Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Adam Rutherford

author
scientist
tv

Recommended Books

Adam David Rutherford is a British geneticist, author, and broadcaster. He was an audio-visual content editor for the journal Nature for a decade, and is a frequent contributor to the newspaper The Guardian.
5 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Transcendence
How Humans Evolved through Fire, Language, Beauty, and Time
Gaia Vince - Jan 21, 2020
Goodreads Rating
In the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, a winner of the Royal Society Prize for Science Books shows how four tools have enabled humans to control the destiny of our species.What enabled us to go from simple stone tools to smartphones? How did bands of hunter-gatherers evolve into multinational empires? Readers of Sapiens will say a ...
Adam Rutherford
Apr 13, 2021
I would suggest reading Transcendence by @WanderingGaia, Kindred by @LeMoustier, or the Book of Humans by me, which avoid these traps.      source
The Social Instinct
How Cooperation Shaped the World
Nichola Raihani - Aug 31, 2021
Goodreads Rating
In the tradition of Richard Dawkin’s The Selfish Gene, Nichola Raihani's The Social Instinct is a profound and engaging look at the hidden processes which have underpinned human evolution, revealing how much we have in common with far-flung species, and why cooperation is key to why we are the way we are and to our future survival......
Adam Rutherford
Feb 15, 2021
Jesse and I enormously enjoying this terrific book on evolution and cooperation by m’colleague @nicholaraihani      source
Also recommended by
Sarah-Jayne Blakemore
The Gene
An Intimate History
Siddhartha Mukherjee - May 02, 2017
Goodreads Rating
The #1 NEW YORK TIMES Bestseller The basis for the PBS Ken Burns Documentary The Gene: An Intimate History From the Pulitzer Prizewinning author of The Emperor of All Maladiesa fascinating history of the gene and a magisterial account of how human minds have laboriously, ingeniously picked apart what makes us tick (Elle). "Sid Mukherjee has the un...
Adam Rutherford
Jul 30, 2020
Hey, this is a must view. Sid’s book is outrageously good.      source
The Strangest Man
The Hidden Life of Paul Dirac, Mystic of the Atom
Graham Farmelo - Jun 28, 2011
Goodreads Rating
'A monumental achievement - one of the great scientific biographies.' Michael FraynThe Strangest Man is the Costa Biography Award-winning account of Paul Dirac, the famous physicist sometimes called the British Einstein. He was one of the leading pioneers of the greatest revolution in twentieth-century science: quantum mechanics. The youngest theor...
Adam Rutherford
Jul 15, 2020
@god_finance @grahamfarmelo It is a truly excellent book.      source
The Idea of the Brain
The Past and Future of Neuroscience
Matthew Cobb - Apr 21, 2020
Goodreads Rating
A powerful examination of what we think we know about the brain and why -- despite technological advances -- the workings of our most essential organ remain a mystery. For thousands of years, thinkers and scientists have tried to understand what the brain does. Yet, despite the astonishing discoveries of science, we still have only the vaguest ide...
Adam Rutherford
Jan 16, 2020
This isn’t my precise blurb, but this book is fucking brilliant.      source
Also recommended by
Sarah-Jayne Blakemore