     source
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold
John le Carré - Jul 04, 2019 (first published in 1963)
Goodreads Rating
In this classic, John le Carre's third novel and the first to earn him international acclaim, he created a world unlike any previously experienced in suspense fiction. With unsurpassed knowledge culled from his years in British Intelligence, le Carre brings to light the shadowy dealings of international espionage in the tale of a British agent who ...
Malcolm Gladwell
You must read The Spy Who Came in from the Cold.     source
Past Tense
A Jack Reacher Novel
Lee Child - Nov 05, 2018
Goodreads Rating
Jack Reacher plans to follow the autumn sun on an epic road trip across America, from Maine to California. He doesn't get far. On a country road deep in the New England woods, he sees a sign to a place he has never been - the town where his father was born. He thinks, what's one extra day? He takes the detour.At the very same moment, close by, a ca...
The Midnight Line by Lee Child
Irresistible by Adam Alter
Night School by Lee Child
Jack Reacher by Lee Child
Make Me by Lee Child
Personal by Lee Child
Without Fail by Lee Child
Killing Floor by Lee Child
A Wanted Man by Lee Child
The Affair by Lee Child
The Enemy by Lee Child
The Little Drummer Girl by John le Carré
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy by John le Carré
Worth Dying For by Lee Child
The Big Short by Michael Lewis
Checklist Manifesto by Atul Gawande
61 Hours by Lee Child
Gone Tomorrow by Lee Child
Bad Luck and Trouble by Lee Child
Nothing to Lose by Lee Child
Echo Burning by Lee Child
Running Blind by Lee Child
Tripwire by Lee Child
Die Trying by Lee Child
The Hard Way by Lee Child
One Shot by Lee Child
The Russia House by John le Carre
Persuader by Lee Child
Merchant Princes by Leon A. Harris