Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Shannon Miller

Recommended Books

Shannon Miller is Associate Professor of English at Temple University and the author of Invested with Meaning: The Raleigh Circle in the New World, also published by the University of Pennsylvania Press.
16 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Leading Equity book cover
Leading Equity
Becoming an Advocate for All Students
Sheldon L. Eakins - 2022-07-20
Goodreads Rating
Transform your school and your classroom with these best practices in equity That the typical modern classroom lacks equity will come as no surprise to many educators. But few resources explain how to remedy that situation in the here and now.Leading Equity delivers an eye-opening and actionable discussion of how to transform a classroom or school ...
Shannon Miller
2022-08-30T05:10:41.000Z
@cescaarturi @sheldoneakins That looks like such a wonderful book.      source
Little Pea's Drawing School book cover
Little Pea's Drawing School
Davide Cali - 2022-05-17
Goodreads Rating
Discover Little Pea’s Drawing School, where everyone is about to learn an important lesson about art, even the teacher!Little Pea is now an accomplished artist—everyone knows it. One day, a friend of his encourages him to open a drawing school. What a marvelous idea! Shortly after, his first class is ready to attend his lessons, and everyone is wor...
Shannon Miller
2022-04-16T16:55:06.000Z
Oh, I love this ⭐️NEW⭐️ picture book so much!!! Little Pea’s Drawing School by Davide Cali and illustrated by Sebastien Mourrain, would be the perfect one to share in the art room at the beginning of the year. I ❤️how it celebrates the uniqueness & creativity of everyone. 🖼      source
The Littlest Yak book cover
The Littlest Yak
Lu Fraser - 2021-10-05 (first published in 2020)
Goodreads Rating
Perfect for fans of Simon Philip and Pip Jones, The Littlest Yak is joyous, rhyming caper that reminds us to celebrate our own unique talents!On the tip of the top of a mountain all snowy, where the ice-swirling, toe-curling blizzards were blowy, in a herd full of huddling yaks, big and small, lived Gertie . . .the littlest yak of them all. Gertie ...
Shannon Miller
2021-10-12T23:58:45.000Z
This ⭐️NEW⭐️ #picturebook from @PeachtreePub is adorable and so much fun! The Littlest Yak is the debut book from author @_lufraser so wonderfully illustrated by @hindleyillos 🎉 I love the heartwarming & reassuring story about learning to be happy just the way you are.      source
The Night the Stars Went Out book cover
The Night the Stars Went Out
Suz Hughes - 2016-10-01
Goodreads Rating
Alien was the star controller for the entire galaxy, which was a big job for a very little alien. One night something disastrous happens, and Alien faces the biggest problem of his life. Will Alien be able to fix the stars? With a focus on friendship and problem solving, this picture book is a treat for everyone....
Shannon Miller
2021-02-15T15:03:40.000Z
Our Youngest Learners Became "Star Shiners" As They Learned About Circuits, Electricity and Friendship In This Literacy STEM Activity 💡🌟❤️ We loved using @CapstonePub book, The Night The Stars Went Out. #tlchat #iowatl #STEM #STEAM #futurereadylibs      source
Selfie book cover
Selfie
Sandy Horsley - 2020-09-01
Goodreads Rating
Click! Click! Click! Sylvie the Squirrel is obsessed with selfies. However, as she's clicking away, Sylvie is missing out on the fun right in front of her. When her friends save her from a scary situation, Sylvie realizes what's really important and it's not taking selfies. Social media starts at an early age, and debut author/illustrator Sandy Hor...
Shannon Miller
2021-01-31T18:56:07.000Z
This new @CapstonePub picture book by @sandyhorsley13 is perfect for talking to our younger kids about using social media. 📱⭐️ I love this story about Sylvie, who loves to take #selfies but learns its more important to be a good friend and to live in the moment having fun. ❤️      source
Earmuffs for Everyone! book cover
Earmuffs for Everyone!
How Chester Greenwood Became Known as the Inventor of Earmuffs
Meghan McCarthy - 2015-01-06
Goodreads Rating
As a young boy, Chester Greenwood went from having cold ears to becoming a great inventor in this nonfiction picture book from the acclaimed author-illustrator of Pop! and Daredevil.When your ears are cold, you can wear earmuffs, but that wasn’t true for Chester Greenwood back in 1873. Earmuffs didn’t exist yet! But during yet another long and cold...
Shannon Miller
2021-01-28T17:13:13.000Z
My friend @TracyFergusonVM & I are dreaming up ways to use @meghanauthor book, Earmuffs for Everyone for an upcoming #STREAM activity with our @vanmeterschools 2nd graders. 😊 It’s such a fun nonfiction book. We ❤️all of her books. #tlchat      source
When Stars Are Scattered book cover
When Stars Are Scattered
Victoria Jamieson - 2020-04-14
Goodreads Rating
Heartbreak and hope exist together in this remarkable graphic novel about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl.Omar and his younger brother, Hassan, have spent most of their lives in Dadaab, a refugee camp in Kenya. Life is hard there: never enough food, achingly dull, and wit...
Shannon Miller
2021-01-23T03:25:25.000Z
My #fridaynight read is this special graphic novel from @JamiesonV and Omar Mohamed. This special book tells the story of Omar’s childhood in Kenya and how him and his brother fled during civil war to Dadaab. This is a story readers will never forget. ❤️ #tlchat      source
Also recommended by
Donalyn Miller
The Crayon Man book cover
The Crayon Man
The True Story of the Invention of Crayola Crayons
Natascha Biebow - 2019-03-19
Goodreads Rating
Celebrating the inventor of the Crayola crayon! This picture book biography tells the story of Edwin Binney, the inventor of one of the world's most beloved stationary supplies. purple mountains’ majesty, mauvelous, jungle green, razzmatazz… What child doesn't love to hold a crayon in their hands?  But children didn't always have such magical boxes...
Shannon Miller
2021-01-23T02:29:33.000Z
One of my favorite things are @Crayola Crayons. I can’t wait to celebrate #nationalcrayonday with this special book from @HMHCo 🖍❤️📚 I’ll be sharing a Collection by Destiny and choice board for this awesome day soon. 🎉 #tlchat #futurereadylibs #arted #stem #steam #stream      source
A Ticket Around the World book cover
A Ticket Around the World
Natalia Diaz - 2019-03-15 (first published in 2015)
Goodreads Rating
Join a young boy as he hops around the globe, visiting friends in thirteen different countries spanning all six populated continents. Along the way, he introduces us to each friend's environment and customs, and shares interesting facts about each country's culture, language, food, geography, wildlife, landmarks, and more.This informational picture...
Shannon Miller
2020-12-18T18:50:43.000Z
This picture book will be the perfect kick off for the upcoming @Buncee research project as our students share places they want to learn about and travel around the world. 🗺 #2021libraryplans #edtech #edchat #futurereadylibs #tlchat #vanmeter      source
Everybody's Tree book cover
Everybody's Tree
Barbara Joosse - 2020-09-15
Goodreads Rating
Over the course of eighty years a spruce tree grows, along with the little boy who first selected it at a tree farm. As the tree grows from sapling to magnificent evergreen, the child matures as well, becoming a father and then grandfather. Now at the end of its life, the glorious tree is chosen to be the centerpiece of a city's holiday celebration...
Shannon Miller
2020-12-12T17:47:18.000Z
What a special new holiday book.🌲 I love the story they share over the course of 80 years and how that little tree grows to be Everybody’s Christmas Tree. ❤️ Thank you @SleepingBearBks for sharing such a beautiful story. #picturebooks #kidlitart #kidlit #futurereadylibs      source
Your Name Is a Song book cover
Your Name Is a Song
Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow - 2020-07-07
The Magical Yet by Angela Diterlizzi
Little Sock by Kia Heise
The Thing About Bees by Shabazz Larkin
Butterflies on the First Day of School by Annie Silvestro
The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate