Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Best Cookbooks for Beginners

Recommendations from 18 articles, Nigella Lawson, Ben Silbermann, Sadia Badiei and 4 others.
31 books on the list
Sort by
Number of Articles
Layout
Joy of Cooking book cover
Joy of Cooking
2019 Edition Fully Revised and Updated
Irma S. Rombauer - 2019-11-12 (first published in 1931)
Goodreads Rating
In the nearly ninety years since Irma S. Rombauer self-published the first three thousand copies of Joy of Cooking in 1931, it has become the kitchen bible, with more than 20 million copies in print. This new edition of Joy has been thoroughly revised and expanded by Irma’s great-grandson John Becker and his wife, Megan Scott.John and Megan develop...
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat book cover
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat
Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking
Samin Nosrat - 2017-04-25
Goodreads Rating
A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters.In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new cul...
Recommended by
Ben Silbermann
How to Cook Everything The Basics book cover
How to Cook Everything The Basics
All You Need to Make Great Food--With 1,000 Photos
Mark Bittman - 2012-02-24 (first published in 2003)
Goodreads Rating
How to Cook Everything: The Basics gives you essential recipes and easy-to-follow guidance to help you cook with confidence. Mark Bittman, the bestselling, award-winning author of How to Cook Everything , shows you how to make a good burger or delicious pasta for everyday meals as well as chicken soup on a cold day, lasagne because you love it, and...
Ottolenghi Simple book cover
Ottolenghi Simple
A Cookbook
Yotam Ottolenghi - 2018-10-16
Goodreads Rating
A collection of 130 easy, flavor-forward recipes from beloved chef Yotam Ottolenghi.In Ottolenghi Simple, powerhouse author and chef Yotam Ottolenghi presents 130 streamlined recipes packed with his signature Middle Eastern-inspired flavors. Each dish can be made in 30 minutes or less, with 10 or fewer ingredients, in a single pot, using pantry sta...
Recommended by
Nigella Lawson
Beginner's Baking Bible book cover
Beginner's Baking Bible
130+ Recipes and Techniques for New Bakers
Heather Perine - 2019-12-24
Goodreads Rating
Baking is a cakewalk with these beginner’s tips, tricks, and techniquesFor a beginner, baking might seem like magic: mix the right ingredients, add heat, and watch a transformation happen before your eyes. But you don’t have to be a sorcerer to bake a flavorful pie, decadent layer cake, or pillowy loaf of bread. Beginner's Baking Bible walks you th...
How to Cook Everything book cover
How to Cook Everything
Simple Recipes for Great Food
Mark Bittman - 2019-10-01 (first published in 1998)
Goodreads Rating
The ultimate kitchen companion, completely updated and better than ever, now for the first time featuring color photos   For twenty years, Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything has been the definitive guide to simple home cooking. This new edition has been completely revised for today’s cooks while retaining Bittman’s trademark minimalist style—eas...
Recommended by
Laura R Walker
The Homemade Vegan Pantry book cover
The Homemade Vegan Pantry
The Art of Making Your Own Staples [A Cookbook]
Miyoko Schinner - 2015-06-16
Goodreads Rating
A guide to creating vegan versions of staple ingredients to stock the fridge and pantry--from dairy and meat substitutes such as vegan yogurt, butter, mayo, bacon, and cheese, to mustards, dressings, pancake mix, crackers, pasta sauces, cookies, and more.     Kitchen crafters know the pleasure of making their own staples and specialty foods, whethe...
Sweet Potato Soul book cover
Sweet Potato Soul
100 Easy Vegan Recipes for the Southern Flavors of Smoke, Sugar, Spice, and Soul
Jenne Claiborne - 2018-02-06
Goodreads Rating
100 vegan recipes that riff on Southern cooking in surprising and delicious ways, beautifully illustrated with full-color photography. Jenn� Claiborne grew up in Atlanta eating classic Soul Food--fluffy biscuits, smoky sausage, Nana's sweet potato pie--but thought she'd have to give all that up when she went vegan. As a chef, she instead spent year...
Recommended by
Sadia Badiei
Cook Like a Pro book cover
Cook Like a Pro
Recipes and Tips for Home Cooks
Ina Garten - 2018-10-23
Goodreads Rating
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - Cook with confidence no matter how much experience you have in the kitchen with the help of the beloved Food Network star "Garten has kicked things up a level, this time encouraging readers to try more ambitious recipes that are still signature Ina: warm, comforting, homey."--Chicago TribuneNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS...
Super Easy Cookbook for Beginners book cover
Super Easy Cookbook for Beginners
5-Ingredient Recipes and Essential Techniques to Get You Started in the Kitchen
Lisa Grant - 2018-08-14
Goodreads Rating
The Super Easy Cookbook for Beginners offers a hands-on approach to learning how to cook with essential techniques and easy, 5-ingredient recipes....
How to Be a Domestic Goddess by Nigella Lawson
Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone by Deborah Madison
Bread Baking for Beginners by Bonnie Ohara
Flour by Joanne Chang
Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book by Better Homes and Gardens
Jacques Pépin Quick & Simple by Jacques Pépin
Essential Pépin by Jacques Pépin
Ultimate Veg by Jamie Oliver
The Instant Pot Bible by Bruce Weinstein, Mark Scarbrough
The Easy 5-Ingredient Ketogenic Diet Cookbook by Jen Fisch
The Food Lab by J. Kenji López-Alt
Chloe's Vegan Desserts by Chloe Coscarelli
Small Victories by Julia Turshen
La Vida Verde by Jocelyn Ramirez
Simple Cake by Odette Williams
Vietnamese Food Any Day by Andrea Nguyen
The Best Simple Recipes by America's Test Kitchen
Good and Cheap by Leanne Brown
Barefoot Contessa Family Style by Ina Garten
The Flavor Bible by Andrew Dornenburg