Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Ellen Coyne

journalist

Recommended Books

6 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Girl A
A Novel
Abigail Dean - Feb 02, 2021
Goodreads Rating
For readers of Room and Sharp Objects, a propulsive and psychologically immersive novel about a young girl who escapes captivity--but not the secrets that shadow the rest of her life."'Girl A, ' she said. 'The girl who escaped. If anyone was going to make it, it was going to be you.'"Lex Gracie doesn't want to think about her family. She doesn't wa...
Ellen Coyne
Jan 22, 2021
I started Girl A this evening and just finished it 🤯 ideal for anyone who’s struggling to concentrate enough to finish a book in lockdown, because you’ll have no choice but to read it in one go      source
Also recommended by
Cindy Gallop
A woman to blame
The Kerry babies case
Nell McCafferty - Jan 01, 1985
Goodreads Rating
Joanne Hayes, at 24 years of age, concealed the birth and death of her baby in County Kerry, Ireland, in 1984. Subsequently she confessed to the murder, by stabbing, of another baby. All of the scientific evidence showed that she could not have had this second baby. The police nevertheless, insisted on charging her and, after the charges were dropp...
Ellen Coyne
Dec 18, 2020
It’s hard to track down a physical copy but following today’s news about Joanne Hayes it’s well worth reading A Woman To Blame if you haven’t yet. One of the best books of reportage I’ve read.      source
After the Silence
Louise O'Neill - Jan 01, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Nessa Crowley's murderer has been protected by silence for ten years.Until a team of documentary makers decide to find out the truth.On the day of Henry and Keelin Kinsella's wild party at their big house a violent storm engulfed the island of Inisrun, cutting it off from the mainland. When morning broke Nessa Crowley's lifeless body lay in the gar...
Ellen Coyne
Aug 30, 2020
I was saving this book for my holidays next week but made the mistake of reading the first page yesterday and was compelled to finish it in less than a day 😳 it’s SUCH a fantastic, gripping thriller. I feel like I spent the weekend on Inisrún. It’s out on Thursday 📚      source
Three Little Truths
Eithne Shortall - Oct 03, 2019
Goodreads Rating
Big Little Lies meets One Plus One in this story of three women neighbors looking for a fresh start, and the love affairs, rivalries, and scandals found on the other side of the white picket fence.One happy street. Three pretty houses. So many lies.Martha used to be a force of nature: calm, collected, and in charge. But since moving her husband and...
Ellen Coyne
Oct 13, 2019
This is the perfect book to be coming home to on wintery evenings. It’s got a fabulous cast of characters and is a brilliant mix of shocking, funny and touching. @eithneshortall’s best book so far, which is no mean feat after how good the first two are 📚 💙      source
Filter This
Sophie White - Jul 21, 2020
Goodreads Rating
'Ali is one of the best flawed heroines in Irish commercial fiction since Rachel Walsh in Marian Keyes' ground-breaking Rachel's Holiday...' Sunday Times 'Hyper current ... hugely relevant' Irish Independent 'Modern and witty' Emer McLysaght, co-author of the Aisling books'So sweet, so funny -- I loved it' Marian KeyesThe Glossie Influencer Awards ...
Ellen Coyne
Sep 08, 2019
I was hooked on this book immediately and brought it EVERYWHERE with me over the past few days, trying to get a chance to read it whenever I could. I stayed up very, very late last night finishing it because putting it down really wasn’t an option 🤷🏻‍♀️ serious page turner ...      source
Also recommended by
Marian Keyes
Other Words for Smoke
Sarah Maria Griffin - Mar 12, 2019
Goodreads Rating
Haunting and literary, Sarah Maria Griffin’s sophomore novel follows twins Mae and Rossa as they discover a house full of witches, experience devastating first loves, and face a dark power beyond all imagining. Fans of Libba Bray’s The Diviners and Maggie Stiefvater’s All the Crooked Saints will devour this dark tale.When the house at the end of th...
Ellen Coyne
Apr 12, 2019
Stayed in bed all morning so that I could finish @griffski’s Other Words For Smoke and I feel like I’ve been spat out of another cosmos. It’s a gorgeous book that reads like it was woven together with witchcraft. I’ve never read anything like it!!! 🌚🧙‍♀️🔮#ReadIrishWomenChallenge      source