Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Kara Swisher

Recommended Books

Kara Swisher is an American technology business journalist and co-founder of Recode. She became a contributing writer to The New York Times Opinion Section in 2018. Previously she wrote for The Wall Street Journal, serving as co-executive editor of All Things Digital.
17 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
This Is How They Tell Me the World Ends book cover
This Is How They Tell Me the World Ends
The Cyberweapons Arms Race
Nicole Perlroth - 2021-02-09
Goodreads Rating
From The New York Times cybersecurity reporter Nicole Perlroth, the untold story of the cyberweapons market-the most secretive, invisible, government-backed market on earth-and a terrifying first look at a new kind of global warfare.Zero day: a software bug that allows a hacker to break into your devices and move around undetected. One of the most ...
Kara Swisher
2021-01-23T20:43:21.000Z
This is my Saturday because I am a workaholic loser. Then again, given how good these books by @nicoleperlroth abd @AdamMGrant are, I am also a winner.      source
Think Again book cover
Think Again
The Power of Knowing What You Don't Know
Adam Grant - 2021-02-02
Goodreads Rating
We need to spend as much time rethinking as we do thinking.Why do we refresh our wardrobes every year, renovate our kitchens every decade, but never update our beliefs and our views? Why do we laugh at people using computers that are ten years old, but yet still cling to opinions we formed ten years ago?For too many of us, our ways of thinking beco...
Kara Swisher
2021-01-23T20:43:21.000Z
This is my Saturday because I am a workaholic loser. Then again, given how good these books by @nicoleperlroth abd @AdamMGrant are, I am also a winner.      source
The Araboolies of Liberty Street book cover
The Araboolies of Liberty Street
Sam Swope - 2001-04-09 (first published in 1989)
Goodreads Rating
The kids of Liberty Street join forces to help the Araboolies when mean General Pinch orders them to move because they look different....
Kara Swisher
2020-08-05T01:25:38.000Z
Highly recommend this children’s book about colorful people and those who try to call out the army against them.      source
Trick Mirror book cover
Trick Mirror
Jia Tolentino - 2019-08-08
Goodreads Rating
From one of the brightest young chroniclers of US culture comes this dazzling collection of essays on the internet, the self, feminism and politicsWe are living in the era of the self, in an era of malleable truth and widespread personal and political delusion. In these nine interlinked essays, Jia Tolentino, the New Yorker’s brightest young talent...
Kara Swisher
2020-06-30T05:41:10.000Z
I read Trick Mirror last year, but just listened to ⁦this superb book of essays by ⁦@jiatolentino⁩ as a contemplate my own and hearing her deliver these blue-flame insights, one after another, that are so exactly right on the internet landscape, inspires. Highly recommend.      source
Uncanny Valley book cover
Uncanny Valley
Anna Wiener - 2020-01-01
Goodreads Rating
The prescient, page-turning account of a journey in Silicon Valley: a defining memoir of our digital ageIn her mid-twenties, at the height of tech industry idealism, Anna Wiener—stuck, broke, and looking for meaning in her work, like any good millennial—left a job in book publishing for the promise of the new digital economy. She moved from New Yor...
Kara Swisher
2020-01-06T16:54:49.000Z
@AmyAlex63 @GuardianUS Agreed but it is a great book and very sly      source
Permanent Record book cover
Permanent Record
Edward Snowden - 2019-09-17
Goodreads Rating
Edward Snowden, the man who risked everything to expose the US government’s system of mass surveillance, reveals for the first time the story of his life, including how he helped to build that system and what motivated him to try to bring it down.In 2013, twenty-nine-year-old Edward Snowden shocked the world when he broke with the American intellig...
Kara Swisher
2019-10-30T15:42:26.000Z
Btw @Snowden new book “Permanent Record” is quite good and surprisingly a love letter to the Internet as it was.      source
Also recommended by
Alexis OhanianDaniel Dennett
Antisocial book cover
Antisocial
Online Extremists, Techno-Utopians, and the Hijacking of the American Conversation
Andrew Marantz - 2020-09-15 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Trenchant and intelligent. --The New York TimesAs seen/heard on NPR, New Yorker Radio Hour, The New York Book Review Podcast, PBS Newshour, CNBC, and more. A New York Times Book Review Editors' ChoiceA New York Times Notable Book of 2019From a rising star at The New Yorker, a deeply immersive chronicle of how the optimistic entrepreneurs of Silicon...
Kara Swisher
2019-10-10T21:27:17.000Z
Me in my first ⁦⁦@nytimesbooks review on ⁦@andrewmarantz⁩ book “Antisocial” — love the book, even if it covers a trend I hate: Trolls Are Everywhere. Now What Are We Supposed to Do?      source
She Said book cover
She Said
Breaking the Sexual Harassment Story That Helped Ignite a Movement
Jodi Kantor - 2019-09-10
Goodreads Rating
From the Pulitzer Prize-winning reporters who broke the news of Harvey Weinstein's sexual harassment and abuse for the New York Times, Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, the thrilling untold story of their investigation and its consequences for the #MeToo movement For many years, reporters had tried to get to the truth about Harvey Weinstein's treatment...
Kara Swisher
2019-09-12T18:19:27.000Z
I love my job making content on the Recode Decode podcast, but it is a particular pleasure when I get to talk to two of the best reporters who truly are impacting the world: @mega2e and @jodikantor of the @nytimes whose book on Weinstein “She Said” is now out. Buy it, I command.      source
Super Pumped book cover
Super Pumped
The Battle for Uber
Mike Isaac - 2019-09-03
Goodreads Rating
In June 2017, Travis Kalanick, the hard-charging CEO of Uber, was ousted in a boardroom coup that capped a brutal year for the transportation giant. Uber had catapulted to the top of the tech world, yet for many came to symbolize everything wrong with Silicon Valley.Award-winning New York Times technology correspondent Mike Isaac’s Super Pumped pre...
Kara Swisher
2019-08-29T06:27:08.000Z
Let us all fete @MikeIsaac for his great book “Super Pumped” on @Uber      source
Juliet Takes a Breath book cover
Juliet Takes a Breath
The Graphic Novel
Gabby Rivera - 2020-12-01
Goodreads Rating
For fans of Bloom and Spinning, critically-acclaimed writer Gabby Rivera (Marvel's America) adapts her bestselling novel alongside artist Celia Moscote in an unforgettable queer coming-of-age story exploring race, identity and what it means to be true to your amazing self. Even when the rest of the world doesn't understand. Juliet Milagros Palante ...
Kara Swisher
2019-08-12T14:21:42.000Z
This is hands down the best book I have read in a while by @QuirkyRican. @rgay is right except double f***ing outstanding.      source
The Trial book cover
The Trial
Franz Kafka - 2020-10-06
Disrupted by Dan Lyons
The White Album by Joan Didion
Slouching Towards Bethlehem by Joan Didion
Markings by Dag Hammarskjold
A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories by Ray Bradbury
The Elements of Style by William Strunk Jr.