Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign in
Book SeriesOutlander

Outlander Series

Outlander books in order

This series is comprised of one epic story. Each book is like a chapter in that larger story. It is recommended that you read the books in the order they were published.
Dragonfly in Amber book cover
Outlander book cover
Voyager book cover
9 books in series
Sort by
Series Order
Outlander book cover
Book 1
Diana Gabaldon - 2005-07-26 (first published in 1991)
Goodreads Rating
Transported from 1945 to 1743 Scotland, a former combat nurse named Claire Randall navigates a dangerous new world torn by war and raids. Amid lairds and spies, she finds a love so intense it tears at her loyalty and heart, forcing her to choose between two lives and two men.
Dragonfly in Amber book cover
Book 2
Dragonfly in Amber
A Novel (Outlander)
Diana Gabaldon - 2001-08-07 (first published in 1992)
Goodreads Rating
Transport yourself to 18th-century Scotland and follow Claire Randall as she unveils a shocking truth about an ancient circle of standing stones, a love that transcends time, and a Scottish warrior she once risked everything for. In this epic tale full of drama, passion, and intrigue, Claire's journey of self-discovery continues in the heart of Paris and a desperate fight to save her loved ones.
Voyager book cover
Book 3
A Novel (Outlander) (Mass Market Paperback)
Diana Gabaldon - 2001-08-07 (first published in 1993)
Goodreads Rating
This epic tale follows Claire, a woman who time-traveled to the 18th century and fell in love with Jamie Fraser. Now, years later, she must choose between returning to him or staying in her own time with their daughter. As danger and intrigue abound in a divided Scotland, Claire must find the courage to face her destiny and navigate the unknown to reunite with her timeless love.
Drums of Autumn book cover
Book 4
Drums of Autumn
Diana Gabaldon - 2018-10-16 (first published in 1996)
Goodreads Rating
Travel through history and danger with the unforgettable Claire and Jamie in this breathtaking novel that spans continents and centuries. In this work of sheer brilliance by Diana Gabaldon, the story of these two beloved characters continue as they face the possibility of an unhappy ending. Can their daughter Brianna change history and save their lives? A thrilling adventure that will keep you on the edge of your seat.
The Fiery Cross book cover
Book 5
The Fiery Cross
Diana Gabaldon - 2005-08-30 (first published in 2001)
Goodreads Rating
Travel back in time to 1771 with a husband and wife who hold the fate of the revolution in their hands. Claire's gift of prophecy leads them through danger and deliverance as they try to navigate the coming war. Will her knowledge light their way or ignite a fire that will leave their lives in ashes?
A Breath of Snow and Ashes book cover
Book 6
A Breath of Snow and Ashes
Diana Gabaldon - 2014-01-01 (first published in 2005)
Goodreads Rating
In this gripping historical novel, A Breath of Snow and Ashes, the backdrop is the American Revolution, with men lying dead in the streets of Boston and cabins burning in North Carolina. Jamie Fraser, a Scotsman, is called upon to unite the backcountry and safeguard the colony for King and Crown. But his wife knows that in three years, the colonies will declare independence. Complicating matters is a newspaper clipping reporting Jamie's death in 1776. Will his time-traveling family be wrong about the future this time?
An Echo in the Bone book cover
Book 7
An Echo in the Bone
A Novel (Outlander)
Diana Gabaldon - 2010-01-21 (first published in 2009)
Goodreads Rating
This historical fiction masterpiece from a beloved bestselling author follows the struggles of Jamie Fraser, a former Jacobite and reluctant rebel, as he navigates the American rebellion. With the help of his time-traveling wife Claire, the couple sets out to ensure Jamie's survival and happiness amidst the unknowns of war. Meanwhile, their daughter Brianna and her husband Roger must confront a past that threatens their own family's future.
Written in My Own Heart's Blood book cover
Book 8
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
A Novel (Outlander)
Diana Gabaldon - 2014-06-10
Goodreads Rating
This historical fiction book takes place during the Revolution, where Claire Fraser and her family navigate challenging relationships and shocking family secrets. Meanwhile, in the modern era, her descendants deal with their own crises.
Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone book cover
Book 9
Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone
A Novel (Outlander)
Diana Gabaldon - 2021-11-23
Goodreads Rating
Travel back in time to the 18th century with this gripping historical fiction novel. Follow the lives of Jamie Fraser and Claire Randall as they navigate the dangers of war and attempt to keep their family together amidst turmoil. With the American Revolution on the horizon, tensions run high and threats lurk around every corner. Full of intrigue and adventure, this novel is perfect for fans of historical drama.