Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

DeRay Mckesson

Recommended Books

DeRay Mckesson is an American civil rights activist, podcaster, and former school administrator. An early supporter of the Black Lives Matter movement, he has been active in the protests in Ferguson, Missouri, and Baltimore, Maryland and on social media outlets such as Twitter and Instagram.
8 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Black Women, Black Love book cover
Black Women, Black Love
America's War on African American Marriage
Dianne M Stewart - 2020-10-06
Goodreads Rating
In this analysis of social history, examine the complex lineage of America's oppression of Black companionship.According to the 2010 US census, more than seventy percent of Black women in America are unmarried. Black Women, Black Love reveals how four centuries of laws, policies, and customs have created that crisis.Dianne Stewart begins in the col...
DeRay Mckesson
2021-07-30T19:46:35.000Z
You should buy @diannemstewart's book Black Women, Black Love: And you should just engage her work. Every single time I listen to her or read her work, my mind is blown.      source
I'll Give You the Sun book cover
I'll Give You the Sun
Jandy Nelson - 2015-10-27
Goodreads Rating
"We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story." At first, Jude and her twin brother Noah, are inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the t...
DeRay Mckesson
2016-12-24T15:04:48.000Z
It's such an incredible book!      source
Kindred book cover
Kindred
Octavia E. Butler - 2018-01-01 (first published in 1979)
Goodreads Rating
Octavia E. Butler's 1979 masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayòbámi Adébáyò.In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave.When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he's drowni...
DeRay Mckesson
2016-11-19T20:06:53.000Z
Kindred is an incredible book. So is Parable of the Sower.      source
Parable of the Sower book cover
Parable of the Sower
A Novel
Octavia E. Butler - 2017-02-28 (first published in 1993)
Goodreads Rating
In 2025, with the world descending into madness and anarchy, one woman begins a fateful journey toward a better future.Lauren Olamina and her family live in one of the only safe neighborhoods remaining on the outskirts of Los Angeles. Behind the walls of their defended enclave, Lauren’s father, a preacher, and a handful of other citizens try to sal...
DeRay Mckesson
2016-11-19T20:06:53.000Z
Kindred is an incredible book. So is Parable of the Sower.      source
Also recommended by
Cleo Constantine Abram
The People Could Fly book cover
The People Could Fly
American Black Folktales
Virginia Hamilton - 1985-01-13
Goodreads Rating
"The well-known author retells 24 black American folk tales in sure storytelling voice: animal tales, supernatural tales, fanciful and cautionary tales, and slave tales of freedom. All are beautifully readable. With the added attraction of 40 wonderfully expressive paintings by the Dillons, this collection should be snapped up."--(starred) School L...
DeRay Mckesson
2015-11-05T00:00:35.000Z
Do y'all remember The People Could Fly? That was my all-time favorite book when I was younger.      source
Between the World and Me book cover
Between the World and Me
Ta-Nehisi Coates - 2015-07-14
Goodreads Rating
“This is your country, this is your world, this is your body, and you must find some way to live within the all of it.” In a profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history and ideals to the most intimate concerns of a father for his son, Ta-Nehisi Coates offers a powerful new framework for understanding our nation’s his...
DeRay Mckesson
2015-07-14T21:41:14.000Z
I've read @tanehisicoates' newest book & it's a must-read. I can't wait for us all to discuss it. Order yours.      source
Tiger Lily book cover
Tiger Lily
Jodi Lynn Anderson - 2013-07-02 (first published in 2012)
Goodreads Rating
Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl with the crow feather in her hair. . . . Fifteen-year-old Tiger Lily doesn't believe in love stories or happy endings. Then she meets the alluring teenage Peter Pan in the forbidden woods of Neverland and immediately falls under his spell. Peter is unlike anyone she's ever known. Impetuous...
DeRay Mckesson
2015-05-13T22:06:49.000Z
I always recommend Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson to people. I loved this book and revisit it often.      source
Honey, I Love and Other Love Poems book cover
Honey, I Love and Other Love Poems
Eloise Greenfield - 1986-05-23 (first published in 1978)
Goodreads Rating
An ALA Notable Children's Book, Honey, I Love and Other Love Poems includes sixteen poems that tell of love and the simple joys of everyday life, seen through the eyes of a child: playing with a friend, skipping rope, riding on a train—or keeping Mama company till Daddy gets back.Each of these sixteen "love poems" is spoken straight from the perspe...
DeRay Mckesson
2015-02-12T12:08:07.000Z
@BDBandeaux @thesoulasylum such a great book      source