Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In
Books LikeAmericanah

Books like Americanah

Enjoyed Americanah? We’ve scoured the web for book blogs and looked at all of their recommendations for books that are similar to Americanah. Here are 16 books that you may like if you liked Americanah.

16 books on the list
Sort by
Number of Articles
Layout
Half of a Yellow Sun
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie - Sep 04, 2007 (first published in 2006)
Goodreads Rating
With effortless grace, celebrated author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie illuminates a seminal moment in modern African history: Biafra's impassioned struggle to establish an independent republic in southeastern Nigeria during the late 1960s. We experience this tumultuous decade alongside five unforgettable characters: Ugwu, a thirteen-year-old houseboy w...
Transcendent Kingdom
A novel
Yaa Gyasi - Sep 01, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Yaa Gyasi's stunning follow-up to her acclaimed national best seller Homegoing is a powerful, raw, intimate, deeply layered novel about a Ghanaian family in Alabama.Gifty is a fifth-year candidate in neuroscience at Stanford School of Medicine studying reward-seeking behavior in mice and the neural circuits of depression and addiction. Her brother,...
Behold the Dreamers
A Novel
Imbolo Mbue - Jun 26, 2017 (first published in 2016)
Goodreads Rating
Jende Jonga, a Cameroonian immigrant living in Harlem, has come to the United States to provide a better life for himself, his wife, Neni, and their six-year-old son. In the fall of 2007, Jende can hardly believe his luck when he lands a job as a chauffeur for Clark Edwards, a senior executive at Lehman Brothers. Clark demands punctuality, discreti...
The Lowland
Jhumpa Lahiri - Jun 17, 2014 (first published in 2013)
Goodreads Rating
A New York Times Book ReviewNotable Book •A Time Top Fiction Book •An NPR "Great Read" •A Chicago Tribune Best Book • A USA Today Best Book • A People magazine Top 10 Book •A Barnes and Noble Best New Book • A Good Reads Best Book •A Kirkus Best Fiction Book •A Slate Favorite Book • A Christian Science Monitor Best Fiction Book • An Apple Top 10 Bo...
In Dependence
Sarah Ladipo Manyika - May 14, 2019 (first published in 2008)
Goodreads Rating
In the early sixties, Tayo Ajayi sails to England from Nigeria to take up a scholarship at Oxford University. There he discovers a whole generation high on visions of a new and better world. He meets Vanessa Richardson, the beautiful daughter of a former colonial officer. Their story, which spans four decades, is a bittersweet tale of a brave but d...
Ghana Must Go
A Novel
Taiye Selasi - Mar 05, 2013
Goodreads Rating
A “buoyant” and “rapturous” debut novel (The Wall Street Journal) about the transformative power of unconditional love Electric, exhilarating, and beautifully crafted, Ghana Must Go introduces the world to Taiye Selasi, a novelist of extraordinary talent. In a sweeping narrative that takes readers from Accra to Lagos to London to New York, it is a...
Looking for Transwonderland
Travels in Nigeria
Noo Saro-Wiwa - Aug 21, 2012
Goodreads Rating
Noo Saro-Wiwa was brought up in England, but every summer she was dragged back to visit her father in Nigeria — a country she viewed as an annoying parallel universe where she had to relinquish all her creature comforts and sense of individuality. After her father, activist Ken Saro-Wiwa, was killed there, she didn’t return for several years. Recen...
Dust
Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor - Oct 07, 2014 (first published in 2013)
Goodreads Rating
A Washington Post Notable BookWhen a young man is gunned down in the streets of Nairobi, his grief-stricken father and sister bring his body back to their crumbling home in the Kenyan drylands. But the murder has stirred up memories long since buried, precipitating a series of events no one could have foreseen. As the truth unfolds, we come to lear...
Free Food for Millionaires
Min Jin Lee - Jun 05, 2018 (first published in 2007)
Goodreads Rating
In this One Book, One New York 2019 nominee from the author of National Book Award Finalist Pachinko, the Korean-American daughter of first-generation immigrants strives to join Manhattan's inner circle.Meet Casey Han: a strong-willed, Queens-bred daughter of Korean immigrants immersed in a glamorous Manhattan lifestyle she can't afford. Casey is e...
Every Day Is for the Thief
Fiction
Teju Cole - Mar 03, 2015 (first published in 2007)
Goodreads Rating
NATIONAL BESTSELLERFor readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Michael Ondaatje, Every Day Is for the Thief is a wholly original work of fiction by Teju Cole, whose critically acclaimed debut, Open City, was the winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and was named one of the best books of the ye...
The Deep Blue Between by Ayesha Harruna Attah
What We Were Promised by Lucy Tan
The Farm by Joanne Ramos
We Need New Names by Noviolet Bulawayo
Foreign Gods, Inc. by Okey Ndibe