Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Adam Rutherford

Recommended Books

Adam David Rutherford is a British geneticist, author, and broadcaster. He was an audio-visual content editor for the journal Nature for a decade, and is a frequent contributor to the newspaper The Guardian.
10 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Adam Rutherford
2022-07-10T21:03:11.000Z
This book is absolutely fascinating, a must read for cricket fans, even if you, like me, are not huge fans of the man himself. The recall and insight is incredible. However, this dedication is priceless, and I love it! @theoldbatsman      source
On Savage Shores book cover
On Savage Shores
How Indigenous Americans Discovered Europe
Caroline Dodds Pennock - 2023-01-24
A landmark work of narrative history that shatters our previous Eurocentric understanding of the Age of Discovery by telling the story of the Indigenous Americans who journeyed across the Atlantic to Europe after 1492We have long been taught to presume that modern global history began when the "Old World" encountered the "New", when Christopher Col...
Adam Rutherford
2022-06-22T15:02:59.000Z
I’ve read this book and you need to. Caroline is a fantastic storyteller, absolute expert, and the only person to tell this important history.      source
Endless Forms book cover
Endless Forms
The Secret World of Wasps
Seirian Sumner - 2022-07-12
Goodreads Rating
"A book that draws us in to the strange beauty of what we so often run away from." -- Robin Ince, author of The Importance of Being InterestedIn this eye-opening and entertaining work of popular science in the spirit of The Mosquito, Entangled Life, and The Book of Eels, a leading behavioural ecologist transforms our understanding of wasps, explori...
Adam Rutherford
2022-05-21T17:41:23.000Z
This book is brilliant and fascinating and funny and important. It’s really worth your while: gardeners, scientists, ecologists, anyone interested in the living world will love it, I promise. #endlessforms      source
Mr. Humble and Dr. Butcher book cover
Mr. Humble and Dr. Butcher
A Monkey's Head, the Pope's Neuroscientist, and the Quest to Transplant the Soul
Brandy Schillace - 2021-03-02
Goodreads Rating
The “delightfully macabre” (The New York Times) true tale of a brilliant and eccentric surgeon…and his quest to transplant the human soul.In the early days of the Cold War, a spirit of desperate scientific rivalry birthed a different kind of space race: not the race to outer space that we all know, but a race to master the inner space of the human ...
Adam Rutherford
2021-06-10T11:36:50.000Z
I am devouring this brilliant, utterly nuts book by @bschillace about the history of brain transplants, via two headed dogs, nuclear war, the embodiment of the soul, Catholicism, a few more severed heads. It’s an incredible story, and Schillace is and *incredible* writer.      source
Also recommended by
Lindsey Fitzharris
The Motherhood Complex book cover
The Motherhood Complex
The story of our changing selves
2021-05-21
Enriched with discoveries from biology, psychology and social science, THE MOTHERHOOD COMPLEX is a journey to the heart of what it means to become a mother.Melissa Hogenboom examines how the suite of changes we experience during pregnancy and motherhood influence our sense of self, both physically and from the wider world. From the way our brain ch...
Adam Rutherford
2021-05-15T10:41:47.000Z
I’ve read this book by @melissasuzanneh and let me tell you it is frigging brilliant. The stereotype that The Dutch are brutally honest is true.      source
Transcendence book cover
Transcendence
How Humans Evolved through Fire, Language, Beauty, and Time
Gaia Vince - 2020-01-21
Goodreads Rating
In the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, a winner of the Royal Society Prize for Science Books shows how four tools have enabled humans to control the destiny of our species.What enabled us to go from simple stone tools to smartphones? How did bands of hunter-gatherers evolve into multinational empires? Readers of Sapiens will say a ...
Adam Rutherford
2021-04-13T09:54:14.000Z
I would suggest reading Transcendence by @WanderingGaia, Kindred by @LeMoustier, or the Book of Humans by me, which avoid these traps.      source
The Social Instinct book cover
The Social Instinct
How Cooperation Shaped the World
Nichola Raihani - 2021-08-31
Goodreads Rating
In the tradition of Richard Dawkin’s The Selfish Gene, Nichola Raihani's The Social Instinct is a profound and engaging look at the hidden processes which have underpinned human evolution, revealing how much we have in common with far-flung species, and why cooperation is key to why we are the way we are and to our future survival... In the traditi...
Adam Rutherford
2021-02-15T20:18:58.000Z
Jesse and I enormously enjoying this terrific book on evolution and cooperation by m’colleague @nicholaraihani      source
Also recommended by
Sarah-Jayne Blakemore
The Gene book cover
The Gene
An Intimate History
Siddhartha Mukherjee - 2017-05-02
Goodreads Rating
The #1 NEW YORK TIMES Bestseller The basis for the PBS Ken Burns Documentary The Gene: An Intimate History From the Pulitzer Prizewinning author of The Emperor of All Maladiesa fascinating history of the gene and a magisterial account of how human minds have laboriously, ingeniously picked apart what makes us tick (Elle). "Sid Mukherjee has the unc...
Adam Rutherford
2020-07-30T16:49:34.000Z
Hey, this is a must view. Sid’s book is outrageously good.      source
The Strangest Man book cover
The Strangest Man
The Hidden Life of Paul Dirac, Mystic of the Atom
Graham Farmelo - 2011-06-28
Goodreads Rating
'A monumental achievement - one of the great scientific biographies.' Michael FraynThe Strangest Man is the Costa Biography Award-winning account of Paul Dirac, the famous physicist sometimes called the British Einstein. He was one of the leading pioneers of the greatest revolution in twentieth-century science: quantum mechanics. The youngest theor...
Adam Rutherford
2020-07-15T13:36:47.000Z
@god_finance @grahamfarmelo It is a truly excellent book.      source
The Idea of the Brain book cover
The Idea of the Brain
The Past and Future of Neuroscience
Matthew Cobb - 2020-04-21
Goodreads Rating
A powerful examination of what we think we know about the brain and why -- despite technological advances -- the workings of our most essential organ remain a mystery. For thousands of years, thinkers and scientists have tried to understand what the brain does. Yet, despite the astonishing discoveries of science, we still have only the vaguest idea...
Adam Rutherford
2020-01-16T22:24:01.000Z
This isn’t my precise blurb, but this book is fucking brilliant.      source
Also recommended by
Sarah-Jayne Blakemore