Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

DeRay Mckesson

activist
podcaster

Recommended Books

DeRay Mckesson is an American civil rights activist, podcaster, and former school administrator. An early supporter of the Black Lives Matter movement, he has been active in the protests in Ferguson, Missouri, and Baltimore, Maryland and on social media outlets such as Twitter and Instagram.
7 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
I'll Give You the Sun
Jandy Nelson - Oct 27, 2015
Goodreads Rating
"We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story."...
DeRay Mckesson
Dec 24, 2016
It's such an incredible book!      source
Kindred
Octavia E. Butler - Jan 01, 2018 (first published in 1979)
Goodreads Rating
Octavia E. Butler's 1979 masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayòbámi Adébáyò.In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave.When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he's drowni...
DeRay Mckesson
Nov 19, 2016
Kindred is an incredible book. So is Parable of the Sower.      source
Parable of the Sower
A Novel
Octavia E. Butler - Feb 28, 2017 (first published in 1993)
Goodreads Rating
In 2025, with the world descending into madness and anarchy, one woman begins a fateful journey toward a better future.Lauren Olamina and her family live in one of the only safe neighborhoods remaining on the outskirts of Los Angeles. Behind the walls of their defended enclave, Lauren’s father, a preacher, and a handful of other citizens try to sal...
DeRay Mckesson
Nov 19, 2016
Kindred is an incredible book. So is Parable of the Sower.      source
Also recommended by
Cleo Constantine Abram
The People Could Fly
American Black Folktales
Virginia Hamilton - Jan 13, 1985
Goodreads Rating
"The well-known author retells 24 black American folk tales in sure storytelling voice: animal tales, supernatural tales, fanciful and cautionary tales, and slave tales of freedom. All are beautifully readable. With the added attraction of 40 wonderfully expressive paintings by the Dillons, this collection should be snapped up."--(starred) School L...
DeRay Mckesson
Nov 05, 2015
Do y'all remember The People Could Fly? That was my all-time favorite book when I was younger.      source
Between the World and Me
Ta-Nehisi Coates - Jul 14, 2015
Goodreads Rating
“This is your country, this is your world, this is your body, and you must find some way to live within the all of it.” In a profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history and ideals to the most intimate concerns of a father for his son, Ta-Nehisi Coates offers a powerful new framework for understanding our nation’s his...
DeRay Mckesson
Jul 14, 2015
I've read @tanehisicoates' newest book & it's a must-read. I can't wait for us all to discuss it. Order yours.      source
Tiger Lily
Jodi Lynn Anderson - Jul 02, 2013 (first published in 2012)
Goodreads Rating
Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl with the crow feather in her hair. . . . Fifteen-year-old Tiger Lily doesn't believe in love stories or happy endings. Then she meets the alluring teenage Peter Pan in the forbidden woods of Neverland and immediately falls under his spell. Peter is unlike anyone she's ever known. Impetuous...
DeRay Mckesson
May 13, 2015
I always recommend Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson to people. I loved this book and revisit it often.      source
Honey, I Love and Other Love Poems
Eloise Greenfield - May 23, 1986 (first published in 1978)
Goodreads Rating
An ALA Notable Children's Book, Honey, I Love and Other Love Poems includes sixteen poems that tell of love and the simple joys of everyday life, seen through the eyes of a child: playing with a friend, skipping rope, riding on a train—or keeping Mama company till Daddy gets back.Each of these sixteen "love poems" is spoken straight from the perspe...
DeRay Mckesson
Feb 12, 2015
@BDBandeaux @thesoulasylum such a great book      source