Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Darcie Wilder

Recommended Books

Darcie Wilder is a New York-based writer and the author of literally show me a healthy person (Tyrant Books, 2017).
19 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Tell Me I'm an Artist book cover
Tell Me I'm an Artist
Chelsea Martin - 2022-09-20
Goodreads Rating
A portrait of the artist as a work-in-progress (Sharma Shields), this hilarious and incisive coming-of-age novel about an art student from a poor family struggling to find her place in a new social class of rich, well-connected peers is perfect for fans of Elif Batuman's The Idiot and Weike Wang's Chemistry...
Darcie Wilder
2022-09-30T19:19:13.000Z
i love this book so much .. chelsea martin ... genius...      source
Aesthetica book cover
Aesthetica
Allie Rowbottom - 2022-11-22
Goodreads Rating
In a debut novel as radiant as it is caustic, a former influencer confronts her past—and takes inventory of the damages that underpin the surface-glamour of social media.At 19, she was an Instagram celebrity. Now, at 35, she works behind the cosmetic counter at the “black and white store,” peddling anti-aging products to women seeking physical and ...
Darcie Wilder
2022-07-29T17:29:11.000Z
one of my favorite/best books ive read this year... i WEPT      source
A Touch of Jen book cover
A Touch of Jen
Beth Morgan - 2021-07-13
Goodreads Rating
A young couple's toxic Instagram crush spins out of control and unleashes a sinister creature in this twisted, viciously funny, "bananas good" debut. (Carmen Maria Machado)"Um, holy shit...This novel will be the most fun you'll have this summer." —Emily Temple, Literary HubRemy and Alicia, a couple of insecure  service workers, are not particularly...
Darcie Wilder
2022-01-06T21:50:41.000Z
this book is so good      source
Welfare book cover
Welfare
Steve Anwyll - 2019-01-08
Goodreads Rating
Welfare is wholly made up of four-line paragraphs and has a cadence that is uniquely its own. A high school student leaves his parents' home to live on his own with friends and with the help of government aid. The narrator becomes your best friend on the first page.I walk down the slight slope of their driveway. A backpack full of t-shirts and sock...
Darcie Wilder
2021-04-15T02:20:56.000Z
more people should read this book      source
Severance book cover
Severance
A Novel
Ling Ma - 2019-05-07 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
Maybe it's the end of the world, but not for Candace Chen, a millennial, first-generation American and office drone meandering her way into adulthood in Ling Ma's offbeat, wryly funny, apocalyptic satire, Severance.Candace Chen, a millennial drone self-sequestered in a Manhattan office tower, is devoted to routine. With the recent passing of her Ch...
Darcie Wilder
2020-07-28T04:45:14.000Z
@AyeshaASiddiqi i LOVED it and immediately tried to get everyone i know to read it and one lost my copy. but this gif will probably motivate me into finally replacing it. truly a perfect book      source
Patsy book cover
Patsy
A Novel
Nicole Dennis-Benn - 2020-05-26 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
When Patsy gets her long-coveted visa to America, it comes after years of yearning to leave Pennyfield, the beautiful but impoverished Jamaican town where she was raised. More than anything, Patsy wishes to be reunited with her oldest friend, Cicely, whose letters arrive from New York steeped in the promise of a happier life and the possible rekind...
Darcie Wilder
2019-12-27T15:51:49.000Z
fav books i read this year      source
Women Talking book cover
Women Talking
Miriam Toews - 2020-03-03 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
National BestsellerWinner of the Brooklyn Public Library Literary Prize for FictionShortlisted for the Governor General's Award for FictionShortlisted for the Reading Women Award This amazing, sad, shocking, but touching novel, based on a real-life event, could be right out of The Handmaid's Tale. --Margaret Atwood, on Twitter"Scorching . . . Women...
Darcie Wilder
2019-12-27T15:51:49.000Z
fav books i read this year      source
Also recommended by
Mona Eltahawy
Uncanny Valley book cover
Uncanny Valley
Anna Wiener - 2020-01-01
Goodreads Rating
The prescient, page-turning account of a journey in Silicon Valley: a defining memoir of our digital ageIn her mid-twenties, at the height of tech industry idealism, Anna Wiener—stuck, broke, and looking for meaning in her work, like any good millennial—left a job in book publishing for the promise of the new digital economy. She moved from New Yor...
Darcie Wilder
2019-12-27T15:51:49.000Z
fav books i read this year      source
White Negroes book cover
White Negroes
When Cornrows Were in Vogue ... and Other Thoughts on Cultural Appropriation
Lauren Michele Jackson - 2019-11-12
Goodreads Rating
Exposes the new generation of whiteness thriving at the expense and borrowed ingenuity of black people—and explores how this intensifies racial inequality.American culture loves blackness. From music and fashion to activism and language, black culture constantly achieves worldwide influence. Yet, when it comes to who is allowed to thrive from black...
Darcie Wilder
2019-12-27T15:51:49.000Z
fav books i read this year      source
The Mutations book cover
The Mutations
A Novel
Jorge Comensal - 2019-11-12 (first published in 2016)
Goodreads Rating
A modern-day Flaubert takes us on a comic tour through a deeply neurotic Mexico CityRam�n Martinez is a militant atheist, successful lawyer, and conventional family man. But all of that changes when his privileged life disintegrates after cancer of the tongue deprives him of the source of his power and livelihood: speech.Jorge Comensal's The Mutati...
Darcie Wilder
2019-12-27T15:51:49.000Z
fav books i read this year      source
Washington Black by Esi Edugyan
A Terrible Country by Keith Gessen
Bullshit Jobs by David Graeber
Animals Eat Each Other by Elle Nash
Carceral Capitalism/ Intervention Series by Jackie Wang
The Answers by Catherine Lacey
10 by Ben Lerner
Women Food and God by Geneen Roth