Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Kara Swisher

entrepreneur

Recommended Books

Kara Swisher is an American technology business journalist and co-founder of Recode. She became a contributing writer to The New York Times Opinion Section in 2018. Previously she wrote for The Wall Street Journal, serving as co-executive editor of All Things Digital.
17 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
This Is How They Tell Me the World Ends
The Cyberweapons Arms Race
Nicole Perlroth - Feb 09, 2021
Goodreads Rating
From The New York Times cybersecurity reporter Nicole Perlroth, the untold story of the cyberweapons market-the most secretive, invisible, government-backed market on earth-and a terrifying first look at a new kind of global warfare.Zero day: a software bug that allows a hacker to break into your devices and move around undetected. One of the most ...
Kara Swisher
Jan 23, 2021
This is my Saturday because I am a workaholic loser. Then again, given how good these books by @nicoleperlroth abd @AdamMGrant are, I am also a winner.      source
Think Again
The Power of Knowing What You Don't Know
Adam Grant - Feb 02, 2021
Goodreads Rating
We need to spend as much time rethinking as we do thinking.Why do we refresh our wardrobes every year, renovate our kitchens every decade, but never update our beliefs and our views? Why do we laugh at people using computers that are ten years old, but yet still cling to opinions we formed ten years ago?For too many of us, our ways of thinking beco...
Kara Swisher
Jan 23, 2021
This is my Saturday because I am a workaholic loser. Then again, given how good these books by @nicoleperlroth abd @AdamMGrant are, I am also a winner.      source
The Araboolies of Liberty Street
Sam Swope - Apr 09, 2001 (first published in 1989)
Goodreads Rating
The kids of Liberty Street join forces to help the Araboolies when mean General Pinch orders them to move because they look different....
Kara Swisher
Aug 05, 2020
Highly recommend this children’s book about colorful people and those who try to call out the army against them.      source
Trick Mirror
Jia Tolentino - Aug 08, 2019
Goodreads Rating
From one of the brightest young chroniclers of US culture comes this dazzling collection of essays on the internet, the self, feminism and politicsWe are living in the era of the self, in an era of malleable truth and widespread personal and political delusion. In these nine interlinked essays, Jia Tolentino, the New Yorker’s brightest young talent...
Kara Swisher
Jun 30, 2020
I read Trick Mirror last year, but just listened to ⁦this superb book of essays by ⁦@jiatolentino⁩ as a contemplate my own and hearing her deliver these blue-flame insights, one after another, that are so exactly right on the internet landscape, inspires. Highly recommend.      source
Uncanny Valley
Anna Wiener - Jan 01, 2020
Goodreads Rating
The prescient, page-turning account of a journey in Silicon Valley: a defining memoir of our digital ageIn her mid-twenties, at the height of tech industry idealism, Anna Wiener—stuck, broke, and looking for meaning in her work, like any good millennial—left a job in book publishing for the promise of the new digital economy. She moved from New Yor...
Kara Swisher
Jan 06, 2020
@AmyAlex63 @GuardianUS Agreed but it is a great book and very sly      source
Permanent Record
Edward Snowden - Sep 17, 2019
Goodreads Rating
Edward Snowden, the man who risked everything to expose the US government’s system of mass surveillance, reveals for the first time the story of his life, including how he helped to build that system and what motivated him to try to bring it down.In 2013, twenty-nine-year-old Edward Snowden shocked the world when he broke with the American intellig...
Kara Swisher
Oct 30, 2019
Btw @Snowden new book “Permanent Record” is quite good and surprisingly a love letter to the Internet as it was.      source
Also recommended by
Alexis OhanianDaniel Dennett
Antisocial
Online Extremists, Techno-Utopians, and the Hijacking of the American Conversation
Andrew Marantz - Sep 15, 2020 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Trenchant and intelligent. --The New York TimesAs seen/heard on NPR, New Yorker Radio Hour, The New York Book Review Podcast, PBS Newshour, CNBC, and more. A New York Times Book Review Editors' ChoiceA New York Times Notable Book of 2019From a rising star at The New Yorker, a deeply immersive chronicle of how the optimistic entrepreneurs of Silicon...
Kara Swisher
Oct 10, 2019
Me in my first ⁦⁦@nytimesbooks review on ⁦@andrewmarantz⁩ book “Antisocial” — love the book, even if it covers a trend I hate: Trolls Are Everywhere. Now What Are We Supposed to Do?      source
She Said
Breaking the Sexual Harassment Story That Helped Ignite a Movement
Jodi Kantor - Sep 10, 2019
Goodreads Rating
From the Pulitzer Prize-winning reporters who broke the news of Harvey Weinstein's sexual harassment and abuse for the New York Times, Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, the thrilling untold story of their investigation and its consequences for the #MeToo movement For many years, reporters had tried to get to the truth about Harvey Weinstein's treatment...
Kara Swisher
Sep 12, 2019
I love my job making content on the Recode Decode podcast, but it is a particular pleasure when I get to talk to two of the best reporters who truly are impacting the world: @mega2e and @jodikantor of the @nytimes whose book on Weinstein “She Said” is now out. Buy it, I command.      source
Super Pumped
The Battle for Uber
Mike Isaac - Sep 03, 2019
Goodreads Rating
In June 2017, Travis Kalanick, the hard-charging CEO of Uber, was ousted in a boardroom coup that capped a brutal year for the transportation giant. Uber had catapulted to the top of the tech world, yet for many came to symbolize everything wrong with Silicon Valley.Award-winning New York Times technology correspondent Mike Isaac’s Super Pumped pre...
Kara Swisher
Aug 29, 2019
Let us all fete @MikeIsaac for his great book “Super Pumped” on @Uber      source
Juliet Takes a Breath
Gabby Rivera - Sep 17, 2019 (first published in 2016)
Goodreads Rating
A gutsy, queer coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour, Rainbow Rowell, and Elizabeth Acevedo.Juliet Milagros Palante is a self-proclaimed closeted Puerto Rican baby dyke from the Bronx. Only, she's not so closeted anymore. Not after coming out to her family the night before flying to Portland, Oregon, to intern with her favorite femini...
Kara Swisher
Aug 12, 2019
This is hands down the best book I have read in a while by @QuirkyRican. @rgay is right except double f***ing outstanding.      source
Disrupted
My Misadventure in the Start-Up Bubble
Dan Lyons - Mar 07, 2017 (first published in 2016)
Goodreads Rating
An instant New York Times bestseller, Dan Lyons' "hysterical" (Recode) memoir, hailed by the Los Angeles Times as "the best book about Silicon Valley," takes readers inside the maddening world of fad-chasing venture capitalists, sales bros, social climbers, and sociopaths at today's tech startups. For twenty-five years Dan Lyons was a magazine writ...
Kara Swisher
Feb 28, 2018
@DannySkarka Lots had been written about that but always a great topic. I recommend Dan Lyon’s book      source
The Trial by Franz Kafka
The White Album by Joan Didion
Slouching Towards Bethlehem by Joan Didion
Markings by Dag Hammarskjold
A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories by Ray Bradbury
The Elements of Style by William Strunk Jr.