Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Best Time Travel Books

Recommendations from 43 articles, Mindy Kaling, Winston Churchill, Ezra Klein and 36 others.
Best Time Travel Books
92 books on the list
Sort by
Number of Articles
Layout
11/22/63 book cover
11/22/63
A Novel
Stephen King - 2012-07-24 (first published in 2011)
Goodreads Rating
Dallas, 11/22/63: Three shots ring out.President John F. Kennedy is dead.Life can turn on a dimeor stumble into the extraordinary, as it does for Jake Epping, a high school English teacher in a Maine town. While grading essays by his GED students, Jake reads a gruesome, enthralling piece penned by janitor Harry Dunning: fifty years ago, Harry someh...
The Time Traveler's Wife book cover
The Time Traveler's Wife
Audrey Niffenegger - 2014-05-06 (first published in 2003)
Goodreads Rating
The beloved, mega bestselling first novel from Audrey Niffenegger, a soaring celebration of the victory of love over time (Chicago Tribune).A MOST UNTRADITIONAL LOVE STORY, this is the celebrated tale of Henry DeTamble, a dashing, adventuresome librarian who inadvertently travels through time, and Clare Abshire, an artist whose life takes a natural...
The Time Machine book cover
The Time Machine
H. G. Wells - 2017-01-24 (first published in 1895)
Goodreads Rating
'He succeeds in placing before the reader a vision of the world in cosmic time' Norman NicholsonThe Time Traveller knew that Time was only a kind of Space. The fantastic story of his adventures in a machine which could travel in any direction of Space and Time has captured the imagination of millions.H. G. Wells, one of the giants of twentieth-cent...
Outlander book cover
Outlander
Diana Gabaldon - 1992-01-01 (first published in 1991)
Goodreads Rating
The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord...
A Wrinkle in Time book cover
A Wrinkle in Time
Madeleine L'Engle - 1962-01-01
Goodreads Rating
It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger."Wild nights are my glory," the unearthly stranger told them. "I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me sit down for a m...
Recommended by
Sheryl Sandberg
Kindred book cover
Kindred
Octavia E. Butler - 2018-01-01 (first published in 1979)
Goodreads Rating
Octavia E. Butler's 1979 masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayòbámi Adébáyò.In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave.When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he's drowni...
Recommended by
DeRay Mckesson
Slaughterhouse-Five book cover
Slaughterhouse-Five
A Novel (Modern Library 100 Best Novels)
Kurt Vonnegut - 1999-01-12 (first published in 1969)
Goodreads Rating
Slaughterhouse-Five is a satirical novel by Kurt Vonnegut about World War II experiences and journeys through time of a chaplain's assistant named Billy Pilgrim. It is generally recognized as Vonnegut's most influential and popular work. Vonnegut's use of the firebombing of Dresden as a central event makes the novel semi-autobiographical, because h...
The End of Eternity book cover
The End of Eternity
Isaac Asimov - 2011-03-29 (first published in 1955)
Goodreads Rating
One of Isaac Asimov's SF masterpieces, this stand-alone novel is a monument of the flowering of SF in the 20th century. It is widely regarded as Asimov's single best SF novel and one every SF fan should read.Andrew Harlan is an Eternal, a member of the elite of the future. One of the few who live in Eternity, a location outside of place and time, H...
The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August book cover
The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August
Claire North - 2014-10-21
Goodreads Rating
Some stories cannot be told in just one lifetime. Harry August is on his deathbed. Again. No matter what he does or the decisions he makes, when death comes, Harry always returns to where he began, a child with all the knowledge of a life he has already lived a dozen times before. Nothing ever changes. Until now. As Harry nears the end of his eleve...
This Is How You Lose the Time War book cover
This Is How You Lose the Time War
Amal el-Mohtar - 2020-03-17
Goodreads Rating
Two time-traveling agents from warring futures, working their way through the past, begin to exchange letters—and fall in love in this thrilling and romantic book from award-winning authors Amal-El Mohtar and Max Gladstone.Among the ashes of a dying world, an agent of the Commandant finds a letter. It reads: Burn before reading. Thus begins an unli...
All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai
The Accidental Time Machine by Joe Haldeman
What the Wind Knows by Amy Harmon
Recursion by Blake Crouch
A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness
Here and Now and Then by Mike Chen
Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier
All You Need Is Kill by Hiroshi Sakurazaka
Time and Again by Jack Finney
How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe by Charles Yu
An Ocean of Minutes by Thea Lim
To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis
Doomsday Book by Connie Willis
Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley
Somewhere In Time by Richard Matheson
Timebound by Rysa Walker
The Future of Another Timeline by Annalee Newitz
The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
Night Watch by Terry Pratchett
The Midnight Library by Matt Haig
One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston
Beyond the Highland Mist by Karen Marie Moning
The Time Ships by Stephen Baxter
The Anubis Gates by Tim Powers
Timekeeper by Tara Sim
The River of No Return by Bee Ridgway
Alice Payne Arrives by Kate Heartfield
Hyperion by Dan Simmons
The Dream Daughter by Diane Chamberlain
Replay by Ken Grimwood
The Forever War by Joe Haldeman
How to Invent Everything by Ryan North
Transcendence by Shay Savage
The Shadow Hunter by Pat Murphy
Lightning by Dean Koontz
Waterfall by Lisa T. Bergren
All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill
The Door into Summer by Robert A. Heinlein
The Devil's Arithmetic by Jane Yolen
Time Enough for Love by
Just One Damned Thing After Another by Jodi Taylor
Time and Again by Clifford D. Simak
Faye, Faraway by Helen Fisher
Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor
The Silver Wind by Nina Allan
The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas
Alice Payne Rides by Kate Heartfield
The Chronoliths by Robert Charles Wilson
Shadow of Ashland by Terence M. Green
Bones of the Earth by Michael Swanwick
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling
Thief of Time by Terry Pratchett
A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories by Ray Bradbury
Dark Matter by Blake Crouch
Do You Realize? by Kevin A. Kuhn
When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
Eirik by Joanna Bell
Unhappenings by Edward Aubry
The Kingdoms by Natasha Pulley
REMEMBRANCE by Jude Deveraux
Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone by Diana Gabaldon
Must Love Chainmail by Angela Quarles
Trapped in Time by Denise Daye
The Light Brigade by Kameron Hurley
The Gone World by Tom Sweterlitsch
Woman on the Edge of Time by Marge Piercy
Must Love Breeches by Angela Quarles
Now Wait for Last Year by Philip K. Dick
The Rise and Fall of D.O.D.O. by Neal Stephenson
The House on the Strand. by Daphne du Maurier
Timeless by Alexandra Monir
The Man Who Folded Himself by David Gerrold
Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brackston
Everyone Says That at the End of the World by Owen Egerton
Hourglass by Myra McEntire
Toward Yesterday by Paul Antony Jones
Pilot X by Tom Merritt
Version Control by Dexter Palmer
Time's Eye by Arthur C. Clarke
The Sterkarm Handshake by Susan Price