Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign In
SeriesLonesome Dove

Lonesome Dove Series

Lonesome Dove books in order

Follow the exploits of several members of the Texas Ranger Division from the time of the Republic of Texas up until the beginning of the 20th century.Each book is a standalone. In order of publication- Lonesome Dove (1985)- Streets of Laredo (1993)- Dead Man's Walk (1995)- Comanche Moon (1997)In order of internal chronology- Dead Man's Walk – set i…
Streets of Laredo book cover
Lonesome Dove book cover
Dead Man's Walk book cover
4 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Lonesome Dove book cover
Book 1
Lonesome Dove
A Novel
Larry McMurtry - 1999-10-01 (first published in 1985)
Goodreads Rating
Experience the majestic beauty of the American wilderness through a captivating love story and epic adventure in Lonesome Dove. Follow a cast of unforgettable characters - including heroes, outlaws, and ladies - as they journey through the last wild frontier in Texas. With rich authenticity and masterful writing, this Pulitzer Prize-winning classic is a timeless masterpiece that will make you laugh, weep, and remember.
Streets of Laredo book cover
Book 2
Streets of Laredo
A Novel
Larry McMurtry - 2000-10-17 (first published in 1993)
Goodreads Rating
Join Captain Woodrow Call, of the Lonesome Dove tetralogy, as he embarks on a thrilling adventure as a bounty hunter tasked with tracking down a dangerous Mexican bandit. With his trusty companions, Call traverses the untamed lands of the Wild West, facing perilous challenges and confronting the dark corners of humanity. Streets of Laredo is a true classic of Texas literature, and a must-read for fans of the Western genre.
Dead Man's Walk book cover
Book 3
Dead Man's Walk
A Novel (Lonesome Dove Book 3)
Larry McMurtry - 2000-10-17 (first published in 1995)
Goodreads Rating
Experience the dangerous and exhilarating journey of the young Texas Rangers, Augustus McCrae and Woodrow Call, as they navigate the perils of the American West. Larry McMurtry's first book in the Lonesome Dove tetralogy will transport you to a world of blazing heat, raging rivers, and merciless Indians. Follow the duo as they face death at the hands of cunning Comanche war chief Buffalo Hump and are astonished by the Mexican army. Don't miss the chance to meet some of the most memorable heroes in contemporary fiction.
Comanche Moon book cover
Book 4
Comanche Moon
A Novel (Lonesome Dove Book 4)
Larry McMurtry - 2000-10-17 (first published in 1997)
Goodreads Rating
Comanche Moon takes readers on a thrilling journey through the American West, following Texas Rangers August McCrae and Woodrow Call as they pursue notorious leaders of the Comanche and Mexican bandits. With vivid characters, intense action, and a deeply nostalgic tone, this book is a powerful exploration of love, loyalty, and the ever-expanding frontier.