Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Cindy Gallop

entrepreneur
marketer

Recommended Books

Lucinda "Cindy" Lee Gallop is an English advertising consultant, founder and former chair of the US branch of advertising firm Bartle Bogle Hegarty, and founder of the IfWeRanTheWorld and MakeLoveNotPorn companies.
8 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Girl A
A Novel
Abigail Dean - Feb 02, 2021
Goodreads Rating
For readers of Room and Sharp Objects, a propulsive and psychologically immersive novel about a young girl who escapes captivity--but not the secrets that shadow the rest of her life."'Girl A, ' she said. 'The girl who escaped. If anyone was going to make it, it was going to be you.'"Lex Gracie doesn't want to think about her family. She doesn't wa...
Cindy Gallop
Feb 22, 2021
HIGHLY recommended (albeit with trigger warning for child abuse): @abigailsdean @VikingBooks #GirlA. A harrowing, utterly riveting, unputdownable read, and one of those books you can't stop thinking about for a long time afterwards. Buy it here:      source
Also recommended by
Ellen Coyne
Why Do So Many Incompetent Men Become Leaders?
(And How to Fix It)
Tomas Chamorro-Premuzic - Mar 12, 2019
Goodreads Rating
Look around your office. Turn on the TV. Incompetent leadership is everywhere, and there's no denying that most of these leaders are men.In this timely and provocative book, Tomas Chamorro-Premuzic asks two powerful questions: Why is it so easy for incompetent men to become leaders? And why is it so hard for competent people—especially competent wo...
Cindy Gallop
Nov 11, 2020
@monicawright And buy @drtcp's book, which carries my blurb saying that it's the most important business leadership book of our time:      source
Also recommended by
Anita Zielina
Why Women Are Blamed For Everything
Exploring the Victim Blaming of Women Subjected to Violence and Trauma
Jessica Taylor - Apr 15, 2020
Goodreads Rating
She asked for it. She was flirting. She was drinking. She was wearing a revealing dress. She was too confident. She walked home alone. She stayed in that relationship. She was naïve. She didn’t report soon enough. She didn’t fight back. She wanted it. She lied about it. She comes from a bad area. She was vulnerable. She should have known. She shoul...
Cindy Gallop
Aug 22, 2020
If you want to see why @DrJessTaylor's book 'Why Women Are Blamed For Everything' is so critically important, go to @emsayle's @LinkedIn post about the horrific 30-men gang-rape of a 16 year old Israeli teenager, and read Logan Hicks' comments:      source
I'm Thinking of Ending Things
A Novel
Iain Reid - Mar 21, 2017
Goodreads Rating
You will be scared. But you won’t know why…I’m thinking of ending things. Once this thought arrives, it stays. It sticks. It lingers. It’s always there. Always.Jake once said, “Sometimes a thought is closer to truth, to reality, than an action. You can say anything, you can do anything, but you can’t fake a thought.”And here’s what I’m thinking: I ...
Cindy Gallop
Jun 17, 2020
Wanna be scared shitless? Read this book. Utterly gripping, brilliant dread-builder. I could have easily read it in one sitting last night (or lying - I was in bed) but made myself stop because I needed to continue in broad daylight. @reid_iain Buy here:      source
For the Love of Men
From Toxic to a More Mindful Masculinity
Liz Plank - Sep 10, 2019
Goodreads Rating
A nonfiction investigation into masculinity, For the Love of Men provides actionable steps for how to be a man in the modern world while also exploring how being a man has evolved.In 2019, traditional masculinity is both rewarded and sanctioned. Men grow up being told that boys don’t cry and dolls are for girls. They learn they must hide their feel...
Cindy Gallop
Dec 01, 2019
@3PercentConf "I cannot recommend to you too highly, white men in advertising, but also to everyone in this audience, please read @feministabulous's brilliant book, 'For The Love Of Men: A New Vision For Mindful Masculinity'" @3PercentConf #changetheratio #diversity      source
She Said
Breaking the Sexual Harassment Story That Helped Ignite a Movement
Jodi Kantor - Sep 10, 2019
Goodreads Rating
From the Pulitzer Prize-winning reporters who broke the news of Harvey Weinstein's sexual harassment and abuse for the New York Times, Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, the thrilling untold story of their investigation and its consequences for the #MeToo movement For many years, reporters had tried to get to the truth about Harvey Weinstein's treatment...
Cindy Gallop
Sep 15, 2019
Everybody, @jodikantor @mega2e's book is a MUST-READ - buy it here: I'm ordering copies to be delivered to @adage @adweek @CampaignLiveUS @campaignmag @thedrum because this is THE investigative roadmap for how you expose the Weinsteins of the ad industry      source
Disappearing Earth
Julia Phillips - Apr 07, 2020 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
One of The New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year...
Cindy Gallop
Jul 02, 2019
This book is absolutely bloody brilliant. Extraordinary sense of place, people, culture, society. I was riveted and didn't want it to end. Highly recommended. @jkbphillips @AAKnopf #disappearingearth      source
Also recommended by
Bethanne Patrick
Lolita
Vladimir Nabokov - Mar 13, 1989 (first published in 1955)
Goodreads Rating
Awe and exhilaration--along with heartbreak and mordant wit--abound in Lolita, Nabokov's most famous and controversial novel, which tells the story of the aging Humbert Humbert's obsessive, devouring, and doomed passion for the nymphet Dolores Haze. Lolita is also the story of a hypercivilized European colliding with the cheerful barbarism of postw...
Cindy Gallop
May 07, 2018
'Best book you have ever read?' "Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov." I answer @zanger @thedrum 10 Questions      source