Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Brian Koppelman

author
producer

Recommended Books

Brian William Koppelman is an American show-runner. Koppelman is the co-writer of Ocean's Thirteen and Rounders, the producer for films including The Illusionist and The Lucky Ones, the director for films including Solitary Man and the documentary This Is What They Want for ESPN as part of their 30 for 30 series, and the co-creator, showrunner, and executive producer of Showtime's Billions.
17 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Dead Girl Blues
Lawrence Block - Jun 24, 2020
Goodreads Rating
You might as well know this going in: Lawrence Block's new novel is not for everyone. It's recounted in journal form by its protagonist, and begins when he walks into a roadhouse outside of Bakersfield, California, and walks out with a woman.And rapes and murders her.But, um, not in that order.Right. But it's what he does with the rest of his life ...
Brian Koppelman
Oct 18, 2020
You like to read? Read @LawrenceBlock's Dead Girl Blues. The first 30 pages are as rough/disturbing as any I've read in a long time. But they are necessary, and what he does from there on is absolutely remarkable. This is the book his 80+ years led to. Worth your time.     source
Lonesome Dove
A Novel
Larry McMurtry - Jun 15, 2010 (first published in 1985)
Goodreads Rating
A love story, an adventure, and an epic of the frontier, Larry McMurtry's Pulitzer Prize winning classic, Lonesome Dove, the third book in the Lonesome Dove tetralogy, is the grandest novel ever written about the last defiant wilderness of America. Journey to the dusty little Texas town of Lonesome Dove and meet an unforgettable assortment of heroe...
Brian Koppelman
Sep 20, 2020
Lonesome Dove. Perfect book. Ok. That was fun, folks. Be kind to each other. Later.     source
Also recommended by
Julie Plec
The Financier
Theodore Dreiser - Aug 19, 2017 (first published in 1912)
Goodreads Rating
A master of literary naturalism, Dreiser is known for his great intensity and keen journalistic eye as he examines real-life subjects. This powerful novel explores the dynamics of the financial world during the Civil War and after the stock-market panic caused by the Great Chicago Fire.The first in a ''trilogy of desire,'' The Financier tells the s...
Brian Koppelman
Aug 07, 2020
@tnyfrontrow @selfstyledsiren @parabasis I loved The Financier. Read it before shooting season one of Billions. Keep meaning to read the rest of his books.     source
Petty
The Biography
Warren Zanes - Oct 25, 2016 (first published in 2015)
Goodreads Rating
The New York Times Bestseller*One of Rolling Stone's 10 Best Music Books of 2015*An exhilarating and intimate account of the life of music legend Tom Petty, by an accomplished writer and musician who toured with PettyNo one other than Warren Zanes, rocker and writer and friend, could author a book about Tom Petty that is as honest and evocative of ...
Brian Koppelman
Jul 19, 2020
@Variety_Cynthia @CanterburyRec Have you read the Warren Zanes petty book? It's just excellent.     source
The Artist's Way
25th Anniversary Edition
Julia Cameron - Oct 25, 2016 (first published in 1992)
Goodreads Rating
This international bestseller has inspired millions to overcome the limiting beliefs and fears that inhibit the creative process. First published twenty-five years ago, The Artist's Way is the seminal book on the subject of creativity. Perhaps even more vital in today's cultural climate than when it was first published, The Artist's Way is a powerf...
Brian Koppelman
Jul 14, 2020
This morning my podcast w @J_CameronLive is up. It is no exaggeration to say that her book The Artist’s Way completely and forever changed my life. I was a blocked writer and then I was an actual writer. What an honor to talk to her. The Moment w Brian Koppelman. Wherever u pod.     source
Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage
Haruki Murakami - May 05, 2015 (first published in 2013)
Goodreads Rating
A New York Times and Washington Post notable book, and one of the Financial Times, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Slate, Mother Jones, The Daily Beast, and BookPage's best books of the yearAn instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage is the remarkable story of a young man haunted by a great loss; of dreams...
Brian Koppelman
Apr 30, 2020
If you have always wanted to read Haruki Murakami, I think this period of time is perfect for it. He could have conceived of this whole thing. Try Kafka On The Shore. Or Colorless Tsukuru. Or Wild Sheep Chase. Or Wind Up Bird Chronicle.     source
Kafka on the Shore
Haruki Murakami - Jan 03, 2006 (first published in 2002)
Goodreads Rating
Kafka on the Shore, a tour de force of metaphysical reality, is powered by two remarkable characters: a teenage boy, Kafka Tamura, who runs away from home either to escape a gruesome oedipal prophecy or to search for his long-missing mother and sister; and an aging simpleton called Nakata, who never recovered from a wartime affliction and now is dr...
Brian Koppelman
Apr 30, 2020
If you have always wanted to read Haruki Murakami, I think this period of time is perfect for it. He could have conceived of this whole thing. Try Kafka On The Shore. Or Colorless Tsukuru. Or Wild Sheep Chase. Or Wind Up Bird Chronicle.     source
A Wild Sheep Chase
A Novel
Haruki Murakami - Apr 09, 2002 (first published in 1982)
Goodreads Rating
His life was like a recurring nightmare: a train to nowhere. But an ordinary life has a way of taking an extraordinary turn. Add a girl whose ears are so exquisite that, when uncovered, they improve sex a thousand-fold, a runaway friend, a right-wing politico, an ovine-obsessed professor and a manic-depressive in a sheep outfit, implicate them in a...
Brian Koppelman
Apr 30, 2020
If you have always wanted to read Haruki Murakami, I think this period of time is perfect for it. He could have conceived of this whole thing. Try Kafka On The Shore. Or Colorless Tsukuru. Or Wild Sheep Chase. Or Wind Up Bird Chronicle.     source
The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle
A Novel
Haruki Murakami - Sep 01, 1998 (first published in 1994)
Goodreads Rating
Japan's most highly regarded novelist now vaults into the first ranks of international fiction writers with this heroically imaginative novel, which is at once a detective story, an account of a disintegrating marriage, and an excavation of the buried secrets of World War II.In a Tokyo suburb a young man named Toru Okada searches for his wife's mis...
Brian Koppelman
Apr 30, 2020
If you have always wanted to read Haruki Murakami, I think this period of time is perfect for it. He could have conceived of this whole thing. Try Kafka On The Shore. Or Colorless Tsukuru. Or Wild Sheep Chase. Or Wind Up Bird Chronicle.     source
Broken
Don Winslow - Apr 07, 2020
Goodreads Rating
In six intense short novels connected by the themes of crime, corruption, vengeance, justice, loss, betrayal, guilt and redemption, Broken is #1 international bestseller Don Winslow at his nerve-shattering, heart-stopping, heartbreaking best. In Broken, he creates a world of high-level thieves and low-life crooks, obsessed cops struggling with life...
Brian Koppelman
Apr 07, 2020
A steamroller. Each story will run you over. For real. Read it.     source
Conspiracy
Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker, and the Anatomy of Intrigue
Ryan Holiday - Feb 27, 2018
Goodreads Rating
In the tradition of Janet Malcolm's THE JOURNALIST AND THE MURDERER and Robert Greene's THE 48 LAWS OF POWER, author Ryan Holiday examines the case that rocked the media world--and the billionaire mastermind behind itIn 2007, a short blogpost on Valleywag, the Silicon Valley-vertical of Gawker Media, outed PayPal founder and billionaire investor Pe...
Brian Koppelman
Every one of Ryan Holiday’s books is appointment reading for me. If he writes it, I make the time to read it.     source
Also recommended by
Marc Andreessen
The Artist's Way Morning Pages Journal by Julia Cameron
City of Thieves by David Benioff
What I Talk about When I Talk about Running by Haruki Murakami
Sizzling Chops and Devilish Spins by Jerome Charyn
What Makes Sammy Run? by Budd Schulberg
Awaken the Giant Within by Tony Robbins