Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In
AuthorsSean McFate

Sean McFate Books

I have been a paratrooper in the US Army’s 82nd Airborne Division. A para-military contractor. An operative in the private intelligence world (think: Wall Street meets CIA). I’ve dealt with African warlords, raised armies for U.S. interest, rode with armed groups in the Sahara, conducted strategic reconnaissance for oil companies, transacted arms deals in Eastern Europe, and helped prevent an impending genocide in the Rwanda region. In between this, I earned degrees from Brown, Harvard, and a PhD from the London School of Economics. Now I’m an author, my favorite job by far. I write about the world as I’ve witnessed it. Unlike most, I write both serious non-fiction and fiction. What I can’t discuss in my non-fiction ends up in my novels, which are like Tom Clancy for the 2020s. You can learn more about me here http://www.seanmcfate.com and you can follow me on twitter or Instagram @seanmcfate. I appreciate your support, and answer emails from readers.
9 books on the list
Sort by
Best Books First
Layout
The New Rules of War
How America Can Win--Against Russia, China, and Other Threats
Sean McFate - Jan 28, 2020
Goodreads Rating
"Stunning. Sean McFate is a new Sun Tzu." -Admiral James Stavridis (retired), former Supreme Allied Commander at NATOSome of the principles of warfare are ancient, others are new, but all described in The New Rules of War will permanently shape war now and in the future. By following them Sean McFate argues, we can prevail. But if we do not, terror...
Recommended by
Ali Shihabi
Goliath
Why the West Doesn’t Win Wars. And What We Need to Do About It.
Sean McFate - Jun 13, 2019
Goodreads Rating
'An important book' SIR RICHARD DEARLOVE, FORMER DIRECTOR, MI6 'The Freakonomics of modern warfare' CONN IGGULDEN Everything you think you know about war is wrong. War is timeless. Some things change - weapons, tactics, leadership - but our desire to go into battle does not. We are in the midst of an age of conflict: global terrorism, Russia's resu...
Mercenaries and War
Understanding Private Armies Today
Sean McFate, National Defense University Press - Dec 20, 2019
Goodreads Rating
Mercenaries are more powerful than experts realize, a grave oversight. Those who assume they are cheap imitations of national armed forces invite disaster because for-profit warriors are a wholly different genus and species of fighter. Private military companies such as the Wagner Group are more like heavily armed multinational corporations than th...
High Treason
A Novel (Tom Locke Series Book 3)
Sean McFate - Jun 09, 2020
Goodreads Rating
“McFate just might be the next Tom Clancy, only I think he’s even better... The action is non-stop and shuttles back and forth between scary-believable and rollicking good fun. I read High Treason during a six-hour plane ride and the trip went by like the snap of my fingers.” —James PattersonIn this pulse-pounding third action thriller for fans of ...
Deep Black
A Tom Locke Novel (Tom Locke Series Book 2)
Sean McFate, Bret Witter - Aug 08, 2017
Goodreads Rating
“Has an enjoyable, realistic feeling…will appeal to action junkies and armchair diplomats alike.” — Kirkus ...
The Modern Mercenary
Private Armies and What They Mean for World Order
Sean McFate - Nov 25, 2014
Goodreads Rating
It was 2004, and Sean McFate had a mission in Burundi: to keep the president alive and prevent the country from spiraling into genocide, without anyone knowing that the United States was involved. The United States was, of course, involved but only through McFate's employer, the military contractor DynCorp International. Throughout the world, simil...
Shadow War
A Tom Locke Novel (Tom Locke Series)
Sean McFate - Apr 25, 2017 (first published in 2016)
Goodreads Rating
On a secret mission to save a businessman’s family in Eastern Europe, an elite American mercenary navigates perilous setbacks and deadly enemies in this blistering hot series debut in the tradition of Brad Thor, Tom Clancy and Daniel Silva....
A Nova Arte da Guerra
Sean McFate - Jul 01, 2021 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Building Better Armies
An Insider’s Account of Liberia
Sean McFate, Strategic Studies Institute, U.S. Army War College - Feb 03, 2014
Recent events in Mali, Libya, Syria, Afghanistan, Iraq, and elsewhere demonstrate that building professional indigenous forces is imperative to regional stability, yet few success stories exist. Liberia is a qualified "success," and this study explores how it was achieved by the program's chief architect. Liberia suffered a 14-year civil war replet...