Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Bethanne Patrick

author
blogger

Recommended Books

Bethanne Patrick is a writer and book critic who blogs as The Book Maven. A graduate of Smith College with a master's from the University of Virginia, she hosts an online author interview show for PBS affiliate WETA
33 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Harold and the Purple Crayon
Crockett Johnson - Sep 29, 2015 (first published in 1955)
Goodreads Rating
"One night, after thinking it over for some time, Harold decided to go for a walk in the moonlight." So begins this gentle story that shows just how far your imagination can take you. Armed only with an oversized purple crayon, young Harold draws himself a landscape full of beauty and excitement. But this is no hare-brained, impulsive flight of fan...
Bethanne Patrick
Dec 03, 2020
@patricknathan Always and forever: HAROLD AND THE PURPLE CRAYON. Because I wanted to keep turning pages in that book. It made me hope I could one day get people to do that same. And yes, it took from age four to age ::mumblemumble::     source
The Butchers' Blessing
Ruth Gilligan - Nov 10, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Every year, Úna prepares for her father to leave her. He will wave goodbye early one morning, then disappear with seven other men to traverse the Irish countryside. Together, these men form The Butchers, a group that roams from farm to farm, enacting ancient methods of cattle slaughter.  The Butchers’ Blessing moves between the events of 1996 and t...
Bethanne Patrick
Nov 10, 2020
@robspillman I love this book!     source
Palm Beach, Finland
Antti Tuomainen - Apr 01, 2019 (first published in 2017)
Goodreads Rating
Jan Nyman, the ace detective of the covert operations unit of the National Central Police, is sent to a sleepy seaside town to investigate a mysterious death. Nyman arrives in the town dominated by a bizarre holiday village—the "hottest beach in Finland." The suspect: Olivia Koski, who has only recently returned to her old hometown. The mission: fi...
Bethanne Patrick
Oct 23, 2020
@dsaarinen @AlbaBrunetti I *loved* PALM BEACH FINLAND, love all of Anti Tuomainen's books.     source
New People
Danzy Senna - Jul 31, 2018 (first published in 2017)
Goodreads Rating
Named a BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW, VOGUE, TIME MAGAZINE, NPR and THE ROOT Named A 2017 BEST SUMMER READ BY...
Bethanne Patrick
Sep 02, 2020
I too loved that book! And I recommend Jess Row's YOUR FACE IN MINE.     source
Your Face in Mine
A Novel
Jess Row - Aug 04, 2015 (first published in 2014)
Goodreads Rating
A widely praised young writer delivers a daring, ambitious novel about identity and race in the age of globalization.   One afternoon, not long after Kelly Thorndike has moved back to his hometown of Baltimore, an African American man he doesn't recognize calls out to him. To Kelly’s shock, the man identifies himself as Martin, who was one of Kelly...
Bethanne Patrick
Sep 02, 2020
I too loved that book! And I recommend Jess Row's YOUR FACE IN MINE.     source
Full Tilt
Ireland to India with a Bicycle
Dervla Murphy - Dec 31, 2010 (first published in 1965)
Goodreads Rating
Based on her daily diary, this is Dervla Murphy’s account of her ride, in 1963, across frozen Europe and through Persia and Afghanistan, over the Himalayas to Pakistan and into India, during one of the worst winters in memory. She has written other travel books, including In Ethiopia with a Mule....
Bethanne Patrick
Sep 02, 2020
Loved Mary's book! I want MORE. But I highly recommend FULL TILT: From Ireland to India on a Bicycle by Dervla Murphy.     source
How Much of These Hills Is Gold
A Novel
C Pam Zhang - Apr 07, 2020
Goodreads Rating
An electric debut novel set against the twilight of the American gold rush, two siblings are on the run in an unforgiving landscape--trying not just to survive but to find a home.Ba dies in the night; Ma is already gone. Newly orphaned children of immigrants, Lucy and Sam are suddenly alone in a land that refutes their existence. Fleeing the threat...
Bethanne Patrick
Sep 02, 2020
TY Rachel! What a superb book. It calls to mind FREEDOM by Ha Jin. . .     source
Also recommended by
Barack Obama
A Burning
A novel
Megha Majumdar - Jun 02, 2020
Goodreads Rating
For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise—to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies—and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.Jivan is a Muslim girl from the slums, determined to move up in ...
Bethanne Patrick
Sep 02, 2020
Such a great book. I mean, GREAT. Hmmmm. Have you ever read Manil Suri's novels? Try THE AGE OF SHIVA.     source
The Age of Shiva
A Novel
Manil Suri - Jan 12, 2009 (first published in 2008)
Goodreads Rating
The Age of Shiva is at once a powerful story of a country in turmoil and an "unflinchingly honest" portrait of maternal love — "intricately interwoven with the ancient rites and myths" (Booklist) crucial to India's history. Meera, the narrator, is seventeen years old when she catches her first glimpse of Dev, performing a song so infused with passi...
Bethanne Patrick
Sep 02, 2020
Such a great book. I mean, GREAT. Hmmmm. Have you ever read Manil Suri's novels? Try THE AGE OF SHIVA.     source
The Black Kids
Christina Hammonds Reed - Aug 04, 2020
Goodreads Rating
“Infused with honesty, heart, and humor, The Black Kids is a true love letter to Los Angeles, highlighting the beauty and flaws of the city, and the people who call it home.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and vi...
Bethanne Patrick
Sep 02, 2020
I have the perfect book for you! THE BLACK KIDS by Christina Hammonds Reed.     source
The Book of Longings
A Novel
Sue Monk Kidd - Apr 21, 2020
Goodreads Rating
“I am Ana. I was the wife of Jesus.”...
Bethanne Patrick
Sep 01, 2020
A tough book to follow. Another one that satisfies me in a similar way is THE BOOK OF LONGINGS by Sue Monk Kidd.     source
Orange World and Other Stories by Karen Russell
Swamplandia! by Karen Russell
Friends and Strangers by J. Courtney Sullivan
Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid
Insomnia by Marina Benjamin
The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls by Ursula Hegi
These Women by Ivy Pochoda
Disappearing Earth by Julia Phillips
A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth
The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett
The Chiffon Trenches by André Leon Talley
The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai
The Faceless Old Woman Who Secretly Lives in Your Home by Joseph Fink
Beheld by TaraShea Nesbit
Separation Anxiety by Laura Zigman
Deacon King Kong by James McBride
The City We Became by N. K. Jemisin
How to Be an Artist by Jerry Saltz
We Ride Upon Sticks by Quan Barry
The Night Watchman by Louise Erdrich
Sharks in the Time of Saviors by Kawai Strong Washburn
A Lady in Waiting by Anne Glenconner