Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Gayle Forman

Recommended Books

Gayle Forman is a female American young adult fiction author, best known for her novel If I Stay, which topped the New York Times best sellers list of Young Adult Fiction and was made into a film of the same name.
21 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
I Kick and I Fly book cover
I Kick and I Fly
Ruchira Gupta - 2023-04-18
A propulsive social justice adventure by renowned activist and award-winning documentarian Ruchira Gupta, I Kick and I Fly is an inspiring, hopeful story of triumph about a girl in Bihar, India, who escapes being sold into the sex trade when a local hostel owner helps her to understand the value of her body through kung fu. On the outskirts of the ...
Gayle Forman
2022-08-26T18:49:36.000Z
Absolutely love this book. Cannot wait for the world to get its hands on it. @Ruchiragupta has created something very special here.      source
Frankie & Bug book cover
Frankie & Bug
Gayle Forman - 2021-10-12
Goodreads Rating
In the debut middle grade novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Gayle Forman comes a poignant and powerful coming-of-age story that follows a young girl and her new friend as they learn about family, friendship, allyship, and finding your way in a complicated world.It’s the summer of 1987, and all ten-year-old Bug wants to do is go to the...
Gayle Forman
2021-10-12T13:25:32.000Z
"If I had this book when I was younger, I would have devoured it in one sitting. I fully expect to see a group of kids at my school sitting and either reading or discussing this book. I loved it!" 🧡💛💙💓🌈      source
Not Here to Be Liked book cover
Not Here to Be Liked
Michelle Quach - 2022-12-20 (first published in 2021)
Goodreads Rating
"A smart romance with heart and guts and all the intoxicating feelings in between." --Maureen Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of 13 Little Blue EnvelopesEmergency Contact meets Moxie in this cheeky and searing novel that unpacks just how complicated new love can get...when you fall for your enemy. Eliza Quan is the perfect candidate for ...
Gayle Forman
2021-09-14T18:53:47.000Z
Can't forget my beloved young adult books: 👉🏻 White Smoke by @WriteinBK 👉🏻 Not Here to Be Liked @michellequach 👉🏻 It All Comes Back to You by @farahnazrishi      source
White Smoke book cover
White Smoke
Tiffany D Jackson - 2021-09-14
Goodreads Rating
The Haunting of Hill House meets Get Out in this chilling YA psychological thriller and modern take on the classic haunted house story from New York Times bestselling author Tiffany D. Jackson!Marigold is running from ghosts. The phantoms of her old life keep haunting her, but a move with her newly blended family from their small California beach t...
Gayle Forman
2021-09-14T18:53:47.000Z
Can't forget my beloved young adult books: 👉🏻 White Smoke by @WriteinBK 👉🏻 Not Here to Be Liked @michellequach 👉🏻 It All Comes Back to You by @farahnazrishi      source
It All Comes Back to You book cover
It All Comes Back to You
Farah Naz Rishi - 2021-09-14
Goodreads Rating
Two exes must revisit their past after their siblings start dating in this rom-com perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon and Morgan Matson. A Parade Best YA of the Year! After Kiran Noorani's mom died, Kiran vowed to keep her dad and sister, Amira, close--to keep her family together. But when Amira announces that she's dating someone, Kiran's world is ...
Gayle Forman
2021-09-14T18:53:47.000Z
Can't forget my beloved young adult books: 👉🏻 White Smoke by @WriteinBK 👉🏻 Not Here to Be Liked @michellequach 👉🏻 It All Comes Back to You by @farahnazrishi      source
Mother Daughter Widow Wife book cover
Mother Daughter Widow Wife
A Novel
Robin Wasserman - 2020-07-07
Goodreads Rating
From the author of Girls on Fire comes a psychologically riveting novel centered around a woman with no memory, the scientists invested in studying her, and the daughter who longs to understand.Who is Wendy Doe? The woman, found on a Peter Pan Bus to Philadelphia, has no money, no ID, and no memory of who she is, where she was going, or what she mi...
Gayle Forman
2021-07-07T19:14:13.000Z
@robinwasserman Loved this book so much!!!      source
I'll Give You the Sun book cover
I'll Give You the Sun
Jandy Nelson - 2014-09-16
Goodreads Rating
"We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story." At first, Jude and her twin brother Noah, are inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the t...
Gayle Forman
2021-06-11T19:06:25.000Z
This book is a sunburst of feeling. So ridiculously good. If you haven't read it, get it now. If you have, join me for a re-read?      source
Also recommended by
DeRay Mckesson
Fresh book cover
Fresh
Margot Wood - 2021-08-03
Goodreads Rating
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling new experiences––and missteps––of a girl's freshman year of collegeSome students enter their freshman year of college knowing exactly what they want to do with their lives. Elliot McHugh is not one of those people. But picking a major is the last thing on Elliot’s mind when she’s to...
Gayle Forman
2021-04-14T22:34:23.000Z
I LOVED THIS BOOK. YOU ARE ALL GOING TO LOVE THIS BOOK!      source
Everything Sad Is Untrue book cover
Everything Sad Is Untrue
(a true story)
Daniel Nayeri - 2020-08-25
Goodreads Rating
At the front of a middle school classroom in Oklahoma, a boy named Khosrou (whom everyone calls "Daniel") stands, trying to tell a story. His story. But no one believes a word he says. To them he is a dark-skinned, hairy-armed boy with a big butt whose lunch smells funny; who makes things up and talks about poop too much.But Khosrou's stories, stre...
Gayle Forman
2021-03-16T21:04:19.000Z
Same. The book is everything!      source
Also recommended by
Russell Moore
Ramona and Her Mother book cover
Ramona and Her Mother
Beverly Cleary - 2020-03-17 (first published in 1979)
Goodreads Rating
An alternative cover edition for this ISBN can be found here.Ramona Quimby is no longer seven, but not quite eight. She's "seven and a half right now," if you ask her! Not allowed to stay home alone, yet old enough to watch pesky Willa Jean, Ramona wonders when her mother will treat her like her older, more mature sister, Beezus.But with her parent...
Gayle Forman
2020-11-28T21:12:07.000Z
Am I the only middle-aged woman still obsessed with all the Ramona books? I loved them as a kid, and loved them anew as aparent.      source
Beezus and Ramona by Beverly Cleary
Ramona's World by Beverly Cleary
Ramona the Brave by Beverly Cleary
Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary
Ramona Forever by Beverly Cleary
Ramona Quimby, Age 8 by Beverly Cleary
Ramona and Her Father by Beverly Cleary
The Years That Matter Most by Paul Tough
The Great Believers by Rebecca Makkai
The Mothers by Brit Bennett